Wattflyer RC Network: RC Universe :: RCU Magazine :: RCU Forums :: RCU Classifieds :: RCU User Reviews :: RCU YouTube
Home Who's Online Calendar Today's Posts RealTime Post Spy Mark Forums Read
Go Back   WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight > Electric R/C Airplanes > UAV / FPV
Register Members List Wattflyer Extras Articles Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Social Groups

UAV / FPV Forum to talk about UAV / FPV electric R/C flight.

Thank you for your support (hide ads)

Old 11-06-2013, 07:02 PM   #1
cmccully

Friends: (0)
Default Longe range High altitude Rocket boosted UAV

Hey all I'm A sixteen year old innovator and I have been studying RC jets and such for about four yrs. I also have ben studying rocket propulsion for the past month or two. I was wondering if any of you guys had heard of anyone ever sending a UAV above 30,000'? I was wanting to do this by getting a large jet with very efficent wing structure up too about 10,000' and then boost it higher via rocket propulsion.Any Ideas?
Old 11-06-2013, 07:33 PM   #2
Larry3215
Look out for that tree!!!

View Larry3215's Gallery63
Club: Kitsap ARCS & E-FLAPS
Awards Showcase

90 Minute Thermal Duration  60 Minute Thermal Duration  30 Minute Thermal Duration  4kW 
Friends: (21)

Are your parents rich? Thats not going to be inexpensive to do. Plus they will need to be able to afford a lawyer to handle your criminal case.

What you're proposing is currently illegal.

You are required by the current law to follow the AMA safety rules when flying in US airspace. One of those rules is that you have to be able to see the model at all times. You wont be able to see it at 10000 feet and certainly not if its above 30,000. You also have to see and avoid full scale aircraft - which you wont be able to do if your model is above 10,000 ft.