Wattflyer RC Network: RC Universe :: RCU Magazine :: RCU Forums :: RCU Classifieds :: RCU User Reviews :: RCU YouTube
Home Who's Online Calendar Today's Posts RealTime Post Spy Mark Forums Read
Go Back   WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight > Electric R/C Airplanes > General Electric Discussions
Register Members List Wattflyer Extras Articles Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Social Groups

General Electric Discussions Talk about topics related to e-powered RC flying

Thank you for your support (hide ads)
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-07-2012, 02:49 AM   #1
WayfaringDreamer
Member
 
WayfaringDreamer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Harrisburg PA
Posts: 90
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
iTrader: (3)
Friends: (0)
Default Radio > Flaps Question

My rebuilt funcub flew beautifully this evening. Weather was great for flying.

I was using the flaps to slow down before landing and had them set to 60% throw. My DX6i only has a two position switch for flaps.

I noticed that higher end radios have a slider on the side that you can use while keeping your thumbs on the sticks.

I was wondering if you could tie the slider to the flaps and get completely variable control input to them?

Is that possible and does anyone do it?
WayfaringDreamer is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2012, 03:29 AM   #2
Sir Crash-A-Lot
Crash Specialist
 
Sir Crash-A-Lot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 293
Thanked 34 Times in 34 Posts
Club: AzWingNutz
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (2)
Default

Yes it is possible with my Futaba 10CAG to have the flaps on a slider. I can assign any channel to any switch.

No, I do not use flaps.

Mike

Sir Crash-A-Lot is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2012, 03:50 AM   #3
pmullen503
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 799
Thanked 64 Times in 63 Posts
Awards Showcase

Scratchbuilders Award 
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (3)
Default

You can put flaps on a slider or pot and I have, but really only to work out the optimum position and then put them on a switch.

Variable flaps isn't necessarily a good thing. For landing I want the flap position that allows the slowest possible flight and yet still have good aileron authority. It's possible to slow down an airplane with flaps to the point where you have marginal control. What I want is a flap setting (sometimes mixed with elevator) that allows me to set my altitude on approach with throttle (i.e. airspeed). That way I don't have to worry about stalling on approach regardless of wind speed and direction. I use rudder and aileron to line up and throttle to determine where I land. I try not to touch the elevator at all except to flair.

On my Beech twin, I have flaps on a two position switch; Partial flaps to give a slower, more scale like cruise and full flaps to land.

It's never too late to have a happy childhood.
pmullen503 is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2012, 04:20 AM   #4
piercethesky
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 21
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (0)
Default

Originally Posted by pmullen503 View Post
You can put flaps on a slider or pot and I have, but really only to work out the optimum position and then put them on a switch.

Variable flaps isn't necessarily a good thing. For landing I want the flap position that allows the slowest possible flight and yet still have good aileron authority. It's possible to slow down an airplane with flaps to the point where you have marginal control. What I want is a flap setting (sometimes mixed with elevator) that allows me to set my altitude on approach with throttle (i.e. airspeed). That way I don't have to worry about stalling on approach regardless of wind speed and direction. I use rudder and aileron to line up and throttle to determine where I land. I try not to touch the elevator at all except to flair.

On my Beech twin, I have flaps on a two position switch; Partial flaps to give a slower, more scale like cruise and full flaps to land.
I totally agree with everything you just said. On my turnigy 9x, I used a pot to figure out the best position while still having that aileron authority to get out of trouble.

On my bixler I could literally slow it down to a crawl with full flap deflection and bring it down with rudder only. That was on calm days feeling a bit frisky! Once I found out the ideal position I stopped using the pot method and just programmed it onto a switch.
piercethesky is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2012, 01:57 PM   #5
WayfaringDreamer
Member
 
WayfaringDreamer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Harrisburg PA
Posts: 90
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
iTrader: (3)
Friends: (0)
Default

Thanks for the info.

Another question: What do folks use the sliders for?
WayfaringDreamer is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2012, 03:15 PM   #6
rcers
Community Moderator
 
rcers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Trophy Club TX
Posts: 6,160
View rcers's Gallery57
Thanked 501 Times in 491 Posts
Awards Showcase

WAA-08 Pilot 
iTrader: (4)
Friends: (9)
Default

Originally Posted by WayfaringDreamer View Post
Thanks for the info.

