Wattflyer RC Network: RC Universe :: RCU Magazine :: RCU Forums :: RCU Classifieds :: RCU User Reviews :: RCU YouTube
Home Who's Online Calendar Today's Posts RealTime Post Spy Mark Forums Read
Go Back   WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight > Electric R/C Airplanes > Beginners
Register Members List Wattflyer Extras Articles Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Social Groups

Beginners New to e-power flying? Get the low down in here from experienced e-power RC pilots!

Thank you for your support (hide ads)

Old 07-03-2012, 04:38 PM   #1
sambo3901
Sambo3901

Friends: (0)
Smile Newbie's Maiden Flight of the Apprentice

First time post from a Newbie here. Been reading a lot of different threads here and really appreciate all Iíve been able to learn. Just wanted to relate my recent experience as I think it might be useful to otherís just starting out. Up until this past week the only experience I had was with some 2 channel plane that I bought for my daughter about 10 years ago (she was around 10 at the time). Couldnít tell you the make or model, had one channel for the throttle and one for the rudder. It flew quite well and my daughter was able to control it most of the time. Unfortunately one day a nice gust of wind caught it and it ended up about 50í up in a maple tree only to slowly come down over the course of a few months as it was shredded to pieces by the wind/branches. Anyway, fast forward to the present. Bought an E-flite Apprentice from the local hobby shop. Also, spent a couple of weeks using a flight simulator program to try to become familiar with flying a 4 channel plane. Still screw up my left and right when itís heading towards me but getting better. Took the apprentice out for its maiden flight this past weekend. It really flew like a charm and I had a blast. Thankfully there was not much wind at all. Had it up about a dozen times, practiced landings and takeoffs without one crash (unless you count a nose-over after landi