Wattflyer RC Network: RC Universe :: RCU Magazine :: RCU Forums :: RCU Classifieds :: RCU User Reviews :: RCU YouTube
Home Who's Online Calendar Today's Posts RealTime Post Spy Mark Forums Read
Go Back   WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight > Electric R/C Airplanes > Beginners
Register Members List Wattflyer Extras Articles Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Social Groups

Beginners New to e-power flying? Get the low down in here from experienced e-power RC pilots!

Thank you for your support (hide ads)

Old 05-30-2012, 10:01 PM   #1
Beemerider

Club: Augusta County RC Club
Friends: (1)
Default What a difference the right motor makes!

Been flying a 2m sailplane I converted to electric. Been flying it for roughly two months. I'm kinda new to the hobby and really new to electrics. Started flying glider on a 1650KV motor. After accumulating a few planes and motors I removed the 1650KV for installation on a smaller plane and installed a 1000KV on the sailplane. The 1650 flew it ok but not knowing how it should react I really had no basis for comparison. Wow--what a difference the 1000KV made! Like flying an altogether new airplane.

It climbs with authority instead of the straining it did before. Runs quieter and cooler. For whatever reason flights seem smoother--not having to continually change throttle settings. Left wattmeter at home so couldn't make power comparisons.
I'm really impressed.

Maybe now I won't crash so often.
Old 05-30-2012, 11:11 PM   #2
zoltron55

Club: mon valley rc club
Friends: (2)

how do you get to carnegie hall.... practice,practice,practice
Old 05-31-2012, 12:09 AM   #3
quorneng
Super Contributor

Club: A lone flyer!
Awards Showcase

Scratchbuilders Award 
Friends: (7)

Beemerider
Did you just change the motor or other things as well?