Wattflyer RC Network: RC Universe :: RCU Magazine :: RCU Forums :: RCU Classifieds :: RCU User Reviews :: RCU YouTube
Home Who's Online Calendar Today's Posts RealTime Post Spy Mark Forums Read
Go Back   WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight > R/C Electric Power - Batteries, Chargers, ESCs and More > Power Systems
Register Members List Wattflyer Extras Articles Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Social Groups

Power Systems Talk about motors, ESC speed controllers, gear drives, propellers, power system simulators and all power system related topics

Thank you for your support (hide ads)
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-13-2012, 01:39 PM   #1
kidhickey
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Dudley, MA.
Posts: 31
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Club: Rocky Hill Flying Circus
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (1)
Default Watt Meter ??? Help

Hi, All, I am what most of you people Call NEWBIE LOL, So please bear with me. for I will be posting, and asking a lot of Q? Iam Really inpressed with the very helpful Articles I HAVE ALREADY found, and read, My 1st question is can some body point me in the right direction of a realiable and easy to use Watt meter, my flying experience, is limited to GWS Park flyers , for the moment, Thanks in advance for info............kid
kidhickey is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 04:15 PM   #2
Turner
Super Contributor
 
Turner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 1,375
Thanked 130 Times in 128 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Friends: (3)
Default

For an inline meter there are several offered to the RC community. Here is one:

http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin/wti0001p?&I=LXLMV0

Another option is a clamp-on type:

http://www.sears.com/craftsman-digit...1&blockType=G1
Turner is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 05:21 PM   #3
Wildflyer
2014 President of PSSF
 
Wildflyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Lacey WA, 1 mile E of Mushroom Corner
Posts: 1,135
Thanked 131 Times in 127 Posts
Club: Puget Sound Silent Flyers -PSSF & Thurston County Miniature Aircraft Association - TCMAA
iTrader: (3)
Friends: (7)
Default

The inline wattmeters will give you more information.
My flying friend has one that will record and hold the peak value, so you can pay attention to the plane. That is very nice with larger planes. I wish I knew the brand.

Dave R, Proud PGR rider.
When you have flying skills like mine,
You become a master at repair.
Wildflyer is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 10:35 PM   #4
road king 97
old hat
 
road king 97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: joliet il
Posts: 2,697
Thanked 198 Times in 194 Posts
Club: joliet rc club rt 66
Awards Showcase

Scratchbuilders Award  Outstanding Contributor Award 
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (15)
Default

http://www.valuehobby.com/accessorie...wattmeter.html For a new flyer you are alot smarter than iam when it comes to buying one of these for testing your stuff. I have been flying for a loooooong time and should have bought one alot sooner. joe
road king 97 is online now  
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 11:48 PM   #5
Wildflyer
2014 President of PSSF
 
Wildflyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Lacey WA, 1 mile E of Mushroom Corner
Posts: 1,135
Thanked 131 Times in 127 Posts
Club: Puget Sound Silent Flyers -PSSF & Thurston County Miniature Aircraft Association - TCMAA
iTrader: (3)
Friends: (7)
Default

Hey, road king 97, something tells me you ride a 97 Harley Davidson, Road King, nice bike. I ride an 85 Honda Goldwing Limited Edition, any chance I get.

Back to the subject, that wattmeter at Value Hobby looks like a good deal. I spent over twice that on mine but I don't regret it at all.

Keeps you from burning out a motor.
Will tell you the power consumption of your plane, so you can figure out flight time.
I run the plane for 1 minute at about 75% throttle or what ever amount flys your plane nicely, then look at total mah used. It is simple to compute how long you can fly, before your battery is at a critical level. That keeps you from toasting them.
If you see input voltage drop too much with load, that is a sign of a battery with a high internal impedance, either too low a C rating or it maybe getting old.
I have tested props of the same size & pitch, but different brands, and found huge differences in power out.
I think a wattmeter is absolutely necessary for electric modelers.

