Wattflyer RC Network: RC Universe :: RCU Magazine :: RCU Forums :: RCU Classifieds :: RCU User Reviews :: RCU YouTube
Home Who's Online Calendar Today's Posts RealTime Post Spy Mark Forums Read
Go Back   WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight > R/C Electric Topics - General > RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros
Register Members List Wattflyer Extras Articles Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Social Groups

RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Thank you for your support (hide ads)
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-21-2012, 09:33 PM   #1
xmech2k
Ya got any Beeman's?
 
xmech2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 2,587
View xmech2k's Gallery21
Thanked 246 Times in 244 Posts
Club: CVMRCC, SEFSD
Awards Showcase

1kW  Outstanding Contributor Award 
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (7)
Question Spektrum Dx7s vs Dx8? Upgrading from Dx6i

So I'm looking to upgrade. I currently have a Dx6i. I don't fly (Or plan to) any heli's beyond the little 4ch MSR for in the house. (Sorry if the post is a little long. Just explaining what I think I need.)

Here's some issues I've run into regarding limits to my 6i:

1) Not enough channels. I have a P-51 with flaps and retracts, and I would have liked to have seperated the ailerons for differential. An extra channel could easily solve this. Then I'll need the bomb drop, and... So I know 2 more ch's are better than 1, but for $100?

2) Not enough mixing? I have a little F-35, which I would like to do elevons in the tail, and flaperons on the wing. Doesn't seem possible on the 6i. Also, I have a UM Stryker with elevons, and I was hoping to be able to have 2 trim positions for the elev channel using the flap switch, so I could have a little up elev for hand launch, and hit a switch for level flight. Seems the elev mix in the flaps is disabled when you're using a wing mix on the 6i?

3) I think I have more than 10 planes & heli's now... Some problem, huh? I'll still keep the 6i for buddy-boxing, so I don't think the 20 vs 30 model mem's would be a big difference.

So, other than an extra channel, 10 more model memories, and I think more heli programming, what does the Dx8 offer beyond the Dx7s? Will either give enough mixing to solve my #2 problem? Anything else I don't realize yet?

Thanks in advance for any help!
xmech2k is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2012, 03:13 AM   #2
pmullen503
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 827
Thanked 69 Times in 68 Posts
Awards Showcase

Scratchbuilders Award 
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (3)
Default

As you mentioned, if you are doing scale, then every extra channel will get used eventually.

It's never too late to have a happy childhood.
pmullen503 is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2012, 04:06 AM   #3
swimmer
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Derby, Kansas
Posts: 225
Thanked 11 Times in 9 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (2)
Default

Do some research before considering buying a used DX7. A defective RF board cost me a very good F22 profile propjet. Sent my DX7 to Horizon for repair. Got charged $72.00. Found out Horizon replaces a lot of these boards.
swimmer is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2012, 02:25 AM   #4
mbarhsi
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 22
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (0)
Default

Originally Posted by swimmer View Post
Do some research before considering buying a DX7. A defective RF board cost me a very good F22 profile propjet. Sent my DX7 to Horizon for repair. Got charged $72.00. Found out Horizon replaces a lot of these boards.
DX7? Those have been discontinued for over a year and a half.
mbarhsi is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2012, 02:44 AM   #5
NJSwede
3D wannabe
 
NJSwede's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 1,742
View NJSwede's Gallery1
Thanked 111 Times in 108 Posts
Club: Somerset Signal Senders & GCA
Awards Showcase

2kW  1kW 
iTrader: (1)
Friends: (10)
Default

Originally Posted by mbarhsi View Post
DX7? Those have been discontinued for over a year and a half.
Not the DX7s. It's the replacement for the old DX7.

AMA #959089
NJSwede is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2012, 03:00 AM   #6
swimmer
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Derby, Kansas
Posts: 225
Thanked 11 Times in 9 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (2)
Default

Originally Posted by mbarhsi View Post
DX7? Those have been discontinued for over a year and a half.
I bought it used. No more used TX's for me. Don't like buying someone else's problem and I want the warranty.

Since I got the DX7 back from Horizon repair it works perfect.
swimmer is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2012, 01:32 PM   #7
RC Dad
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: MN
Posts: 14
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (0)
Default

I just upgraded this week (actually, added a transmitter as we'll still use the DX7 we have). We went with the DX8. For me the difference in cost did not make sense to go with the 7X. The back light, extra channel, 3 position switches and the rubber grips was more than enough to justify the difference.

