Wattflyer RC Network: RC Universe :: RCU Magazine :: RCU Forums :: RCU Classifieds :: RCU User Reviews :: RCU YouTube
Home Who's Online Calendar Today's Posts RealTime Post Spy Mark Forums Read
Go Back   WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight > Electric R/C Airplanes > 3D Flying
Register Members List Wattflyer Extras Articles Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Social Groups

3D Flying Discuss everything related to "3D" flying including construction, power setups and flying techniques

Thank you for your support (hide ads)
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-26-2013, 03:19 PM   #1
DCDetector
Member
 
DCDetector's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 179
View DCDetector's Gallery25
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (1)
Default Parkzone VisionAire

So I'm really about to pull the trigger on a ParkZone VisionAire as a 3D first. I've watched a ton of videos and read many reviews and they all seem to be positive about the plane. I like the idea of BNF as well. I call it my 3D first when I actually got a UMX Sbach and Beast but I find them too small for me to attempt any more than rolls and loops. I've gotten pretty good with inverted and basic maneuvers with my Apprentice and T-28 but would like to try a bit more.

Good choice or not?
DCDetector is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2013, 04:02 PM   #2
dahawk
Super Contributor
 
dahawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Keller, TX
Posts: 3,357
View dahawk's Gallery6
Thanked 205 Times in 201 Posts
Club: 114th RC Aero Squadron
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (19)
Default

DC,

I don't have one but see a lot of them at our field. Have not heard any negative comments yet. In fact, it seems to make an advanced beginner or intermediate pilot look like an expert. WF Moderator RCers has one and flies it like he stole it.

It's got the gyro stabalizer. Heck, why not? Could go with one of the Twisted Hobbies EPP jobs that are indestructible. I bought the HK 540T for about $100 and have installed an Omega 130 BL and Hitec servo package that I had available. It will be my learning platform and I'll set it up with 3 sets of rates. Start off with just some sport flying, then try some rollers, tumbles blah then graduate to hovers, etc on high rates with big throws. It's balsa with foam covering.

Jetplaneflyer, Chellie and NJ Swede are my go-to's for this.

Let us know how you like it if you buy one.

-Hawk

Wounded Warrior Fun Fly - Aug 16th ,2014 - Grapevine TX - Info link: https://support.woundedwarriorprojec...ising/RCPilots
dahawk is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2013, 05:49 PM   #3
rcers
Community Moderator
 
rcers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Trophy Club TX
Posts: 6,162
View rcers's Gallery57
Thanked 501 Times in 491 Posts
Awards Showcase

WAA-08 Pilot 
iTrader: (4)
Friends: (9)
Default

It would be an AWESOME choice at your stage. . It is one of my all time fav's bar none....

Mike
rcers is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2013, 05:57 PM   #4
waytooslow
Crash'em if you got 'em!
 
waytooslow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: DFW
Posts: 306
Thanked 22 Times in 22 Posts
Club: 114th Grapevine
Awards Showcase

100mph Speed Demon 
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (2)
Default

I have one that has not even been flown. I have been waiting on a calm day to maiden. From all my research, it looks to be a great sport plane as well.

Too many hobbies, and not enough time!
waytooslow is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2013, 06:13 PM   #5
dahawk
Super Contributor
 
dahawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Keller, TX
Posts: 3,357
View dahawk's Gallery6
Thanked 205 Times in 201 Posts
Club: 114th RC Aero Squadron
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (19)
Default

Heck,

You don't need calm with that one do ya? Thought the 3 axis gyro took care of that. I watch the really good 3D pilots and they're like heli guys in a way. Wind doesn't seem to bother them. When 3DHS had their fly-low-in here, it was very windy. Much too windy for me to try anything. But here they hovered, ran KE's 2ft agl down the runway, etc.

Can't wait to see it !

Wounded Warrior Fun Fly - Aug 16th ,2014 - Grapevine TX - Info link: https://support.woundedwarriorprojec...ising/RCPilots
dahawk is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2013, 09:29 PM   #6
rcers
Community Moderator
 
rcers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Trophy Club TX
Posts: 6,162
View rcers's Gallery57
Thanked 501 Times in 491 Posts
Awards Showcase

WAA-08 Pilot 
iTrader: (4)
Friends: (9)
Default

Yep the Gyro pretty much turns off the wind. Plan on a dozen or so flights for trimming and adjusting. Remember you must mechanically work out the control adjustments from trim. You must end up with trims centered for all surfaces. If not you will feel some very strange flight characteristics.

