Wattflyer RC Network: RC Universe :: RCU Magazine :: RCU Forums :: RCU Classifieds :: RCU User Reviews :: RCU YouTube
Home Who's Online Calendar Today's Posts RealTime Post Spy Mark Forums Read
Go Back   WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight > Electric R/C Airplanes > Beginners
Register Members List Wattflyer Extras Articles Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Social Groups

Beginners New to e-power flying? Get the low down in here from experienced e-power RC pilots!

Thank you for your support (hide ads)

Old 08-27-2012, 08:20 AM   #1
npowell28

Friends: (0)
Default Swapping Airfoils on published plans

I'm still very new to this game having only been flying for about 2 years. I've built a fair few from plans and have just finished building my second scratch built from balsa and foam. I've also been buying RCME and Quiet and Electric to get the free plans. There are some fantastic looking plans in there such as the FW 190 which Id love to build but the airfoil, which is semi-symmetrical, scares me. You see just about everything Ive built so far has had flat bottom foils such as the Clark Y. Obviously it gives great lift and also slows the plane down I find. Looking at the FW 190 plan got me thinking. Could I change the published foil shape for a Clark Y. Would this have a dramatic effect on the way it flys or would it actually make it a bit easier

Or do I need to just get out of my comfort zone a bit???

Any advice would be great.

Cheers
Old 08-27-2012, 09:04 AM   #2
solentlife
Super Contributor

View solentlife's Gallery47
Club: Founder Member Ventspils RC Club. Ex Waltham Chase and Meon Valley Soaring.
Awards Showcase

Scratchbuilders Award  Scratchbuilders Award  Outstanding Contributor Award  125mph Speed Demon 
Friends: (15)

2 years ? I think its time to "get out of comfort zone" as you put it.

A semi-symet is not the beast you may think ... it's actually a clean aerofoil and flies well.