Wattflyer RC Network: RC Universe :: RCU Magazine :: RCU Forums :: RCU Classifieds :: RCU User Reviews :: RCU YouTube
Home Who's Online Calendar Today's Posts RealTime Post Spy Mark Forums Read
Go Back   WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight > Electric R/C Airplanes > Scratch and Kit Built Aircraft
Register Members List Wattflyer Extras Articles Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Social Groups

Scratch and Kit Built Aircraft Discuss and share your scratch built or kit built aircraft as well as building techniques, methods, mediums and resources.

Thank you for your support (hide ads)
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-23-2013, 07:51 AM   #1
solentlife
Super Contributor
 
solentlife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Ex UK Brit now in Latvia west coast - Ventspils
Posts: 5,973
View solentlife's Gallery47
Thanked 245 Times in 242 Posts
Club: Founder Member Ventspils RC Club. Ex Waltham Chase and Meon Valley Soaring.
Awards Showcase

Scratchbuilders Award  Scratchbuilders Award  Outstanding Contributor Award  125mph Speed Demon 
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (15)
Default Designing scratch builds - Sketch-Up and other s/ware

Give me graph paper ....... pencil ...... rulers etc. - I'm quite a dab hand at drawing up a potential design. I can posterize / scale a PDF print ...

But I am totally lacking in CAD skills. I have had AutoCAD2000 on one PC ... blew me away ! DraftSight from Dassault was downloaded so I could view various freebie plans online ... never could sort that out ... and I read various posts of people using Google Sketch-up to produce plans ... which I tried in it's early days and failed miserably.

What am I looking for ? I've now re-downloaded Sketch-up and will try again ... leads me to ask if anyone out bthere thought about sharing sketch-up files to help idiots like me get started ?.

Lets say i wanted to build a Tiger Moth ... maybe someoone out there has a similar sketch-up file ... that can be passed on to provide a starting point for another to work on for own style ?

Also pointers to make use easier ?

Interested to hear others views on this ...

Nigel

222kph PKJ,EDF Concorde, Mini4,Mig3,T45,PKJ twin,ME109,Edge540,Cessna182,Skymaster Biplane,F15,F16,Badius,Ultimate,SE5,Qbee10,450 Heli,V911,J3 Cub Founder 9x forum: http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Flysky_RC_radio/
- Subscribe my Youtube: "solentlifeuk"
solentlife is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 07:57 AM   #2
npowell28
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 100
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (0)
Default

I've been using Sketchup to design a DH mosquito. Not got very far with it to be honest though. I did see a piece of kit called Devfus which seems to do most of the work for you. Might be worth having a look at that.
npowell28 is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 01:05 PM   #3
JetPlaneFlyer
Super Contributor
 
JetPlaneFlyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Aberdeen, Scotland
Posts: 4,370
Thanked 483 Times in 450 Posts
Awards Showcase

5kW  Outstanding Contributor Award  1kW 
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (8)
Default

I'm a time served draughtsman, trained on the drawing board but can also turn my hand to a few CAD systems.

CAD can be daunting when you first try it but it's worth persevering with. AutoCAD is pretty much industry standard and is easy enough to use once you grasp the basics. Draftsight is virtually a clone of AutoCAD LT and for the price (i.e. free!) it's fantastic.

If you want to draw 'proper' professional standard fully detailed plans then IMHO you need to be looking at something like Autocad or Draftsight. If you just want to draw up 'pretty 3D pictures' and basic outlines then Sketch-up is fine. Possibly I'm doing the capabilities of Sketch-Up an injustice as I've never really used it much.

One of the first things to decide on is if you want to draw 2d or 3D. For me 2D is the quickest way to get to the final plan drawing but for really complex designs 3D has a lot of advantages but is an order of magnitude harder to learn one you consider how you have to generate 2D plans from 3D models.

The free version of Draftsight is 2D only as is the basic 'LT' version of Autocad.

Steve
JetPlaneFlyer is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 02:16 PM   #4
HO-229
PROVERBS 27:17 ROGUE!
 
HO-229's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Souther Maryland
Posts: 359
Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (6)
Default

Nigel,
For what it's worth... It is a daunting task... Much like learning and then mastering a foreign language!
I can only tell you that persistence is critical to the task.
While I have used a few of the CAD tools and have mastered them I by no measure have unlocked all the capability.

In my humble opinion one can design and build with pen and paper much faster than CAD
Also... Upon using the CAD tool you will be blessed/cursed into the lengthily process.
So many things must be understood to successfully use the tool.