Several places offer the radio, telemetry and receiver package for $365.

So far we love it (only used it once) and have no regrets in the choice.

In a year, you won't care about the $100 (at least I would forget about by then).

Keep us posted!

RC Dad

I don't crash, rather just land aggressively...
RC Dad is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2012, 05:56 PM   #8
xmech2k
Ya got any Beeman's?
 
xmech2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 2,587
View xmech2k's Gallery21
Thanked 246 Times in 244 Posts
Club: CVMRCC, SEFSD
Awards Showcase

1kW  Outstanding Contributor Award 
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (7)
Default

I'm already happy with it. Haven't used any extra channels yet, but the programming features are already a big plus!
xmech2k is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2012, 09:18 PM   #9
startazz
Member
 
startazz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Norwich,Norfolk UK
Posts: 228
Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (2)
Default

Yeah my DX8 has been well worth the money i paid for it and i've only just finished putting my 16 fixed wing models into it,i was getting fed up with deleting model memories in my DX6i to fly another one of my other models,so the DX8 was well worth it just for that let alone all the extra stuff it odes compared to the DX6i,my favorite part on the DX8 so far apart from the model memories and SD card and firmware updates is the three position switches.

I now have three sets of DR/EXPO set up for all my models rather than the two i use to have,i've only had my DX8 for a few months and i'm still finding new mixes to do and i must say i'm well pleased with it.
startazz is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2012, 09:25 PM   #10
rcers
Community Moderator
 
rcers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Trophy Club TX
Posts: 6,162
View rcers's Gallery57
Thanked 501 Times in 491 Posts
Awards Showcase

WAA-08 Pilot 
iTrader: (4)
Friends: (9)
Default Re: Spektrum Dx7s vs Dx8? Upgrading from Dx6i

I am a strong supporter for buying the best system you can afford. This is one area not to skimpy IMHO.

Sent from my Kindle Fire using Tapatalk 2
rcers is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2012, 09:45 PM   #11
startazz
Member
 
startazz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Norwich,Norfolk UK
Posts: 228
Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (2)
Default

I've never had a problem with any of my Spektrum radios (touch wood) and i use a good few orange rx's from HK too,none of them have let me down.
startazz is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2012, 10:36 PM   #12
JetPlaneFlyer
Super Contributor
 
JetPlaneFlyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Aberdeen, Scotland
Posts: 4,366
Thanked 482 Times in 449 Posts
Awards Showcase

5kW  Outstanding Contributor Award  1kW 
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (8)
Default

I just upgraded from the (old-style) DX7 to a DX8 and it was well worth it. i sold the DX7 so by the time the three receivers that I got in the package are considered the Tx was free!

Anyway, 'free' or otherwise it was well worth the upgrade. The timer started by throttle is great, the throttle curve programming is excellent, 3 way rate switched are handy, and many other improvements. Telemetry is one feature I thought I'd have no use for but it's actually really good, no more running low on battery voltage and hitting LVC, this probably has saved at least one emergency landing already. The Tx feels a lot better in the hand than the old DX7 too, the roller make programming much quicker. All in all I'm delighted.
JetPlaneFlyer is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2012, 04:47 AM   #13
mbarhsi
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 22
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (0)
Default

Originally Posted by NJSwede View Post
Not the DX7s. It's the replacement for the old DX7.
Um, that's why I didn't reference the DX7s.
mbarhsi is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2012, 05:04 AM   #14
NJSwede
3D wannabe
 
NJSwede's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 1,742
View NJSwede's Gallery1
Thanked 111 Times in 108 Posts
Club: Somerset Signal Senders & GCA
Awards Showcase

2kW  1kW 
iTrader: (1)
Friends: (10)
Default

Originally Posted by mbarhsi View Post
Um, that's why I didn't reference the DX7s.

Uhm, yeah... I don't know what I was thinking... Brain fart.

