Wattflyer RC Network: RC Universe :: RCU Magazine :: RCU Forums :: RCU Classifieds :: RCU User Reviews :: RCU YouTube
Home Who's Online Calendar Today's Posts RealTime Post Spy Mark Forums Read
Go Back   WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight > Vendor Discussions > Company Discussions
Register Members List Wattflyer Extras Articles Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Social Groups

Company Discussions Discuss your company experiences here.

Thank you for your support (hide ads)

Old 04-13-2013, 11:17 PM   #1
kyleservicetech
Dennis V

Club: www.racinercclub.com (I'm the newsletter editor)
Awards Showcase

Outstanding Contributor Award  3kW  2kW  100mph Speed Demon 
Friends: (20)
Default Motocalc Update from 8.07 to 8.08

I've been using motocalc now for many years. And, today, I did the free update of my copy from 8.07 to 8.08 by what should have been a simple update.

And update it did. Including WIPING OUT ALL OF MY 50 PLUS PROJECTS

Can't find them anywhere. There is absolutely no warning or documentation of this issue anywhere on the motocalc web page, the motocalc update screen, or in the on-line motocalc.pdf instruction document.

I lost a lot of valuable information from many club members models that were documented.

I've got many other programs that I've done updates on, and none of them delete any existing files or projects.

An email has been sent to www.motocalc.com on this, but I don't have much hope for ever getting these files back.

DennyV
Retired and the days are just too short, busier than ever!
Old 04-14-2013, 12:27 AM   #2
stefanv
MotoCalc Developer

Friends: (0)
Default They're probably not gone

They're probably not gone. MotoCalc 8.08 stores these in the folder C:\Users\YourUserName\Application Data\MotoCalc 8, whereas older versions stored them in C:\Program Files\MotoCalc8, which Windows Vista and newer mapped to C:\Users\YourUserName\AppData\Local\VirtualStore\Program Files\MotoCalc 8 behind your (and my) back.