If your tool is parametric it will offer you great flexibility.
I would recommend a 3D tool, upon completion of the mold lines you can quickly take off parts
Cheers and hang in there,
Dave
HO-229 is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 03:17 PM   #5
pmullen503
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 827
Thanked 69 Times in 68 Posts
Awards Showcase

Scratchbuilders Award 
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (3)
Default

I made an effort with Sketchup but my problem with it is it tries to "help" you too much. It seems to be optimized for quickly drawing boxes and is lacking tools for drawing curves and lofting. Better to spend your time on a "real" CAD program that handles curves easily.

That said, I use Coreldraw 9, an old 2D drawing program. It runs fast, has excellent printing tools (print selected items only, built in tiling, saves in PDF that I can email to the blueprint shop if I want it printed full size on a plotter) and easily handles curves. It's fine for the type of building I do.

If you need something to draw fuselages for balsa builds, check out Devfus. It will print out formers with stringer notches, etc.

It's never too late to have a happy childhood.
pmullen503 is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 01:36 AM   #6
solentlife
Super Contributor
 
solentlife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Ex UK Brit now in Latvia west coast - Ventspils
Posts: 5,973
View solentlife's Gallery47
Thanked 245 Times in 242 Posts
Club: Founder Member Ventspils RC Club. Ex Waltham Chase and Meon Valley Soaring.
Awards Showcase

Scratchbuilders Award  Scratchbuilders Award  Outstanding Contributor Award  125mph Speed Demon 
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (15)
Default

Had one guy in my company ... when I decided to move office / lab ... we visited the new building ... measured up etc.

Next I knew - he presented me with a full 3D plan of the installation office and lab gear ! I hate people like that !!

One of the ideas as I put in OP ... was whether a collection of basic sketch-up files was worth compiling so others can have a foundation to work from ?

Last ... does Autocad 2000 run on Win 7 ? I have full Autocad 2000 but don't want to install if it's going to crap out on 7 ... maybe I clean out an XP machine and stick it on there ...

Nigel

222kph PKJ,EDF Concorde, Mini4,Mig3,T45,PKJ twin,ME109,Edge540,Cessna182,Skymaster Biplane,F15,F16,Badius,Ultimate,SE5,Qbee10,450 Heli,V911,J3 Cub Founder 9x forum: http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Flysky_RC_radio/
- Subscribe my Youtube: "solentlifeuk"
solentlife is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 04:36 AM   #7
mclarkson
Super Contributor
 
mclarkson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Wichita, KS
Posts: 2,848
View mclarkson's Gallery4
Thanked 174 Times in 172 Posts
Awards Showcase

Scratchbuilders Award  Outstanding Contributor Award 
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (7)
Default

I don't know how much a repository of models would help you. They are generally lacking in internal structure.

SketchUp seems to be really geared to doing rooms and big, square things. I'll try to look into it a bit tonite and see if I can give you some tips. I actually do work on my planes in a 'non-CAD' 3D program called modo which isn't very well suited to the task but with which I'm comfortable. I like to 'sketch' in 3D, and I always feel really constrained in a true CAD progam.




mclarkson is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 12:15 PM   #8
solentlife
Super Contributor
 
solentlife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Ex UK Brit now in Latvia west coast - Ventspils
Posts: 5,973
View solentlife's Gallery47
Thanked 245 Times in 242 Posts
Club: Founder Member Ventspils RC Club. Ex Waltham Chase and Meon Valley Soaring.
Awards Showcase

Scratchbuilders Award  Scratchbuilders Award  Outstanding Contributor Award  125mph Speed Demon 
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (15)
Default

I wish I could do real 3D CAD ... something I have wanted to do for ages - but never had the real time to get to with it ...

I have had Draftsight, AutoCad var. versions up to 2000, and various other free stuff.

But never really cottoned on. I have to admit that when it comes to Role Playing games etc. - I'm not good ... I'm very good at straight PC stuff ... word etc. but CAD ?
Coreldraw had me pulling hair out ...

Nigel

222kph PKJ,EDF Concorde, Mini4,Mig3,T45,PKJ twin,ME109,Edge540,Cessna182,Skymaster Biplane,F15,F16,Badius,Ultimate,SE5,Qbee10,450 Heli,V911,J3 Cub Founder 9x forum: http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Flysky_RC_radio/
- Subscribe my Youtube: "solentlifeuk"
solentlife is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 03:02 AM   #9
starcad
Model Designer
 
starcad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Tucson, Az
Posts: 567
View starcad's Gallery14
Thanked 31 Times in 31 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (5)
Default

Originally Posted by solentlife View Post
Last ... does Autocad 2000 run on Win 7 ? I have full Autocad 2000 but don't want to install if it's going to crap out on 7 ... maybe I clean out an XP machine and stick it on there ...