AMA #959089
NJSwede is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2013, 11:14 AM   #15
Fishbonez
Love my Stinger
 
Fishbonez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 2,227
Thanked 106 Times in 105 Posts
Club: Cheyenne Hill Hoppers
Send a message via AIM to Fishbonez Send a message via Yahoo to Fishbonez
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (17)
Default

Xmech2. So how do you likse the DX8? I believe that is what you decided to go with??? Was not sure. I am due to come home soon and would like a new TX and was having pretty much the same debate on whether or not to buy the DX7s or the DX8. Im leaning towords the 8 becausew I like the 3 position switches, but at the same time I am thinking the 7s because of price and I cant really see too much difference between the two. I agree that you want the best now or regret later. I own DX6i which is what I could afford at the time and it has been a great TX and I plan to keep it I just never thought I would get 10 planes. Yea I know Fish its an addiction!!!
So anyway I could really use your advice here.

Happy flying may your crashes be limited and if they are not limited let them be cool.
Fishbonez is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2013, 06:06 PM   #16
xmech2k
Ya got any Beeman's?
 
xmech2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 2,587
View xmech2k's Gallery21
Thanked 246 Times in 244 Posts
Club: CVMRCC, SEFSD
Awards Showcase

1kW  Outstanding Contributor Award 
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (7)
Default

Hi Fish. Yeah, I went with the Dx8. I think I did just decide with the 'more is better' tx thinking. I haven't quite exceeded the 7s 20 model limit, but I'm getting close! I had the opportunity to work with a 7s, as a buddy asked me to set up his FMS 1400mm Mustang for him. I found the 7s is pretty much identical as far as programming goes, at least as far as the stuff I've done, which doesn't include anything really fancy. I don't do heli's, so I don't know about that.

The most complex thing I programmed (Like I brought up at in my starting post) was my little 64mm EDF F-35, of all things. The basic model was 4ch, but i separated the tail surfaces from the wing surfaces. They would normally be connected and move together from a single servo on each side. So I added aileron servos, and made elevons on the tail, and flaperons on the wings. Long story, but the point is, this would have been impossible with a 6i, but IIRC, the 7s should be able to do this. But if I ever added retracts, there's the 8th channel. (Let's see, 1:Throttle. 2:Rudder for nose wheel steering. 3:Elev for one elevon. 4:Ail for other elevon. 5: Aux1 for one aileron. 6: Aux2 for other one. 7:Flap, mixed to flaperons. I think it went something like that!) So there's an example of the most I've done with it so far.

As far as the 3 position rate switches, I've not really use it much. Used them on that F-35 and recently on the Techone Swift I got to try to learn 3D, but on nothing else. Could be me, though. I find just 2 rates is usually fine for me, unless it's an unusual model.

They both have 3pos flaps with speed control. When I browse the features for the 7s and the 8 on the Spektrum site, the biggest difference I see technically, and I could be missing something, is the extra 10 models in the memory, and the extra channel, which I think also translates to one more mix? It also seems the 8 gets more attention from Spektrum, like the just released sailplane programming update for the 8, and there like twice as many downloadable setups for the 8. Some include things like the Scimitar, so I guess the 7s can't handle it with it's vectored thrust?

So that's my rundown. Very similar, but a little more with the 8. Hope my rambling has been some help. Get home safe!
xmech2k is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2013, 12:55 AM   #17
kyleservicetech
Dennis V
 
kyleservicetech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 7,959
Thanked 688 Times in 670 Posts
Club: www.racinercclub.com (I'm the newsletter editor)
Awards Showcase

Outstanding Contributor Award  3kW  2kW  100mph Speed Demon 
iTrader: (1)
Friends: (20)
Default

Originally Posted by Fishbonez View Post
Xmech2. So how do you likse the DX8? I believe that is what you decided to go with??? Was not sure. I am due to come home soon and would like a new TX and was having pretty much the same debate on whether or not to buy the DX7s or the DX8. Im leaning towords the 8 becausew I like the 3 position switches, but at the same time I am thinking the 7s because of price and I cant really see too much difference between the two. I agree that you want the best now or regret later. I own DX6i which is what I could afford at the time and it has been a great TX and I plan to keep it I just never thought I would get 10 planes. Yea I know Fish its an addiction!!!
So anyway I could really use your advice here.

Yeah
I've also got the Spektrum DX8, along with a five year old original DX7. Programming the DX8 as compared to the old DX7 is like night and day.

