Wattflyer RC Network: RC Universe :: RCU Magazine :: RCU Forums :: RCU Classifieds :: RCU User Reviews :: RCU YouTube
Home Who's Online Calendar Today's Posts RealTime Post Spy Mark Forums Read
Go Back   WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight > Electric R/C Airplanes > Beginners
Register Members List Wattflyer Extras Articles Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Social Groups

Beginners New to e-power flying? Get the low down in here from experienced e-power RC pilots!

Thank you for your support (hide ads)

Old 05-13-2012, 04:59 PM   #1
NJSwede
3D wannabe

View NJSwede's Gallery1
Club: Somerset Signal Senders & GCA
Awards Showcase

2kW  1kW 
Friends: (10)
Default Inverted challenged

Ok, so here's a confession: I've been doing this for 18 months now. I can fly pretty much any plane, I can do basic 3D stuff (harriers, hovers, spins, pop-tops etc.) and I can do all the aerobatic moves (albeit pretty sloppy). Overall, I would consider myself a pretty competent pilot.

But there's one thing I (pardon my french) suck at: Inverted flying. I was watching one of the club members flying perfect inverted 8s with his Pulse XT yesterday and I was trying to do the same. I just can't stay in stable inverted flight long enough and my inverted turns are horrible and usually end with me rolling out back to upright.

And we're talking aerobatic, symmetric wing, zero degree dihedral models here, so there's no way I can blame the model. All my aerobatic models are trimmed to require only a very light down pressure to maintain altitude when inverted.

Any pointers?

AMA #959089
Old 05-13-2012, 05:28 PM   #2
JetPlaneFlyer
Super Contributor

Awards Showcase

5kW  Outstanding Contributor Award  1kW 
Friends: (8)

Ahhh.. I feel better now. I've been flying for decades longer than you and I still can't harrier or hover worth a damn... But I can fly inverted ok