Wattflyer RC Network: RC Universe :: RCU Magazine :: RCU Forums :: RCU Classifieds :: RCU User Reviews :: RCU YouTube
Home Who's Online Calendar Today's Posts RealTime Post Spy Mark Forums Read
Go Back   WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight > Electric Helicopters > General RC E-Heli Talk
Register Members List Wattflyer Extras Articles Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Social Groups

General RC E-Heli Talk General discussion forum for electric powered rc helis.

Thank you for your support (hide ads)
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-06-2012, 09:19 PM   #1
NFA Fabrication
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 238
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (1)
Default Spektrum AR600 Suitable for HK450 (Align Clone)?

I recently purchased a Spektrum DX8 to replace the DX5E that came with my E-Flight Apprentice Plane. I used the supplied AR8000 receiver in my plane, and now have the stock Spektrum AR600 left over. I ordered a HobbyKing HK-450 (Align T-Rex clone), and am wondering if the AR600, and my DX8 are a suitable choice for this heli? I am not worried about the DX8's capability, it is the receiver I am concerned about. Is it too basic, or will I be fine?
NFA Fabrication is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2012, 01:35 AM   #2
Turner
Super Contributor
 
Turner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 1,325
Thanked 124 Times in 122 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Friends: (3)
Default

I'm a Spektrum user and don't think there should be any problems with it as long as you only need six channels.
Turner is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2012, 04:22 AM   #3
Trammellc2001
Member
 
Trammellc2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Claremore, OK
Posts: 176
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Club: Tulsa Unclub
Awards Showcase

1kW 
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (0)
Default Spektrum AR600 Suitable for HK450 (Align Clone)?

You'll be good.

Trammellc2001 is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2012, 06:27 AM   #4
NFA Fabrication
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 238
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (1)
Default

Thanks, I just wasn't sure how the sensitivity control plug worked on the Gyro, and if other receivers had something special to deal with it.
NFA Fabrication is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2012, 10:29 PM   #5
Staubkorb
New Member
 
Staubkorb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Roedermark, Germany
Posts: 8
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via Yahoo to Staubkorb
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (0)
Default

U need a 7 channel rec to use the transmitter gain sens for a ccpm heli. U MIGHT be able to use the AR600, but but might mean a lot of extra mixing and the gain/mode will have to be set on the gyro itself. The single wire plug should be secured to prevent it from getting where it shouldn't.

I'm not too sure if the ccpm setup will work at all with the AR600, as the swash servos need the AUX2 (Ch7) channel. AR7000s are being dumped cheap on various sites for the 7010s (DSMX), but unless U REALLY feel the need for telemetry...

I'd swap out the 8000 in the plane for the 600.

Pete

BTW, I'm presently putting the same heli together now with a JR DSX11, Align GP780 and the AR7000 rec.
Staubkorb is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2012, 02:05 AM   #6
newjak
AMA Park Pilot Partner
 
newjak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Cheswold, DE
Posts: 4,039
Thanked 90 Times in 90 Posts
Club: Central Delaware Parkflyers Association
Awards Showcase

1kW 
iTrader: (2)
Friends: (13)
Default

All you need is a 6 channel RX to take advantage of remote gyro gain. I have 8 Trex/clones from 250 on up to 700 and all but the 700 are on 6 channel RX's

A.M.A Park Pilot Partner / Wattflyer Mentor
newjak is online now  
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2012, 12:25 PM   #7
zeta30
Team Mulikow
 
zeta30's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 125
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (0)
Default

Originally Posted by newjak View Post
All you need is a 6 channel RX to take advantage of remote gyro gain. I have 8 Trex/clones from 250 on up to 700 and all but the 700 are on 6 channel RX's
This is correct. You do not need a 7 channel RX to run a CCPM heli, you only need 6. My 255 and 450 are both on 6 channel RXs my larger ones are on 7 just because I want the satellite RX's to help prevent shadowing. There are plenty of people that fly their 500 and 550's on 6 channel RX's though.
zeta30 is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2012, 03:32 AM   #8
molokaiboy
Member
 
molokaiboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Kihei, Maui, Hawaii
Posts: 59
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Club: Maui RC Modeler's
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (2)
Default

You should do just fine with that rx, your gain will be controlled through your Gear channel.
Flew 450's all the time on 6ch rx's.

Aloha,
Les

Les
Maui RC Modeler's
https://www.facebook.com/mauirc
molokaiboy is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Reply

  WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight > Electric Helicopters > General RC E-Heli Talk

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:46 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2005 WattfFlyer.com
RCU Eflight HQ

Charities we support Select: Yorkie Rescue  ::  Crohn's & Colitis Foundation



Page generated in 0.20760 seconds with 32 queries