Wattflyer RC Network: RC Universe :: RCU Magazine :: RCU Forums :: RCU Classifieds :: RCU User Reviews :: RCU YouTube
Home Who's Online Calendar Today's Posts RealTime Post Spy Mark Forums Read
Go Back   WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight > Electric R/C Airplanes > Beginners
Register Members List Wattflyer Extras Articles Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Social Groups

Beginners New to e-power flying? Get the low down in here from experienced e-power RC pilots!

Thank you for your support (hide ads)

Old 08-30-2013, 06:47 PM   #1
Old 'N Slow

Friends: (0)
Default Motor/prop adapter question.

I am a firm believer in silly questions, and this may very well be one of them...

I have no experience with small electric motors for airplanes. I've used the larger ones, and found them quite straight-forward.

I recently purchased a Park 250 from HK. It came with a prop adapter and motor mount. This one here: http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...dProduct=19031

My question is this - what's the best/most logical/least damaging way to reverse the shaft, so I can use the prop adapter and motor mount?

The adapter quite obviously mounts onto the long shaft... but the long part is sticking out the back end of the motor, and I can't for the life of me figure out how to remove the shaft and reverse it. Or if this is even necessary.

I've tried removing the set screws on the bell end, and the small circlip at the bearing end. The shaft refuses to budge. I'm afraid to apply too much pressure...

Any other outrunners I have, the long part of the shaft sticks out the front... and the motor mount fits to the back.

I look forward to your responses!
Old 08-30-2013, 09:16 PM   #2
fhhuber
Super Contributor

Friends: (1)

You don't "reverse" the shaft normally... you mount the motor reversed, with the shaft coming through a hole drilled in a "firewall" mounted further forward in the aircraft.