Wattflyer RC Network: RC Universe :: RCU Magazine :: RCU Forums :: RCU Classifieds :: RCU User Reviews :: RCU YouTube
Home Who's Online Calendar Today's Posts RealTime Post Spy Mark Forums Read
Go Back   WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight > Electric R/C Airplanes > General Electric Discussions
Register Members List Wattflyer Extras Articles Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Social Groups

General Electric Discussions Talk about topics related to e-powered RC flying

Thank you for your support (hide ads)
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-15-2012, 07:18 PM   #1
dheaton
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 103
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (0)
Default Wing Pod

Do they make a wing pod for an electric motor? I used to fly several planes with the Cox .049 and would love to fly those same planes with an exectric motor. Any help?
dheaton is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2012, 07:28 PM   #2
smokejohnson
Super Contributor
 
smokejohnson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Tulsa
Posts: 5,672
View smokejohnson's Gallery22
Thanked 295 Times in 281 Posts
Club: Independent
Awards Showcase

Globetrotter Pilot  WAA-08 Pilot 
iTrader: (13)
Friends: (108)
Default

http://www.greatplanes.com/accys/gpmg0800.html


smokejohnson is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2012, 08:32 PM   #3
dheaton
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 103
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (0)
Default

That is what I need. I went to the link but how do you purchase it? I asked the local (4 hours away) but they never heard of it and don't know where to get it. Can I order it online somewhere?
By the way, thanks for the reply


Originally Posted by smokejohnson View Post
dheaton is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2012, 08:40 PM   #4
smokejohnson
Super Contributor
 
smokejohnson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Tulsa
Posts: 5,672
View smokejohnson's Gallery22
Thanked 295 Times in 281 Posts
Club: Independent
Awards Showcase

Globetrotter Pilot  WAA-08 Pilot 
iTrader: (13)
Friends: (108)
Default

No problem...here ya go

http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXJ769&P=V

smokejohnson is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2012, 08:52 PM   #5
dheaton
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 103
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (0)
Default

Thanks. I am kinda new to the whole electric thing. It says it comes with a 550 motor. That is a brushed motor right? I would like to put it on planes smaller than 2 meter and use a brushless motor. What do you think?


Originally Posted by smokejohnson View Post
dheaton is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2012, 01:23 AM   #6
starcad
Model Designer
 
starcad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Tucson, Az
Posts: 568
View starcad's Gallery14
Thanked 31 Times in 31 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (5)
Default

You could probably make one with a little ply and balsa saving yourself a ton a $$$'s

starcad is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2012, 02:39 AM   #7
smokejohnson
Super Contributor
 
smokejohnson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Tulsa
Posts: 5,672
View smokejohnson's Gallery22
Thanked 295 Times in 281 Posts
Club: Independent
Awards Showcase

Globetrotter Pilot  WAA-08 Pilot 
iTrader: (13)
Friends: (108)
Default



Looking at the picture of the pod with the sides off I don't see why you couldn't mount a brushless motor. You may need some spacers to get it right but it should work.

http://www.headsuprc.com/servlet/the...ffs/Categories

Here are some ideas if you wanted to make one yourself like Starcad has suggested.

http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/m_98...tm.htm#9867460

Edit: Yes, the 550 would be a brushed motor.

smokejohnson is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2012, 05:51 AM   #8
Beemerider
Member
 
Beemerider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Shenandoah Valley Of Virginia
Posts: 393
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Club: Augusta County RC Club
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (1)
Default

Why not pull the 049 and put a small brushless in it's place? I started out early this year with a 2M sailplane (no motor) and had long ago purchased a balsa wing top pod and 049 to fly it with. Rather than fiddle with a pod a friend showed me how easy it was to modify the nose and mount a brushless motor.
Beemerider is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2012, 07:45 AM   #9
dheaton
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 103
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (0)
Default

I thought about doing that as well but I would like the pod to go from plane to plane. I have a very small park flyer that is just a hand launch deal and would like to pur a smaller motor on with a pod. I do have a pod that i used with the 049 but I was not sure how I could mount the electric motor.


Originally Posted by Beemerider View Post
Why not pull the 049 and put a small brushless in it's place? I started out early this year with a 2M sailplane (no motor) and had long ago purchased a balsa wing top pod and 049 to fly it with. Rather than fiddle with a pod a friend showed me how easy it was to modify the nose and mount a brushless motor.
dheaton is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2012, 01:36 PM   #10
CHELLIE
Super Contributor
 
CHELLIE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Hesperia, So. Calif
Posts: 18,672
View CHELLIE's Gallery13
Thanked 2,179 Times in 2,086 Posts
Club: Chino Renegades RC Flying Club
Awards Showcase

Scratchbuilders Award  Scratchbuilders Award  Ambassador Award  100mph Speed Demon 
iTrader: (4)
Friends: (314)
Default

here you go in place of the 049, just screw the electric motor in place. if needed, add a block of balsa to the pod, with some 3/16 or 1/4" plywood epoxied to the balsa block to move it out more and to mount the motor to. Hope that helps, Chellie



http://www.gravesrc.com/SIGSH660_SIG...p/sigsh660.htm

http://www.wattflyer.com/forums/showthread.php?t=39483


I may be getting Older, But I Refuse to grow Up I am Having to much Fun to Grow Up LOL
CHELLIE is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2012, 08:27 PM   #11
dheaton
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 103
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (0)
Default

That is what I need, thanks


Originally Posted by CHELLIE View Post
here you go in place of the 049, just screw the electric motor in place. if needed, add a block of balsa to the pod, with some 3/16 or 1/4" plywood epoxied to the balsa block to move it out more and to mount the motor to. Hope that helps, Chellie



http://www.gravesrc.com/SIGSH660_SIG...p/sigsh660.htm

http://www.wattflyer.com/forums/showthread.php?t=39483

dheaton is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Reply

  WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight > Electric R/C Airplanes > General Electric Discussions

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FMS / BlitzRC Cessna 182 (55-inch) wing span! guapoman2000 Scale E-Powered Aircraft 15 06-20-2014 10:57 AM
dihedral on low or mid wing paulatgis Scratch and Kit Built Aircraft 26 12-19-2012 01:25 AM
New Parkzone Extra 300 Its Here, Newbie Report phillipmorris Beginners 65 10-07-2012 03:53 PM
Parkzone Extra 300 Upside Down Wings *HORIZON LEAVES US IN THE COLD* jaskel Foamies 157 10-07-2012 03:48 PM
Super Cub & Wind Question vaflyer General Electric Discussions 17 04-14-2012 10:51 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:04 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2005 WattfFlyer.com
RCU Eflight HQ

Charities we support Select: Yorkie Rescue  ::  Crohn's & Colitis Foundation



Page generated in 0.20272 seconds with 39 queries