Wattflyer RC Network: RC Universe :: RCU Magazine :: RCU Forums :: RCU Classifieds :: RCU User Reviews :: RCU YouTube
Home Who's Online Calendar Today's Posts RealTime Post Spy Mark Forums Read
Go Back   WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight > Electric R/C Airplanes > General Electric Discussions
Register Members List Wattflyer Extras Articles Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Social Groups

General Electric Discussions Talk about topics related to e-powered RC flying

Thank you for your support (hide ads)

Old 06-17-2012, 06:50 PM   #1
vostemister

Friends: (0)
Exclamation Mounting a Brushless motor

Hi

I am new to flying R/C planes, I have been flying for about four months now.

Recently I have purchased a Nitro trainer from a club member.
I am in the proses of converting to electric, I have a Hobbyking ESC 40-50A with a Turnigy G25 870Kv motor.

All of that aside, I have no clue how to mount this motor to this plane. I have tried to read about the angles etc., but is so confused.
I went to a local hobby shop and purchased a "standoff" mount.

Help would be appreciated

Thanks

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG00075-20120531-2304.jpg
Views:	158
Size:	157.8 KB
ID:	160769  
Old 06-17-2012, 10:45 PM   #2
Wildflyer
2014 President of PSSF

Club: Puget Sound Silent Flyers -PSSF & Thurston County Miniature Aircraft Association - TCMAA
Friends: (7)

Your thrust angles should be the roughly same as the nitro engine was, probably at 90 degrees from the firewall. Most trainer planes have the thrust angles built into the fuse.

After a few flights you may want to adjust these angles to suit your plane and motor combo.

Down-thrust is supposed to balance the ballooning from more thrust, and right thrust is to counteract any tendency to turn with added power.

Dave R, Proud PGR rider.
When you have flying skills like mine,
You become a master at repair.
Old 06-18-2012, 03:41 AM   #3
hayofstacks
Super Contributor