Wattflyer RC Network: RC Universe :: RCU Magazine :: RCU Forums :: RCU Classifieds :: RCU User Reviews :: RCU YouTube
Home Who's Online Calendar Today's Posts RealTime Post Spy Mark Forums Read
Go Back   WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight > Electric R/C Airplanes > General Electric Discussions
Register Members List Wattflyer Extras Articles Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Social Groups

General Electric Discussions Talk about topics related to e-powered RC flying

Thank you for your support (hide ads)
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-02-2013, 12:24 AM   #1
mclarkson
Super Contributor
 
mclarkson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Wichita, KS
Posts: 2,947
View mclarkson's Gallery4
Thanked 178 Times in 176 Posts
Awards Showcase

Scratchbuilders Award  Outstanding Contributor Award 
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (7)
Default Best use of 6-channel RX w/Flaps + Ailerons

I have almost no experience with planes with flaps, but my current build will have them.

I usually use the FLAPERON setup on my DX7, with dual ailerons which has me plugging one aileron into the AIL port, and one into the AUX/FLAP port.

This clearly won't work with actual flaps, but I like easy way it handles dual aileron servos.

I'm gonna have to stick some 'Y' connectors in there somewhere I fear.

I just thought I'd ask if there were any tips or recommendations from more experienced fliers.


mclarkson is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2013, 12:32 AM   #2
rcers
Community Moderator
 
rcers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Trophy Club TX
Posts: 6,199
View rcers's Gallery57
Thanked 502 Times in 492 Posts
Awards Showcase

WAA-08 Pilot 
iTrader: (4)
Friends: (9)
Default

Well you are are asking to do flaps and flaps. So you need to just do dual ailerons and separate flaps - NOT flaperons. Simple as that....

My DX7 skills are rusty but if nothing else it will support that you can setup a PMix that will do it. Still pretty easy!
rcers is online now  
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2013, 02:11 AM   #3
dangaras
Electric Flyer
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 21
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (0)
Default

You use a y cable for the ailerons and for the flaps a y-cable into the Aux1 port of the receiver.

You have to make sure the flap servos are facing the same direction and that the control arms are on the same side or the flaps will act like ailerons.

Then you need to set the flap settings in the model setup. Download the dx7 manual for details.
dangaras is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2013, 04:47 AM   #4
Turner
Super Contributor
 
Turner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 1,375
Thanked 130 Times in 128 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Friends: (3)
Default

Have a look at my DX7 programs: http://www.wattflyer.com/forums/showthread.php?t=72022

There are five programs, all for flaps in my RGC blog. These programs are all for 7 channel Rx's. You can probably use some or all of them in some form but you'll need to put the flaps on a Y extension and you will only have two position flaps. If you forgo flaperons/spoilerons you can have 3 position flaps.

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/member.php?u=282750
Turner is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2013, 04:17 AM   #5
mclarkson
Super Contributor
 
mclarkson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Wichita, KS
Posts: 2,947
View mclarkson's Gallery4
Thanked 178 Times in 176 Posts
Awards Showcase

Scratchbuilders Award  Outstanding Contributor Award 
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (7)
Default

Thanks. I didn't want to get it all hooked up and then have somebody say, "What you should have done is put the flaps on your GEAR channel and then ..."

mclarkson is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2013, 12:41 AM   #6
mclarkson
Super Contributor
 
mclarkson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Wichita, KS
Posts: 2,947
View mclarkson's Gallery4
Thanked 178 Times in 176 Posts
Awards Showcase

Scratchbuilders Award  Outstanding Contributor Award 
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (7)
Default

You know, the more I think about my last post, the better it sounds. Except I'm gonna put one of the ailerons on the GEAR channel, and leave the flaps on the FLAP/AUX1 channel. That way, I minimize my 'Y' connections, and still get separate trim/etc. on the ailerons.

AIL->GEAR : +100% / +100%

I'm also setting my GEAR travel to 0%, JIC.

mclarkson is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2013, 02:25 AM   #7
fhhuber
Super Contributor
 
fhhuber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 2,172
Thanked 216 Times in 207 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (1)
Default

Seveeral approaches depending on how you want to use flaps and ailerons...