Dave R, Proud PGR rider.
When you have flying skills like mine,
You become a master at repair.
Wildflyer is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 01:39 AM   #6
kidhickey
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Dudley, MA.
Posts: 31
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Club: Rocky Hill Flying Circus
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (1)
Default

Thanks ,Joe Aguy at a flying feild mentioned to me that I buy one, I don,t know how they work yet, but when I do I will be able to run my esc , motors, & batt, with out over heating............I think
kidhickey is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 01:40 AM   #7
kidhickey
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Dudley, MA.
Posts: 31
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Club: Rocky Hill Flying Circus
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (1)
Default

THANKS
kidhickey is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 01:46 AM   #8
kidhickey
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Dudley, MA.
Posts: 31
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Club: Rocky Hill Flying Circus
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (1)
Default

Thanks 4 info
kidhickey is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 01:48 AM   #9
kidhickey
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Dudley, MA.
Posts: 31
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Club: Rocky Hill Flying Circus
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (1)
Default

I.ride 95 G,W, LIMETED EDITION With matcing trailer
kidhickey is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 01:55 AM   #10
road king 97
old hat
 
road king 97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: joliet il
Posts: 2,697
Thanked 198 Times in 194 Posts
Club: joliet rc club rt 66
Awards Showcase

Scratchbuilders Award  Outstanding Contributor Award 
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (15)
Default

Originally Posted by kidhickey View Post
I.ride 95 G,W, LIMETED EDITION With matcing trailer
I had a 85 goldwing back then and now i ride my 97 road king . I call it my Barny bike because of the purple color. lol Iam pretty sure you use the same plugs on your watt meter inbetween the esc and motor to see how many watts its using . I need to buy one soon myself and read the directions.lol Wildfire how do wire yours to test the draw ? joe


Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	road king 97.jpg
Views:	33
Size:	56.2 KB
ID:	164141
road king 97 is online now  
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 02:03 AM   #11
gramps2361
Community Moderator
 
gramps2361's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: oxford, MA
Posts: 6,631
View gramps2361's Gallery9
Thanked 600 Times in 595 Posts
Club: Rocky Hill Flying Circus
iTrader: (3)
Friends: (21)
Default

Originally Posted by kidhickey View Post
Thanks ,Joe Aguy at a flying feild mentioned to me that I buy one, I don,t know how they work yet, but when I do I will be able to run my esc , motors, & batt, with out over heating............I think
Hey Bill so you finally joined good to have you here. That watt meter will save you a lot of guess work and possible damaged electronics. This should be one item every new guy buys when they get into electrics.

It is real nice to know what your system is doing for watts and amps instead of guessing like I did in the beginning.

By the way did you get a chance to take a look at that TX problem with the throttle?
John
gramps2361 is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 02:12 AM   #12
road king 97
old hat
 
road king 97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: joliet il
Posts: 2,697
Thanked 198 Times in 194 Posts
Club: joliet rc club rt 66
Awards Showcase

Scratchbuilders Award  Outstanding Contributor Award 
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (15)
Default

Hey Gramps! iam going to buy one too,i ripped the brushed motors and gear boxes out of my short solent and bought new brushless motors for it. I will be trying new 3 bladed props and new hubs too so using the watt meter will come in handy. The only bad part is the slot i had to cut under my wing to rewire it all ,knda made me sick when i had to cut her open.


Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Img_7017.jpg
Views:	41
Size:	32.5 KB
ID:	164142
road king 97 is online now  
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 02:35 AM   #13
gramps2361
Community Moderator
 
gramps2361's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: oxford, MA
Posts: 6,631
View gramps2361's Gallery9
Thanked 600 Times in 595 Posts
Club: Rocky Hill Flying Circus
iTrader: (3)
Friends: (21)
Default

Joe shame on you! Building them big beautiful planes and not checking the power system out.
I think I waited at least a year and half before I got one now I couldn't imaginee being with out one. Nice to know what the watt's is going on.
gramps2361 is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 02:48 AM   #14
kidhickey
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Dudley, MA.
Posts: 31
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Club: Rocky Hill Flying Circus
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (1)
Default

Hey, John I took TX apart found nothing, put it back together. and every seams ok Ithink I will let Rene look at it ???, Iflew on Veterans day with my Grand daughter and all went well, Hey bye the way thanks for all the help at feild last week.............BILL
kidhickey is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 02:56 AM   #15
kidhickey
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Dudley, MA.
Posts: 31
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Club: Rocky Hill Flying Circus
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (1)
Default

John, can you suggest a{ not to expensive } watt/meter??
kidhickey is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 03:08 AM   #16
gramps2361
Community Moderator
 
gramps2361's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: oxford, MA
Posts: 6,631
View gramps2361's Gallery9
Thanked 600 Times in 595 Posts
Club: Rocky Hill Flying Circus
iTrader: (3)
Friends: (21)
Default

Glad to help you out last weekend little tweaking on your TX and plane you where flying great after that.