Nigel
Unfortunately Nigel, No. You have to upgrade as ACad 2000 will not run in a 64 bit environment. I tried everything and finally had to spend the bucks.

Thank you very much MicroSoft.

starcad is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 07:36 AM   #10
Wildflyer
2014 President of PSSF
 
Wildflyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Lacey WA, 1 mile E of Mushroom Corner
Posts: 1,117
Thanked 130 Times in 126 Posts
Club: Puget Sound Silent Flyers -PSSF & Thurston County Miniature Aircraft Association - TCMAA
iTrader: (3)
Friends: (7)
Default

I have been told and (I hope Microsoft is right), if you have Windows 7 Pro, you can download a program from MS that will allow it to run 32 bit programs.

I have Autocad 2000 and it runs fine on my Windows XP 32 bit OS.
BUT Autocad 2000 has a 16 bit loading program, and that is what stopped it when I tried to load it on our 64 bit laptop with Win 7 64. I don't know what the program would have done if it had gotten in there.

I hope the Windows 7 Pro, I bought will allow me to run AC 2k on my new computer, or I will have to reformat my old machine and re-install Win XP.

Dave R, Proud PGR rider.
When you have flying skills like mine,
You become a master at repair.
Wildflyer is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 08:14 AM   #11
solentlife
Super Contributor
 
solentlife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Ex UK Brit now in Latvia west coast - Ventspils
Posts: 5,973
View solentlife's Gallery47
Thanked 245 Times in 242 Posts
Club: Founder Member Ventspils RC Club. Ex Waltham Chase and Meon Valley Soaring.
Awards Showcase

Scratchbuilders Award  Scratchbuilders Award  Outstanding Contributor Award  125mph Speed Demon 
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (15)
Default

Originally Posted by starcad View Post
Unfortunately Nigel, No. You have to upgrade as ACad 2000 will not run in a 64 bit environment. I tried everything and finally had to spend the bucks.

Thank you very much MicroSoft.
My Win7 is starter edition ... not Pro. I'm damned if I'm paying for another buggy box of Bill's crap ! Starter was free on the Acer One I bought ...
Now of course is Win8 ...........

I do have XP on my Dual Core Tosh at home - which needs cleaning out actually and starting over a fresh.

Nigel

222kph PKJ,EDF Concorde, Mini4,Mig3,T45,PKJ twin,ME109,Edge540,Cessna182,Skymaster Biplane,F15,F16,Badius,Ultimate,SE5,Qbee10,450 Heli,V911,J3 Cub Founder 9x forum: http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Flysky_RC_radio/
- Subscribe my Youtube: "solentlifeuk"
solentlife is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2013, 02:03 AM   #12
CrimzonRider
Fastest PropHead Crasher
 
CrimzonRider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NW Oklahoma
Posts: 1,301
View CrimzonRider's Gallery18
Thanked 100 Times in 99 Posts
iTrader: (2)
Friends: (14)
Default

Originally Posted by starcad View Post
Unfortunately Nigel, No. You have to upgrade as ACad 2000 will not run in a 64 bit environment. I tried everything and finally had to spend the bucks.

Thank you very much MicroSoft.

+1 on it doesn't work in 64bit. Just looked up price ver. 2013 for a cool $3600 on sale too!

(in a quiet voice) search around some of the torrent sites, you might be able to find a "copy" to download if ya gotta have it.....as long as you don't turn a "profit"

just found a link on yt.com for 2012 I'm gonna try it and see if it works?
assuming just download 2gig file and apply crack to get a key.




cr
CrimzonRider is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2013, 02:26 AM   #13
hayofstacks
Super Contributor
 
hayofstacks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Utah
Posts: 1,555
Thanked 115 Times in 114 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (5)
Default

My dad does things in free cad. He showed me how to build a chess pawn replacement in about 5 minutes. Its free (obviously) and I have seen him build plane like designs with it. It is a bit hard to understand, but there are pleanty of tutorials on youtube.
hayofstacks is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Reply

  WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight > Electric R/C Airplanes > Scratch and Kit Built Aircraft

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:35 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2005 WattfFlyer.com
RCU Eflight HQ

Charities we support Select: Yorkie Rescue  ::  Crohn's & Colitis Foundation



Page generated in 0.28132 seconds with 43 queries