Wattflyer RC Network: RC Universe :: RCU Magazine :: RCU Forums :: RCU Classifieds :: RCU User Reviews :: RCU YouTube
Home Who's Online Calendar Today's Posts RealTime Post Spy Mark Forums Read
Go Back   WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight > Electric R/C Airplanes > General Electric Discussions
Register Members List Wattflyer Extras Articles Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Social Groups

General Electric Discussions Talk about topics related to e-powered RC flying

Thank you for your support (hide ads)

Old 04-18-2012, 03:59 AM   #1
Beemerider

Club: Augusta County RC Club
Friends: (1)
Default Augered in today

I'm still learning and trying to get as much flight time as possible. Being gainfully unemployed makes the task of finding time pretty easy! So my "Elmer" and I met at the field today while most folks are working.(I'm finding a few advantages to being disabled!) Nice conditions today, partly cloudy and light winds, maybe 5+ mph. Launched my 2m glider(powered) and enjoyed maybe 10 minutes of gently chasing the buzzards and birds across the sky. I was about 2 mistakes high and in a gentle right turn when the turn got "not so gentle" and started to spiral down. I gave it left rudder and could see absolutely no response. I quickly handed my transmitter to my friend and he had no more success than I in regaining some control. I watched it make maybe 2 or 3 quick spirals down and then heard the crack of balsa wood snapping. Last time I heard that sound was about 20 years ago. Anyway the pictures show most of the story. Apparently my rudder control rod came loose from the servo arm. I don't know the name of the attachment hardware (I built the plane 10 yrs ago and just flew it for the first time a couple weeks ago) The small brass fixture was held in place on the servo arm with a small nylon keeper. Well the damage is easily repairable and this will help me work on and improve my building and repairing skills!