Wattflyer RC Network: RC Universe :: RCU Magazine :: RCU Forums :: RCU Classifieds :: RCU User Reviews :: RCU YouTube
Home Who's Online Calendar Today's Posts RealTime Post Spy Mark Forums Read
Go Back   WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight > R/C Electric Power - Batteries, Chargers, ESCs and More > Power Systems
Register Members List Wattflyer Extras Articles Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Social Groups

Power Systems Talk about motors, ESC speed controllers, gear drives, propellers, power system simulators and all power system related topics

Thank you for your support (hide ads)

Old 04-09-2013, 04:36 AM   #1
neddy191

Friends: (0)
Default help with power system for 25% Cub

I'm building a 1/4 scale full wing (104") cub from a Sig kit. I was initially going to use a gas engine but I've now decided to go electric instead. I'm new to electric and need some help figuring out what motor, esc, battery size I'll need.

I figure the plane will weight 15-16lbs once complete.

Any help or recommendations are appreciated.
Old 04-09-2013, 04:54 AM   #2
BBCorvette18

you're looking at 6-10s lipo and a big low kv motor. hobbyking has some good choices for motors I was looking at one of the ntm motors but after pricing everything out im thinking gas will be the better deal
Old 04-09-2013, 05:10 AM   #3
neddy191

I know that price will be more than gas. I already have a gas engine that I was going to put in it - I'm going to eventually sell it to fund going electric. This build has been stalled for 4 months and probably won't ever get done if I go gas. Getting the gas tank and throttle servo installed in the nose has been a PITA and if I were to get it all installed if something happened I'd end up having to rip off the covering and open the nose. I've already got a good charging set-up from some heli's I fly so I can parallel charge big 6s batteries without problems so I think electric will be way less headache.