Wattflyer RC Network: RC Universe :: RCU Magazine :: RCU Forums :: RCU Classifieds :: RCU User Reviews :: RCU YouTube
Home Who's Online Calendar Today's Posts RealTime Post Spy Mark Forums Read
Go Back   WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight > R/C Electric Power - Batteries, Chargers, ESCs and More > Batteries & Chargers
Register Members List Wattflyer Extras Articles Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Social Groups

Batteries & Chargers Discuss Li-P, Li-Ion, NiMh, Nicad battery technology and the chargers that juice 'em up!

Thank you for your support (hide ads)

Old 11-21-2013, 01:19 PM   #1
dontrinko

Friends: (0)
Default How do you charge/store your battery's?

I'm new at using lipo's. I have done a lot of reading and not sure how I want to charge/store my battery's.
I understand that storing fully charged shortens the life. (from what I read 20% loss at 20 degree c for one year storage)
If I don't keep them fully charged I will have to charge immediately before use. This is inconvenient; Many times I fly at half time of a ball game.
I also understand not to leave them discharged for long.
I have 70mah, 130mah,150mah, and 500 mah single cell battery's and 800 mah 2 cell battery's. I have several single port chargers; the ones that came with the helicopters ( .3 amp) a Celetra (.1 to .7 amp) and a 2 cell charger for the 800 mah battery's.
1. Can I use the celectra at .1 amp to charge the 70mah battery's?
2. What do you do? I'm thinking of leaving the small (cheap) battery's fully charged and replacing if/when they loose capacity and partially charging the 500 mah and 800 mah after use.
3. The chargers I have have a indication (flashing light) when the battery's are almost fully charged. What this be a good indicator of the proper charge level for storage? Thanks; Don
Old 11-21-2013, 02:41 PM   #2
hayofstacks
Super Contributor

Friends: (5)

I charge mine the night before I fly, or first thing in the morning.