Wattflyer RC Network: RC Universe :: RCU Magazine :: RCU Forums :: RCU Classifieds :: RCU User Reviews :: RCU YouTube
Home Who's Online Calendar Today's Posts RealTime Post Spy Mark Forums Read
Go Back   WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight > R/C Electric Power - Batteries, Chargers, ESCs and More > Batteries & Chargers
Register Members List Wattflyer Extras Articles Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Social Groups

Batteries & Chargers Discuss Li-P, Li-Ion, NiMh, Nicad battery technology and the chargers that juice 'em up!

Thank you for your support (hide ads)

Old 03-02-2012, 03:19 PM   #1
g725s

Friends: (0)
Default charging 1300 3S 25C with 10 amp supply?

First off I'm new to charging Lipos. I picked up an iCharger 106b+. I have at home a 10amp linear power supply. As of now I'm charging 1300 3S 25C batteries.

At what charge rate (or is it charge current) should I charge these batteries with. I see a place in the iCharger menu to set the "Charge Current", it goes from .05 to 10 amps. I assume this is the setting I need to adjust.

I've done some searching and it seems for best longevity of my batteries I should charge at 1C, for these batteries would be 1.3 amps.

Does that sound about right? I was told by an iCharger rep that I could charge these batteries at up to 8 amp with this supply.
Old 03-02-2012, 03:30 PM   #2
cliffh

Originally Posted by g725s View Post
(snip)

Does that sound about right? I was told by an iCharger rep that I could charge these batteries at up to 8 amp with this supply.
You are correct that 1C for your battery is 1.3 amps. For setting your charger at 1C, simply use the battery rating in AMPS. Battery voltage or number of cells does not figure into the C rating here.

The iCharger rep was also correct. You "could" charge your batteries at up to 8 amps, but that is a rating of your charger and power supply. That doesn't mean your battery is capable of that charge rate.