Wattflyer RC Network: RC Universe :: RCU Magazine :: RCU Forums :: RCU Classifieds :: RCU User Reviews :: RCU YouTube
Home Who's Online Calendar Today's Posts RealTime Post Spy Mark Forums Read
Go Back   WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight > R/C Electric Topics - General > RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros
Register Members List Wattflyer Extras Articles Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Social Groups

RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Thank you for your support (hide ads)
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-25-2013, 11:37 PM   #1
dgjessing
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Columbus, OH USA
Posts: 540
Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
Club: Westerville Model Aeronautics Assoc.
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (0)
Default Orange RX / DX5e weirdness

Until recently I've been using only the "park" (cheapest) versions of the HobbyKing orange DSM2 receivers. They have worked great for the most part - no real complaints. Last week I got a couple of the more expensive "full range" versions. I installed them and they have been working great in two different planes. Just now, however, I was installing a new ESC in one of the older planes with the "park" receiver. I couldn't get the motor to work, and even stranger, the other controls were all 'd up. The throttle stick moved the ailerons, rudder control moved channel 5, aileron control moved the elevator, and elevator stick moved the rudder . I tried the DX5e transmitter on another of the older "park" receiver planes - same issues. I re-bound the transmitter to one of the "park" receivers, and all was well. Worked on a couple of them. Then I tried it on one of the new "full range" jobs (both of them), and it didn't work. I re-bound it to the new plane and it worked fine again, but the old "park" jobs were screwed up again.

What's the deal here? Do I have a faulty transmitter, or is it an issue with different classes of receivers?

Dave
AMA #56519
dgjessing is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2013, 12:18 AM   #2
CNY_Dave
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: near Cortland NY
Posts: 774
Thanked 36 Times in 35 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (1)
Default

I have used a DX5e with the orange 6 channel full-range rx with satellite, the 610 I think it is.

Never had any weirdness. Maybe they put the sticker telling what ch went to what plug on the wrong side of the case?

Ask me why your DX5e is doomed... and how to fix it.
CNY_Dave is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2013, 01:19 AM   #3
kyleservicetech
Dennis V
 
kyleservicetech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 8,053
Thanked 698 Times in 680 Posts
Club: www.racinercclub.com (I'm the newsletter editor)
Awards Showcase

Outstanding Contributor Award  3kW  2kW  100mph Speed Demon 
iTrader: (1)
Friends: (20)
Default

Originally Posted by dgjessing View Post
Until recently I've been using only the "park" (cheapest) versions of the HobbyKing orange DSM2 receivers.

What's the deal here? Do I have a faulty transmitter, or is it an issue with different classes of receivers?

Don't know what the Orange receivers cost, but take a look at this Spektrum receiver. Our local hobby shop sells them for $25 plus tax.

Bunch of guys in my club are using them in their 100 MPH foamies, they've been absolutely trouble free:

http://spektrumrc.com/Products/Defau...rodID=SPMAR400

DennyV
Retired and the days are just too short, busier than ever!
kyleservicetech is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2013, 01:35 PM   #4
dgjessing
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Columbus, OH USA
Posts: 540
Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
Club: Westerville Model Aeronautics Assoc.
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (0)
Default

I just used this as an excuse to get a better transmitter . Bought a used DX7 from some guy on RC Groups.com. I'll dedicate it to the full range models, the DX5 to the park flyers!

Dave
AMA #56519
dgjessing is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2013, 02:52 PM   #5
CNY_Dave
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: near Cortland NY
Posts: 774
Thanked 36 Times in 35 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (1)
Default

The DX5e has plenty of range, so keep a wary eye on things.

Ask me why your DX5e is doomed... and how to fix it.
CNY_Dave is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2013, 09:31 PM   #6
dgjessing
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Columbus, OH USA
Posts: 540
Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
Club: Westerville Model Aeronautics Assoc.
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (0)
Default

I recently got a new (used) DX7, which has solved the whole problem with it's "model memory" stuff .

