Wattflyer RC Network: RC Universe :: RCU Magazine :: RCU Forums :: RCU Classifieds :: RCU User Reviews :: RCU YouTube
Home Who's Online Calendar Today's Posts RealTime Post Spy Mark Forums Read
Go Back   WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight > Electric R/C Airplanes > General Electric Discussions
Register Members List Wattflyer Extras Articles Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Social Groups

General Electric Discussions Talk about topics related to e-powered RC flying

Thank you for your support (hide ads)
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-12-2013, 10:29 PM   #1
Karnsy
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Maine
Posts: 112
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (0)
Default Spektrum DX6i Throttle Cut Switch

Did not see this thread for planes. Has anyone swapped the throttle cut button for a switch on the dx6i ? Any issues ? I think I will do it when the warrantee runs out.
Karnsy is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2013, 01:44 AM   #2
xmech2k
Ya got any Beeman's?
 
xmech2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 2,701
View xmech2k's Gallery21
Thanked 254 Times in 252 Posts
Club: CVMRCC, SEFSD
Awards Showcase

Scratchbuilders Award  1kW  Outstanding Contributor Award 
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (7)
Default

Interesting idea. Never thought of it, but now i'm on the 8, and the 6i is relegated to sim and trainee duties.

Also, I thought the warranty never runs out on Spektrums!
xmech2k is online now  
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2013, 04:27 AM   #3
cc83
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 53
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (0)
Default

Originally Posted by Karnsy View Post
Did not see this thread for planes. Has anyone swapped the throttle cut button for a switch on the dx6i ? Any issues ? I think I will do it when the warrantee runs out.
I've done it. It works very well. I handed the radio down to my dad or I'd post photos but it's pretty simple.
cc83 is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2013, 05:31 AM   #4
kyleservicetech
Dennis V
 
kyleservicetech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 8,069
Thanked 698 Times in 680 Posts
Club: www.racinercclub.com (I'm the newsletter editor)
Awards Showcase

Outstanding Contributor Award  3kW  2kW  100mph Speed Demon 
iTrader: (1)
Friends: (20)
Default

Originally Posted by Karnsy View Post
Did not see this thread for planes. Has anyone swapped the throttle cut button for a switch on the dx6i ? Any issues ? I think I will do it when the warrantee runs out.
Not familiar with the DX6i and its throttle cut switch.

As for me, I've programmed the gear switch as a throttle cut function on my DX8, and did the same with my DX7. It's a lot more work with the DX7.

With the larger models, that throttle cut switch is almost a requirement for safety's sake.

DennyV
Retired and the days are just too short, busier than ever!
kyleservicetech is online now  
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2014, 07:55 PM   #5
Freeair
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: MINNEPOLIS,MINNESOTA
Posts: 9
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (0)
Default

Anyone have a link to install on the throttle cut switch on the dx6i ?
Freeair is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2014, 09:19 PM   #6
Karnsy
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Maine
Posts: 112
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (0)
Default Try This

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CVcZLKTm6UI
Karnsy is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2014, 09:39 PM   #7
Freeair
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: MINNEPOLIS,MINNESOTA
Posts: 9
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (0)
Default

Karnsy
Thanks
Freeair is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2014, 01:45 AM   #8
c.sitas
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 28
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (0)
Default

I don't have a spectrum, I have a flysky. All I had to do was tell my throttle which switch I used and away we go . I really like this feature because it's like walking around with the safety on for a gun . I also use it If I know for sure I'm coming DOWN. I'll flip it off at the last second. It saves motors that way.
c.sitas is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2014, 04:57 PM   #9
pizzano
Behold The Renaissance
 
pizzano's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: So. Calif
Posts: 1,196
Thanked 76 Times in 74 Posts
Club: AMA, Marks, Pomona Valley, Prado Dam
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (3)
Default

Originally Posted by c.sitas View Post
I don't have a spectrum, I have a flysky. All I had to do was tell my throttle which switch I used and away we go . I really like this feature because it's like walking around with the safety on for a gun . I also use it If I know for sure I'm coming DOWN. I'll flip it off at the last second. It saves motors that way.
That's nice, but Spektrum's throttle comprehension works a little different and it's not advisable to walk around with a gun in hand (most states here in the U.S.), safety engaged or otherwise.........