You can continue with the "flaperon" setup of one channel per aileron and plug flaps into any other switched or dial operated channel.
This may or may not limit the flaps to being 2 position. Depending on the plane this could be just fine.

You can mix the flaperon fucntion to the flaps and the flaps function back to the ailerons for more effects. Some planes I like to have ailerons come up 2 to 5 deg as flaps come down. it can make a plane that likes to violently tip stall n approach very docile.

The wonderful power of modern computer radios. Play with it. Test your experimental configurations with plenty of altitude and be ready to flip switches to put the plane back to a known safe setup.
fhhuber is online now  
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2013, 03:03 AM   #8
xmech2k
Ya got any Beeman's?
 
xmech2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 2,699
View xmech2k's Gallery21
Thanked 254 Times in 252 Posts
Club: CVMRCC, SEFSD
Awards Showcase

Scratchbuilders Award  1kW  Outstanding Contributor Award 
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (7)
Default

Originally Posted by mclarkson View Post
You know, the more I think about my last post, the better it sounds. Except I'm gonna put one of the ailerons on the GEAR channel, and leave the flaps on the FLAP/AUX1 channel. That way, I minimize my 'Y' connections, and still get separate trim/etc. on the ailerons.

AIL->GEAR : +100% / +100%

I'm also setting my GEAR travel to 0%, JIC.
Not sure about your Dx7, but on my Dx8, if I wanted to do this I would have to disable my gear switch, or wierd things would happen. So if wierd things start happening when you try this, you may try that.
xmech2k is online now  
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2013, 03:36 AM   #9
Turner
Super Contributor
 
Turner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 1,375
Thanked 130 Times in 128 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Friends: (3)
Default

Originally Posted by mclarkson View Post
You know, the more I think about my last post, the better it sounds. Except I'm gonna put one of the ailerons on the GEAR channel, and leave the flaps on the FLAP/AUX1 channel. That way, I minimize my 'Y' connections, and still get separate trim/etc. on the ailerons.

AIL->GEAR : +100% / +100%

I'm also setting my GEAR travel to 0%, JIC.
You have to put this mix in P-Mix 5 or P-Mix 6 to have the aileron trim follow to the slave.

And as xmech2k said disable the gear switch. Do this with another P-Mix.

Gear > Gear: -100% / -100%
Turner is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2013, 03:37 AM   #10
fhhuber
Super Contributor
 
fhhuber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 2,172
Thanked 216 Times in 207 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (1)
Default

Hard to say what to expect... Spektrum does not use the same programming priorities with their different level radios. What works with the DX8 may easily not work with the DX7.

I've gone through so many different programming systems that its hard to keep track of what works on which radio.
fhhuber is online now  
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2013, 10:19 AM   #11
mclarkson
Super Contributor
 
mclarkson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Wichita, KS
Posts: 2,947
View mclarkson's Gallery4
Thanked 178 Times in 176 Posts
Awards Showcase

Scratchbuilders Award  Outstanding Contributor Award 
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (7)
Default

It seems to be working...
Originally Posted by Turner View Post
And as xmech2k said disable the gear switch. Do this with another P-Mix.

Gear > Gear: -100% / -100%
I set the travel to 0%. That seems to work too.

mclarkson is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Reply

  WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight > Electric R/C Airplanes > General Electric Discussions

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Helping People Learn to Fly AEAJR General Electric Discussions 181 06-23-2014 07:18 AM
What does the 4th channel on a 4 channel add? jmr1068204 Beginners - Helis 6 11-12-2012 03:05 PM
Choosing a Sailplane Radio - What to Consider AEAJR Hi-Performance and Sailplanes 3 04-09-2012 12:57 PM
For Sale R600 6 channel rx cpmalish Radio Equipment For Sale & WTB 4 03-11-2011 02:29 PM
For Sale Rx crystals-Berg-Gws-Hitec $4 each gone2fly2 Radio Equipment For Sale & WTB 0 01-14-2011 04:30 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:56 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2005 WattfFlyer.com
RCU Eflight HQ

Charities we support Select: Yorkie Rescue  ::  Crohn's & Colitis Foundation



Page generated in 0.21052 seconds with 39 queries