Dave
AMA #56519
dgjessing is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2013, 01:55 AM   #7
kyleservicetech
Dennis V
 
kyleservicetech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 8,053
Thanked 698 Times in 680 Posts
Club: www.racinercclub.com (I'm the newsletter editor)
Awards Showcase

Outstanding Contributor Award  3kW  2kW  100mph Speed Demon 
iTrader: (1)
Friends: (20)
Default

Originally Posted by dgjessing View Post
I just used this as an excuse to get a better transmitter . Bought a used DX7 from some guy on RC Groups.com. I'll dedicate it to the full range models, the DX5 to the park flyers!
Just found this in another wattflyer thread. A genuine 6 channel Spektrum back yard type receiver for $20!

http://www.horizonhobby.com/products...-SPMAR6115E#t1

DennyV
Retired and the days are just too short, busier than ever!
kyleservicetech is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2014, 09:58 PM   #8
propnut48
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: So , Cal
Posts: 144
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
Club: Never joined one as of yet
Send a message via Skype™ to propnut48
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (2)
Default

I have several friends with Spectrum TX's and all have had 1 problem or another. all have had a channel go out, IE: el,al,trl , etc. One the TX module went completely so it had no out put at all. Have one friend that has the Orange RX and has had no issues at all. He likes it because it will handle almost any type of battery to power it and has a switchable output range, EU/US. It also has extra buttons if you don't want to use the scroll wheel. And it is CHEAPER , $64 for a 10 mdl memory 6 ch. May have to try one.
propnut48 is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2014, 10:05 PM   #9
pmullen503
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 850
Thanked 71 Times in 70 Posts
Awards Showcase

Scratchbuilders Award 
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (3)
Default

Is the DX5e a DSMX capable TX?

It's never too late to have a happy childhood.
pmullen503 is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2014, 10:11 PM   #10
Turner
Super Contributor
 
Turner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 1,375
Thanked 130 Times in 128 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Friends: (3)
Default

Originally Posted by pmullen503 View Post
Is the DX5e a DSMX capable TX?
If it has DSMX on the front panel it is. These versions have been out for a year or two.
Turner is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2014, 11:53 PM   #11
pmullen503
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 850
Thanked 71 Times in 70 Posts
Awards Showcase

Scratchbuilders Award 
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (3)
Default

If it's DSMX capable and you run both DSM2 and DSMX receivers the module "remembers" the type of receiver last bound in starts up in that mode. That's probably what's going on. With genuine Spektrum receivers it doesn't seem to be a problem.

It's never too late to have a happy childhood.
pmullen503 is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2014, 01:15 AM   #12
GunnyJeeves
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 145
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (1)
Default

I think genuine spektrum fail back to dsm2 anyway so they bind the same...
GunnyJeeves is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2014, 01:53 AM   #13
kyleservicetech
Dennis V
 
kyleservicetech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 8,053
Thanked 698 Times in 680 Posts
Club: www.racinercclub.com (I'm the newsletter editor)
Awards Showcase

Outstanding Contributor Award  3kW  2kW  100mph Speed Demon 
iTrader: (1)
Friends: (20)
Default

Originally Posted by propnut48 View Post
I have several friends with Spectrum TX's and all have had 1 problem or another. all have had a channel go out, IE: el,al,trl , etc. One the TX module went completely so it had no out put at all. Have one friend that has the Orange RX and has had no issues at all. He likes it because it will handle almost any type of battery to power it and has a switchable output range, EU/US. It also has extra buttons if you don't want to use the scroll wheel. And it is CHEAPER , $64 for a 10 mdl memory 6 ch. May have to try one.
That's a little strange.

Our club has 50-60 Spektrum radio systems in its membership, and only one had problems with their transmitters, or receivers either for that matter. They do use solid receiver power supplies, IE no 4 cell "AA" sized Nih battery packs are used in the receiver/servo batteries.

That one person had a Spektrum DX7 that would occasionally loose its bind before flight. Never lost an airplane. He sent it to Horizon, Horizon couldn't verify it. So Horizon returned a brand new, DX7 transmitter, completely no charge. They even paid return shipping. BTW, it was out of warranty.

DennyV
Retired and the days are just too short, busier than ever!
kyleservicetech is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Reply

  WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight > R/C Electric Topics - General > RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question on orange receiver # R710 RTA RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros 3 05-07-2013 08:43 PM
For Sale HK Orange RX 3 axis airplane gyro $20 Shipped newjak Radio Equipment For Sale & WTB 4 04-02-2013 09:27 PM
Hyperion Titan ESC and Rx battery vonveska Power Systems 4 06-02-2012 07:38 AM
quanum telemetry and orange rx cc83 General Electric Discussions 2 03-05-2012 03:44 AM
Tx & Rx general info please? Red Baron RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros 2 01-07-2011 09:59 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:33 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2005 WattfFlyer.com
RCU Eflight HQ

Charities we support Select: Yorkie Rescue  ::  Crohn's & Colitis Foundation



Page generated in 0.21861 seconds with 43 queries