Wattflyer RC Network: RC Universe :: RCU Magazine :: RCU Forums :: RCU Classifieds :: RCU User Reviews :: RCU YouTube
Home Who's Online Calendar Today's Posts RealTime Post Spy Mark Forums Read
Go Back   WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight > Electric R/C Airplanes > Beginners
Register Members List Wattflyer Extras Articles Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Social Groups

Beginners New to e-power flying? Get the low down in here from experienced e-power RC pilots!

Thank you for your support (hide ads)
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-21-2013, 04:32 PM   #1
npowell28
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 100
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (0)
Default Air compressor for Air Brush

Sorry but it didn't know where else to put this. I've just bought an air compressor from my local Sainsbury Garage in the UK. I bought it to blow up some camp beds but the connector is wrong. I was just wondering before i take it back if i could use it on an air brush. I've seen some starter air brush kits with a can of compressed air which power it. Just wondering if i could buy one of these and power it off the compressor.

The compressor i bought is a DC 12v 250 psi compressor. A few more details which don't mean anything to me but might to someone else

60 Watt (i'm fine with this bit)
4.5 L/min (presume this means litres per minute)
15000 min-1 (not a clue)
8 amp (i know what these are)

Its got a rubber hose which is covered with nylon and terminates with the sort of adapter you would blow your car tyres up with. The power lead is the type you put to a car cigar lighter. No problem there, i've got an old 12v DC adapter which i could solder on. Let me know your thoughts before i take it back to the shop.

Cheers Neil
npowell28 is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2013, 04:44 PM   #2
BroncoSquid
Workin on it...
 
BroncoSquid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: San Diego
Posts: 343
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
Club: Bill G fan club!
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (4)
Default

I too am new to the airbrush world. You would need some type of air regulator on the compressor.
Here is where I go for all my airbrush info.
http://www.theairbrushforum.com/index.php

I'm either going to get good at flying em, or get good at fixin em!
BroncoSquid is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2013, 05:02 PM   #3
npowell28
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 100
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (0)
Default

cheers dude! I've posted on there too.
npowell28 is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 01:17 AM   #4
CHELLIE
Super Contributor
 
CHELLIE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Hesperia, So. Calif
Posts: 18,732
View CHELLIE's Gallery13
Thanked 2,190 Times in 2,096 Posts
Club: Chino Renegades RC Flying Club
Awards Showcase

Scratchbuilders Award  Scratchbuilders Award  Ambassador Award  100mph Speed Demon 
iTrader: (4)
Friends: (317)
Default

Originally Posted by npowell28 View Post
Sorry but it didn't know where else to put this. I've just bought an air compressor from my local Sainsbury Garage in the UK. I bought it to blow up some camp beds but the connector is wrong. I was just wondering before i take it back if i could use it on an air brush. I've seen some starter air brush kits with a can of compressed air which power it. Just wondering if i could buy one of these and power it off the compressor.

The compressor i bought is a DC 12v 250 psi compressor. A few more details which don't mean anything to me but might to someone else

60 Watt (i'm fine with this bit)
4.5 L/min (presume this means litres per minute)
15000 min-1 (not a clue)
8 amp (i know what these are)

Its got a rubber hose which is covered with nylon and terminates with the sort of adapter you would blow your car tyres up with. The power lead is the type you put to a car cigar lighter. No problem there, i've got an old 12v DC adapter which i could solder on. Let me know your thoughts before i take it back to the shop.

Cheers Neil
Hi thats not a good air comp for air brushes, not enough air volume, too high of a working pressure and no air regulator. Take it back

you need something like this.
http://www.ebay.com/itm/New-Pro-Air-...item565a086983

I may be getting Older, But I Refuse to grow Up I am Having to much Fun to Grow Up LOL
CHELLIE is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 01:50 AM   #5
fhhuber
Super Contributor
 
fhhuber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 2,316
Thanked 232 Times in 223 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (1)
Default

You could use the cheap 12v compressor if you use a large volume to store up pressure and a regulator.
Cost will meet or exceed the cost of a proper regulated compressor intended for air brushes.

Not sure where to recommend in the UK..

Harbor Freight has some decent low cost air brush compressors available here in the US.
fhhuber is online now  
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 02:42 AM   #6
DHC Beaver
Member
 
DHC Beaver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: new zealand
Posts: 229
Thanked 18 Times in 18 Posts
Awards Showcase

Scratchbuilders Award 
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (1)
Default

With compressors for home use,it's still a case of "bigger is better".You'd want an absolute minimum of 7litres per minute.If you're needing it for automotive use,minimum 10 lpm.The standard outlet fitting for compressors is 1/4",but many adapters are available.These days,a simple regulator is usually fitted as standard.
You also need a water trap,and personally,i like the quick disconnect fittings.For my Paasche airbrush,I use a plastic spiral hose.Nice and light.
DHC Beaver is online now  
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 10:49 AM   #7
solentlife
Super Contributor
 
solentlife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Ex UK Brit now in Latvia west coast - Ventspils
Posts: 6,419
View solentlife's Gallery47
Thanked 277 Times in 274 Posts
Club: Founder Member Ventspils RC Club. Ex Waltham Chase and Meon Valley Soaring.
Awards Showcase

Scratchbuilders Award  Scratchbuilders Award  Outstanding Contributor Award  125mph Speed Demon 
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (15)
Default

Forget it ... as another says - the flow volume is far too low.

Only way to use it ... you would need to have a car tyre or similar as pressure reservoir to power the air-brush ... with the compressor trying to top-it up ... but believe me - it's just not worth the trouble.

Put the compressor in back of car and keep for the car use.

In UK - Screwfix online and other dealers have hobby air compressors designed for the job.

Nigel

222kph PKJ,EDF Concorde, Mini4,Mig3,T45,PKJ twin,ME109,Edge540,Cessna182,Skymaster Biplane,F15,F16,Badius,Ultimate,SE5,Qbee10,450 Heli,V911,J3 Cub Founder 9x forum: http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Flysky_RC_radio/
- Subscribe my Youtube: "solentlifeuk"
solentlife is online now  
  Reply With Quote
Reply

  WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight > Electric R/C Airplanes > Beginners

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Air flow spinners.. foodstick General Electric Discussions 3 01-17-2012 12:11 AM
Mountain Models P51 air scoop help needed sgschwartz Scratch and Kit Built Aircraft 2 01-14-2012 04:49 AM
Flitetest join the downwind turn debate! JetPlaneFlyer Aerodynamics 58 12-26-2011 11:53 PM
For Sale Sterling, Green Air designs, Flying Styro, Hyperion Skypoet Airplanes - Electric For Sale & WTB 1 07-19-2011 05:25 AM
Nona air wheels? eye4wings Scale E-Powered Aircraft 22 06-04-2011 07:31 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:37 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2005 WattfFlyer.com
RCU Eflight HQ

Charities we support Select: Yorkie Rescue  ::  Crohn's & Colitis Foundation



Page generated in 0.16832 seconds with 31 queries