These guys all ready gave you some great choices and prices from middle to low.
This is the one I use and you can't beat the service from BP Hobbies.
http://www.bphobbies.com/view.asp?id...07&pid=U054250

Road King gave you a link to the lowest priced one.
http://www.valuehobby.com/accessorie...wattmeter.html

Gonna be your choice on what you can afford to spend.
gramps2361 is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 03:15 AM   #17
road king 97
old hat
 
road king 97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: joliet il
Posts: 2,697
Thanked 198 Times in 194 Posts
Club: joliet rc club rt 66
Awards Showcase

Scratchbuilders Award  Outstanding Contributor Award 
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (15)
Default

I know Gramps i should have bought one by now but with all the balsa i buy and foam latley my extra airplane fund has been low. lol Happy to see your doing well Gramps !.I just bought 3 motors ,8 servos and 3 esc's from value hobby and all my stuff arrived fast and not broken ,they are pretty good . joe
road king 97 is online now  
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 03:29 AM   #18
gramps2361
Community Moderator
 
gramps2361's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: oxford, MA
Posts: 6,631
View gramps2361's Gallery9
Thanked 600 Times in 595 Posts
Club: Rocky Hill Flying Circus
iTrader: (3)
Friends: (21)
Default

That's the reason I never got one from the start I was busy buying stuff and kept telling myself I need to get one, but never did.
Dang you can't fly a watt meter now can ya too darn small to see.

Ya I'm doing good Joe hope you are to.
gramps2361 is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 04:11 AM   #19
Wildflyer
2014 President of PSSF
 
Wildflyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Lacey WA, 1 mile E of Mushroom Corner
Posts: 1,135
Thanked 131 Times in 127 Posts
Club: Puget Sound Silent Flyers -PSSF & Thurston County Miniature Aircraft Association - TCMAA
iTrader: (3)
Friends: (7)
Default

A wattmeter is basically inserted between the battery and the airplane.

The battery plugs into the source side of the meter, and the plane plugs into the load side.

The meter reads both the voltage being fed into the circuit and the current flowing through it.
Then since watts equals volts multiplied by amps, the IC in the meter is programmed to display the answer as watts.
The meters also count time, and use that to display mah (milli, amp, hours) used as time goes on.

Dave R, Proud PGR rider.
When you have flying skills like mine,
You become a master at repair.
Wildflyer is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 05:20 AM   #20
kyleservicetech
Dennis V
 
kyleservicetech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 8,002
Thanked 696 Times in 678 Posts
Club: www.racinercclub.com (I'm the newsletter editor)
Awards Showcase

Outstanding Contributor Award  3kW  2kW  100mph Speed Demon 
iTrader: (1)
Friends: (20)
Default

Originally Posted by Turner View Post
For an inline meter there are several offered to the RC community. Here is one:

http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin/wti0001p?&I=LXLMV0

Another option is a clamp-on type:

http://www.sears.com/craftsman-digit...1&blockType=G1

Second time the Sears site worked. IMHO, the Sears unit is mostly useful for the much larger models pulling perhaps 30 amps and up sizes.

DennyV
Retired and the days are just too short, busier than ever!
kyleservicetech is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 02:09 PM   #21
road king 97
old hat
 
road king 97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: joliet il
Posts: 2,697
Thanked 198 Times in 194 Posts
Club: joliet rc club rt 66
Awards Showcase

Scratchbuilders Award  Outstanding Contributor Award 
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (15)
Default

Kidhicky you have a granddaughter so you fit right in with us old farts going through our second childhood. Motorcycles /toys /street rods ,life is good. Iam mean as ever Gramps and still riding my harley even tho the grandkids want to get their grubby little mitts on it. Good luck with flying rc Kid . joe
road king 97 is online now  
  Reply With Quote
Reply

  WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight > R/C Electric Power - Batteries, Chargers, ESCs and More > Power Systems

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For Sale Bantam Two Meter watt meter/balancer QuietRCFly Batteries and Chargers Forsale/WTB 2 07-25-2012 04:16 AM
WATT Meter readings ?????? haasjj General Electric Discussions 25 06-12-2012 04:54 PM
HK watt meter with lipos in series problem emjdrvr Power Systems 1 10-25-2011 05:44 PM
Wanted watt meter DrDave Field Equipment For Sale & WTB 2 09-29-2011 09:13 AM
How do I read my watt meter TylerJCooper Power Systems 35 03-27-2011 07:03 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:30 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2005 WattfFlyer.com
RCU Eflight HQ

Charities we support Select: Yorkie Rescue  ::  Crohn's & Colitis Foundation



Page generated in 0.67881 seconds with 63 queries