Another question: What do folks use the sliders for?
I use them for flaps all the time and love the variability they allow. I also use them for camber adjustment on gliders. They are often used for launch controls on gliders (DLG's especially).

Mike
rcers is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2012, 04:28 PM   #7
quorneng
Super Contributor
 
quorneng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Cheshire, UK
Posts: 1,207
Thanked 38 Times in 37 Posts
Club: A lone flyer!
Awards Showcase

Scratchbuilders Award 
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (7)
Default

Whether you have variable position flaps or not rather depends of how big and powerful they are.
For instance a big airliner has to put the flaps down in several stages as the speed decreases to prevent damage and keep changes to the aerodynamic trim under control.

On my plane with big two section flaps they have to be lowered slowly (using a knob) in conjunction with the reducing airspeed.
Put them full down at speed they would either rip off or the plane would loop yet once slowed down (and it really does!) there is only a minor trim change.
quorneng is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2012, 03:22 PM   #8
Motorcycle Jack
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: All over - in an RV full time.
Posts: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (0)
Default

I use slotted flaps and have them on the slider adjust. It makes my 182 work like a bush pilot plane, which is what I wanted. I can land it at a fast walk pace with full flaps. Yes it does take full ailerons to control at slow speed but if they're set up for dual rate it doesn't matter.
Motorcycle Jack is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2012, 05:34 PM   #9
dahawk
Super Contributor
 
dahawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Keller, TX
Posts: 3,346
View dahawk's Gallery6
Thanked 203 Times in 199 Posts
Club: 114th RC Aero Squadron
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (19)
Default

I programmed flapperons for my T-28 just to experiment and they worked pretty good. About 20 deg.

Wounded Warrior Fun Fly - Aug 16th ,2014 - Grapevine TX - Info link: https://support.woundedwarriorprojec...ising/RCPilots
dahawk is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2012, 06:43 PM   #10
solentlife
Super Contributor
 
solentlife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Ex UK Brit now in Latvia west coast - Ventspils
Posts: 5,906
View solentlife's Gallery47
Thanked 231 Times in 228 Posts
Club: Founder Member Ventspils RC Club. Ex Waltham Chase and Meon Valley Soaring.
Awards Showcase

Scratchbuilders Award  Scratchbuilders Award  Outstanding Contributor Award  125mph Speed Demon 
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (15)
Default

Mine are on the top left knob (9x - all switches / knobs assignable to what you want)... so while still working throttle / rudder - I can place my index finger at its side and rotate it to deploy infinitely variable flaps.
I used to have position switch flaps on my Royal P51 years ago and hated it. You had to be so careful about airspeed / throttle before flicking the switch. Now with the rotary knob - the flaps on my 182 are nice. I can adjust to the wind and conditions instead of all or nothing with a switch.

Nigel

222kph PKJ,EDF Concorde, Mini4,Mig3,T45,PKJ twin,ME109,Edge540,Cessna182,Skymaster Biplane,F15,F16,Badius,Ultimate,SE5,Qbee10,450 Heli,V911,J3 Cub Founder 9x forum: http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Flysky_RC_radio/
- Subscribe my Youtube: "solentlifeuk"
solentlife is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2012, 08:57 PM   #11
WayfaringDreamer
Member
 
WayfaringDreamer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Harrisburg PA
Posts: 90
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
iTrader: (3)
Friends: (0)
Default

I just bought a hitec Eclipse 7 pro and they assign flap trim to one of the two variable resistors on the back of the radio.
WayfaringDreamer is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Reply

  WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight > Electric R/C Airplanes > General Electric Discussions

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Basic flap design\mechanism question? xkubr Scratch and Kit Built Aircraft 18 08-04-2013 04:17 PM
Choosing a Sailplane Radio - What to Consider AEAJR Hi-Performance and Sailplanes 3 04-09-2012 12:57 PM
airfield sky trainer 55 inch with flaps and nav lights connector question?? Flysohigh General Electric Discussions 30 09-10-2011 01:17 AM
3 Stage Flaps on a DX6i and a AR600? Hose Man RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros 0 08-29-2011 06:35 PM
Radio Question Futaba 10Cag vs. DX8 RCFlyer44 General Electric Discussions 19 03-01-2011 05:14 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:26 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2005 WattfFlyer.com
RCU Eflight HQ

Charities we support Select: Yorkie Rescue  ::  Crohn's & Colitis Foundation



Page generated in 0.20083 seconds with 39 queries