AMA 928214
pizzano is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2014, 02:35 AM   #10
kyleservicetech
Dennis V
 
kyleservicetech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 8,069
Thanked 698 Times in 680 Posts
Club: www.racinercclub.com (I'm the newsletter editor)
Awards Showcase

Outstanding Contributor Award  3kW  2kW  100mph Speed Demon 
iTrader: (1)
Friends: (20)
Default

Originally Posted by pizzano View Post
That's nice, but Spektrum's throttle comprehension works a little different and it's not advisable to walk around with a gun in hand (most states here in the U.S.), safety engaged or otherwise.........
I'm using the throttle cut off function on my Spekie DX8. But, the battery is plugged in right at the steel fence for the pit area inside in the flight line. Then the DX8 switch is flipped to power up the ESC and Hacker A60 motor when it is time to take off. An accidental start up of a 3000 watt motor with its 19X12 prop would not be good.

DennyV
Retired and the days are just too short, busier than ever!
kyleservicetech is online now  
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2014, 04:50 PM   #11
Abuelo
Member
 
Abuelo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Arizona desert
Posts: 124
Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
Club: Open flying at the Chandler Bowl
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (1)
Default

Originally Posted by Karnsy View Post
Made the mod last night, photos attached.

No issues, 15 minutes, and exactly as the video spelled out. The blade toggle switch came from Radio Shack, #275 0634 and under $4, and matches the existing switches. Uses a hex nut instead of the round stock ones, but the visual difference is minimal.

Thanks for doing the research, credit given, and posting the how-to.


Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Toggle Switch.JPG
Views:	16
Size:	141.9 KB
ID:	177898   Click image for larger version

Name:	Toggle Switch Throttle Cut.JPG
Views:	22
Size:	262.0 KB
ID:	177899  

"Treason doth never prosper. What's the reason? For if it prosper, none dare call it 'treason.' -- Sir John Harrington
Abuelo is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2014, 05:36 PM   #12
raming
Ramin G
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Austin
Posts: 18
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Club: HCAM Austin
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (0)
Default Potential Glitch with Throttle Cut Switch Mod on DX6i

There are several people including me that have found that the Throttle Subtrim on some models need to be adjusted after the Switch Modification. It appears to be a function of the ESC (Speed Control) Setup. For example, on my ElectroStik, the motor runs at Throttle idle and I changed the throttle sub trim to -63 to move the trottle idle down. In addition, the Great Planes 45A Brushless ESC has a 'Throttle Cycle Arming' feature that will only be enabled by cycling both the throttle stick and the Throttle Cut Switch.
This switch modification worked without throttle idle sub trim adjustments on my Parkzone T28 (with HobbyKing ESC), my Eflite AS3X P51, and my 1/5th Scale J-3 Cub (using HobbyKing Blue Series 60A ESC)

Trust, but Verify!
raming is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2014, 06:23 PM   #13
xmech2k
Ya got any Beeman's?
 
xmech2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 2,701
View xmech2k's Gallery21
Thanked 254 Times in 252 Posts
Club: CVMRCC, SEFSD
Awards Showcase

Scratchbuilders Award  1kW  Outstanding Contributor Award 
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (7)
Default

Good job on the upgrade, Abuelo. Thanks for sharing it.

Probably what you're mentioning, raming, is similar to what you have to deal with on the throttle cut for the Dx7s, 8, and the new series Dx6, 9, and 18. Watch the monitor screen. By default, throttle stick idle is -100%. With the new tx's, throttle cut default is -130%. Some ESC's will 're-learn' that -130% as it's idle position, so when you turn off the throttle cut, the throttle signal goes to -100% and suddenly your motor is running even though your throttle stick is at idle. I sold my 6i and I don't remember if you can adjust the throttle cut servo setting in it, but perhaps you may want to look into it and set it to -100% if possible to avoid nasty surprises.
xmech2k is online now  
  Reply With Quote
Reply

  WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight > Electric R/C Airplanes > General Electric Discussions

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Safety First BaronBernie Beginners 31 04-05-2013 10:11 PM
RX Switch Question paxskipper Beginners 27 02-25-2012 10:21 AM
Turn on TX or RX first paxskipper General Electric Discussions 20 01-28-2012 10:29 PM
Modification of throttle cut switch DX6i cjg Micro Sized Electric Helicopters 0 01-09-2012 11:25 PM
One of those days.... wolfewinde General Electric Discussions 35 10-25-2011 12:02 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:50 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2005 WattfFlyer.com
RCU Eflight HQ

Charities we support Select: Yorkie Rescue  ::  Crohn's & Colitis Foundation



Page generated in 0.34453 seconds with 47 queries