Wattflyer RC Network: RC Universe :: RCU Magazine :: RCU Forums :: RCU Classifieds :: RCU User Reviews :: RCU YouTube
Home Who's Online Calendar Today's Posts RealTime Post Spy Mark Forums Read
Go Back   WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight > R/C Electric Topics - General > Flight Simulators
Register Members List Wattflyer Extras Articles Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Social Groups

Flight Simulators Discuss computer flight simulators here

Thank you for your support (hide ads)

Old 02-22-2013, 05:58 AM   #1
maxflyer

Friends: (0)
Default A Newb tries RealFlight 6.5

OK kids, here's a Newb's take on RealFlight 6.5. I started playing with RC in the early eighties. I flew 3-channel airplanes, a mix of my own foam concoctions and a speed 400 powered ARF, called the Miss2, which I still have. I probably had no more than 10 hours when I hung it up, due to a relocation. It took me nine years to saddle up again, this time in the Brushless/lipo era, still flying 3-channel scratch-built planes. I read forum debates on the pros and cons of flight sims for beginners, but always believed it was just as expeditious to construct simple, foam, 3-channel trainers, and be flying and having fun while the sim crowd still had their noses buried in their computers.

Came a day though, when I began to wonder about the frequently touted ability of sims to develop muscle memory and the opportunity they provided for practicing aerial maneuvers. As I was about to advance to aileron models, I thought it might be worth a shot. It was not an easy decision, as RealFlight was the most expensive hobby software I had ever considered purchasing. But really...a low-end molded foam trainer can cost this much. If this software really is that helpful, it would be worth the money.