Wattflyer RC Network: RC Universe :: RCU Magazine :: RCU Forums :: RCU Classifieds :: RCU User Reviews :: RCU YouTube
Home Who's Online Calendar Today's Posts RealTime Post Spy Mark Forums Read
Go Back   WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight > R/C Electric Topics - General > RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros
Register Members List Wattflyer Extras Articles Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Social Groups

RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Thank you for your support (hide ads)
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-15-2012, 03:00 AM   #1
davidh1047
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (0)
Default How to set up transmitters for use with a training cord

I have two 2.4 GHZ transmitters, one is a BlitZ.RC - AFM4CH that I use for my Sky Surfer and the other is a 2.4GHZ ESky - ET6I 6 channel that has a training switch that is used for a Belt CP helicopter. I have put a training cord between them and would like to get them to work together as a master/slave unit for training with the Sky Surfer. Do I need to change the frequency of the Esky transmitter to match that of the Blitz.RC to get them to work together? If so, what are the step by step instructions to change the frequency?
davidh1047 is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2012, 09:15 AM   #2
slipstick
Super Contributor
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: N.Staffs, UK
Posts: 2,350
Thanked 197 Times in 191 Posts
Awards Showcase

Outstanding Contributor Award 
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (1)
Default

Frequency has nothing to do with it so that won't be a problem.

But I have no idea if those particular TXs will work together....generally you can only rely on two TXs of the same make working. And if the "BlitZ.RC - AFM4CH" doesn't have a trainer switch then it definitely can't be used as the master control so unless the other Tx will fly the SkySurfer you're out of luck.

Steve
slipstick is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2012, 03:31 PM   #3
Nitro Blast
Community Moderator
 
Nitro Blast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Sunny San Diego Ca
Posts: 3,941
View Nitro Blast's Gallery38
Thanked 400 Times in 342 Posts
Club: Silent Electric Fliers of San Diego
Send a message via MSN to Nitro Blast
Awards Showcase

100mph Speed Demon  3kW  1kW  WAA-08 Pilot 
iTrader: (20)
Friends: (67)
Default

Agreed,

I have a couple of sets I use for training, and in each case the two TX's are identical. Some time ago, I did try to use a Futaba with a Polk as both of them used the same cable, but alas, it did not work.

Recently, I even tried to use a Radio Shack cable with my Airtronics ($7 vs $20) and although the cable fit perfectly and powered up the trainer box, it did not function. So these radio Mfg's go to a lot of effort to ensure only their name brand stuff works together.

Electricity... It's not just for light bulbs anymore.

GoProfessional Cases industry grade protection for your gear

Dinogy Lipos professional grade energy

Project Globetrotter Participant 7/09
Wings Across America Participant 6/10
Nitro Blast is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2012, 03:42 PM   #4
dahawk
Super Contributor
 
dahawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Keller, TX
Posts: 3,167
View dahawk's Gallery6
Thanked 192 Times in 188 Posts
Club: 114th RC Aero Squadron
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (19)
Default

I have a Futaba 6EX and our club has a bunch of old futaba FM's I'm thinking this should work. Something about matching up the trim settings though. Any magic to this?

-Hawk

Wounded Warrior Fun Fly - Aug 16th ,2014 - Grapevine TX - Info link: https://support.woundedwarriorprojec...ising/RCPilots
dahawk is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2012, 04:07 PM   #5
Nitro Blast
Community Moderator
 
Nitro Blast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Sunny San Diego Ca
Posts: 3,941
View Nitro Blast's Gallery38
Thanked 400 Times in 342 Posts
Club: Silent Electric Fliers of San Diego
Send a message via MSN to Nitro Blast
Awards Showcase

100mph Speed Demon  3kW  1kW  WAA-08 Pilot 
iTrader: (20)
Friends: (67)
Default

Originally Posted by dahawk View Post
Something about matching up the trim settings though. Any magic to this?

-Hawk


The magic comes when you don't have a trainee trim your plane! J/K... My method is to first fly the plane alone on the master TX, and get it all trimmed out. Then, land and connect the slave TX. On the ground, switch back and forth from Master and Slave, and watch the trim settings. Get them as close visually as possible, and often that is enough. After you get it visually as close as possible, you get another pilot (or instruct the student on the trim) and take off. Ideally, when you switch back and forth, there should be no servo movement. Watch each control surface separately during the switching.

Once airborne, you go from master to slave momentarily , only to check trim. With the student radio only having the same throttle setting, you hold the trainer button (or switch) and watch the plane. You, the instructor then releases the trainer button, take control back, and tell the student what trim changes you want.

You go to the trainer box just long enough to see if it is trimmed. You take control back, then tell the other pilot, "one click up" or whatever you want. Then you momentarily hold the trainer button to check. If changes are needed to be made, you take control back, and tell them what to do on their box. They dont have to fly and trim, and you are still doing the thinking.

Electricity... It's not just for light bulbs anymore.

GoProfessional Cases industry grade protection for your gear

Dinogy Lipos professional grade energy

Project Globetrotter Participant 7/09
Wings Across America Participant 6/10
Nitro Blast is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2012, 05:47 PM   #6
dahawk
Super Contributor
 
dahawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Keller, TX
Posts: 3,167
View dahawk's Gallery6
Thanked 192 Times in 188 Posts
Club: 114th RC Aero Squadron
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (19)
Default

Thanks for the SOP Nitro !

Makes perfect sense now.

-Hawk

Wounded Warrior Fun Fly - Aug 16th ,2014 - Grapevine TX - Info link: https://support.woundedwarriorprojec...ising/RCPilots
dahawk is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Reply

  WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight > R/C Electric Topics - General > RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help ESC reset FlyingBrick50 Heads UP RC discussion 5 11-21-2011 10:18 AM
How to set up pair of Spectrum DX6i's on a trainer cord?? wolfewinde RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros 5 05-22-2011 03:59 PM
Helicopter flight training gear and test stand helisafeproducts New Product Announcements 11 09-24-2010 07:57 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:29 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2005 WattfFlyer.com
RCU Eflight HQ

Charities we support Select: Yorkie Rescue  ::  Crohn's & Colitis Foundation



Page generated in 0.16319 seconds with 31 queries