You might check on the transmitter battery for the DX7s. I think it uses loose AA type Nih cells. If so, I've never been much of a fan of these types of battery holders. Not when the transmitter is the control for a model airplane worth way to many hundreds of dollars anyhow.

The DX8 transmitter battery pack is a welded 4 cell pack.

DennyV
Retired and the days are just too short, busier than ever!
kyleservicetech is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2013, 01:32 AM   #18
xmech2k
Ya got any Beeman's?
 
xmech2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 2,587
View xmech2k's Gallery21
Thanked 246 Times in 244 Posts
Club: CVMRCC, SEFSD
Awards Showcase

1kW  Outstanding Contributor Award 
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (7)
Default

Yeah, don't even compare the 7s and 8 to the Dx7! I heard that one is a nightmare to program, but I guess it's still supposed to be a great heli tx?

I didn't realize the 7s uses looase AA cells. Yes, the lipo pack for th Dx8 is a MUST! i used to have to charge it after every flying day. Now it's like once a month, and even then I don't have to charge it yet.
xmech2k is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2013, 03:22 AM   #19
Fishbonez
Love my Stinger
 
Fishbonez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 2,227
Thanked 106 Times in 105 Posts
Club: Cheyenne Hill Hoppers
Send a message via AIM to Fishbonez Send a message via Yahoo to Fishbonez
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (17)
Default

Thanks guys. I think the DX8 is the way to go. I saw a Lipo at Hobby King for a resonable price as well. I will have to call my local HS to see f they have any in and if not get one on order so I can pick it up ASAP.

Happy flying may your crashes be limited and if they are not limited let them be cool.
Fishbonez is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2013, 10:06 PM   #20
AndyKunz
Spektrum Dev Team
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Champaign, IL area
Posts: 62
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Club: Monticello Model Masters
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (0)
Default

Originally Posted by kyleservicetech View Post
You might check on the transmitter battery for the DX7s. I think it uses loose AA type Nih cells....

The DX8 transmitter battery pack is a welded 4 cell pack.
The DX7s uses the same packs (welded NiMH or 2S LiPo) that the DX8 accepts.

Andy
AndyKunz is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2013, 10:57 PM   #21
JetPlaneFlyer
Super Contributor
 
JetPlaneFlyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Aberdeen, Scotland
Posts: 4,366
Thanked 482 Times in 449 Posts
Awards Showcase

5kW  Outstanding Contributor Award  1kW 
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (8)
Default

Originally Posted by xmech2k View Post
Yeah, don't even compare the 7s and 8 to the Dx7! I heard that one is a nightmare to program, but I guess it's still supposed to be a great heli tx?

I didn't realize the 7s uses looase AA cells. Yes, the lipo pack for th Dx8 is a MUST! i used to have to charge it after every flying day. Now it's like once a month, and even then I don't have to charge it yet.
None of them are a nightmare. I found both the old DX7 and the DX8 quite easy. The DX8 is a little quicker with less button pressing due to the roller but neither is at all 'difficult'. The DX7s is similar to the DX8 so also will be easy enough.

And as Andy said.. the 7s uses the exact same NiMh or LiPo battery as the DX8.

Off the top of my head the features that the DX7s is missing compared to the DX8 are:
  • The 8th channel (obviously)
  • A few programming features such as throttle curves, flap system programming and glider specific wing programming (unless they added the glider wing to the 7s too?)

Throttle curves are a feature i'd not want to give up.

there are maybe some other minor features.
JetPlaneFlyer is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Reply

  WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight > R/C Electric Topics - General > RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Official Spektrum DX8 Thread!!! NFA Fabrication RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros 255 09-12-2014 05:51 AM
NEW- Spektrum DX7s - What do we know about this radio? AEAJR General Electric Discussions 126 03-02-2012 01:05 AM
Noob Budget $200: Spektrum DX6i or a Futaba T7C? Left Coast DJ RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros 6 02-03-2012 05:07 PM
For Sale Brand New Spektrum DX8 Transmitter storm2313 Radio Equipment For Sale & WTB 3 09-14-2011 09:45 PM
spektrum dx6i help cottonpicker Beginners - Helis 7 01-25-2011 03:59 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:29 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2005 WattfFlyer.com
RCU Eflight HQ

Charities we support Select: Yorkie Rescue  ::  Crohn's & Colitis Foundation



Page generated in 0.27790 seconds with 59 queries