It is not a big deal but takes 5-10 flights or so. That is best done with not much wind. Once you have it dialed in - the AS3X effectively turns off the wind.

Mike
rcers is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2013, 12:25 AM   #7
WyomingOutdoors
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cheyenne, WY
Posts: 43
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Club: Cheyenne Hill Hoppers
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (1)
Default No regrets

I've flown mine over 100+ flights since May. It is one of my most expensive planes and I haven't regretted the purchase once. Extremely fun plane. I've outfitted a Dynam Sbach w/ Fy30A gYro and could never match the performance of VisionAire. I like that I have a choice to land the VisionAire easily on grass or pavement. During 3D flying i turn gyro to aggressive, then for landing to a lower setting with a flip of a switch. You definetely get your $$$ worth from Horizon on this plane.
WyomingOutdoors is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2013, 01:13 AM   #8
kyleservicetech
Dennis V
 
kyleservicetech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 7,972
Thanked 690 Times in 672 Posts
Club: www.racinercclub.com (I'm the newsletter editor)
Awards Showcase

Outstanding Contributor Award  3kW  2kW  100mph Speed Demon 
iTrader: (1)
Friends: (20)
Default

Originally Posted by DCDetector View Post
So I'm really about to pull the trigger on a ParkZone VisionAire as a 3D first. I've watched a ton of videos and read many reviews and they all seem to be positive about the plane. I like the idea of BNF as well. I call it my 3D first when I actually got a UMX Sbach and Beast but I find them too small for me to attempt any more than rolls and loops. I've gotten pretty good with inverted and basic maneuvers with my Apprentice and T-28 but would like to try a bit more.

Good choice or not?
We've got one guy in our club that flys giant scale models. And, he has one of these VisionAires.

Guess which one he flies the most?

DennyV
Retired and the days are just too short, busier than ever!
kyleservicetech is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2013, 09:28 AM   #9
DCDetector
Member
 
DCDetector's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 179
View DCDetector's Gallery25
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (1)
Default

Thanks all!

Bought my VisionAire and hoping to have it by the weekend.
DCDetector is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2013, 02:48 PM   #10
rcers
Community Moderator
 
rcers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Trophy Club TX
Posts: 6,162
View rcers's Gallery57
Thanked 501 Times in 491 Posts
Awards Showcase

WAA-08 Pilot 
iTrader: (4)
Friends: (9)
Default

I think you will be very happy.... What radio do you use? I HIGHLY recommending downloading the setup and upload that to the model memory. Saves about 30-40 minutes of setup. And the QQ setup is AWESOME!

Mike
rcers is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2013, 03:41 PM   #11
waytooslow
Crash'em if you got 'em!
 
waytooslow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: DFW
Posts: 306
Thanked 22 Times in 22 Posts
Club: 114th Grapevine
Awards Showcase

100mph Speed Demon 
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (2)
Default

Originally Posted by rcers View Post
I think you will be very happy.... What radio do you use? I HIGHLY recommending downloading the setup and upload that to the model memory. Saves about 30-40 minutes of setup. And the QQ setup is AWESOME!

Mike

Do you use the Elevator with Throttle mix that is in the preset?

Too many hobbies, and not enough time!
waytooslow is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2013, 04:30 PM   #12
DCDetector
Member
 
DCDetector's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 179
View DCDetector's Gallery25
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (1)
Default

I use the DX7S
DCDetector is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2013, 12:16 AM   #13
Pilot Error
Member
 
Pilot Error's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Florida
Posts: 139
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Club: Indian River Radio Control Club
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (1)
Default

I flew the servos out of mine. I'm refitting different servos in it to send it back up (The stock ones are out of stock it seems.) It's my fave. plane! Tumbles, hovers, you name it. Inverted flat spins like nobody's business!!! I love abusing mine!

My avitar is Grumpy Cat saying, "Hasn't he crashed yet?"

My name is Mark and I approve this message.
Pilot Error is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2013, 04:23 PM   #14
DCDetector
Member
 
DCDetector's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 179
View DCDetector's Gallery25
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (1)
Default

Had my brown box waiting for me when I came home for lunch. So thinking this afternoon is going to go soooo slow.
DCDetector is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2013, 04:41 PM   #15
rcers
Community Moderator
 
rcers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Trophy Club TX
Posts: 6,162
View rcers's Gallery57
Thanked 501 Times in 491 Posts
Awards Showcase

WAA-08 Pilot 
iTrader: (4)
Friends: (9)
Default

Originally Posted by waytooslow View Post
Do you use the Elevator with Throttle mix that is in the preset?
Yes, Exactly as QQ has it set....
rcers is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2013, 11:28 PM   #16
DCDetector
Member
 
DCDetector's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 179
View DCDetector's Gallery25
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (1)
Default

Well got the VisionAire together, the Settings downloaded and loaded into my DX7S, bound and battery charging. Hoping for a nice calm morning for the maiden. Build was a breeze and as issue free as any I've built so far. I'll try and video the maiden flight.




DCDetector is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2013, 12:36 AM   #17
kyleservicetech
Dennis V
 
kyleservicetech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 7,972
Thanked 690 Times in 672 Posts
Club: www.racinercclub.com (I'm the newsletter editor)
Awards Showcase

Outstanding Contributor Award  3kW  2kW  100mph Speed Demon 
iTrader: (1)
Friends: (20)
Default

Originally Posted by DCDetector View Post
Well got the VisionAire together, the Settings downloaded and loaded into my DX7S, bound and battery charging. Hoping for a nice calm morning for the maiden. Build was a breeze and as issue free as any I've built so far. I'll try and video the maiden flight.
I've seen a number of these models fly. Methinks you will not be disappointed!

That model's power system is quite sufficient for 99% of your flying.

DennyV
Retired and the days are just too short, busier than ever!
kyleservicetech is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2013, 02:07 AM   #18
waytooslow
Crash'em if you got 'em!
 
waytooslow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: DFW
Posts: 306
Thanked 22 Times in 22 Posts
Club: 114th Grapevine
Awards Showcase

100mph Speed Demon 
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (2)
Default

Originally Posted by rcers View Post
Yes, Exactly as QQ has it set....
Thanks -- now to get a calm day -- in North Texas -- right.....

Too many hobbies, and not enough time!
waytooslow is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2013, 02:22 AM   #19
kyleservicetech
Dennis V
 
kyleservicetech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 7,972
Thanked 690 Times in 672 Posts
Club: www.racinercclub.com (I'm the newsletter editor)
Awards Showcase

Outstanding Contributor Award  3kW  2kW  100mph Speed Demon 
iTrader: (1)
Friends: (20)
Default

Originally Posted by waytooslow View Post
Thanks -- now to get a calm day -- in North Texas -- right.....
Yeah, before retiring, they sent me to North Texas, and my foggy memory definitely remembers how windy it was!

DennyV
Retired and the days are just too short, busier than ever!
kyleservicetech is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2013, 06:29 PM   #20
DCDetector
Member
 
DCDetector's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 179
View DCDetector's Gallery25
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (1)
Default

Didn't get any video cause I couldn't find a way to hold my iPhone, but took the VA for its maiden yesterday and it was great. Flew like it was on rails. Of course I stayed pretty conservative with nothing fancy. Very predictable and solid. I think this thing could fly straight up out of sight. Landing was smooth and predictable as well.

This was the first time I've heard beeps coming from my TX(DX7S) as I was coming in for a landing. It was like some kind of stall warning? Whenever I could see the plane approaching stall speed the beeps would start and get faster as it got slower.

Seems to be the perfect move up for my level.
DCDetector is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2013, 06:52 PM   #21
rcers
Community Moderator
 
rcers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Trophy Club TX
Posts: 6,162
View rcers's Gallery57
Thanked 501 Times in 491 Posts
Awards Showcase

WAA-08 Pilot 
iTrader: (4)
Friends: (9)
Default

Originally Posted by DCDetector View Post
Didn't get any video cause I couldn't find a way to hold my iPhone, but took the VA for its maiden yesterday and it was great. Flew like it was on rails. Of course I stayed pretty conservative with nothing fancy. Very predictable and solid. I think this thing could fly straight up out of sight. Landing was smooth and predictable as well.
Awesome - thought you might like it.

Originally Posted by DCDetector View Post
This was the first time I've heard beeps coming from my TX(DX7S) as I was coming in for a landing. It was like some kind of stall warning? Whenever I could see the plane approaching stall speed the beeps would start and get faster as it got slower.
No likely the timer. Do you set that regularly? OR the low voltage indicator for the transmitter. Unless you have telemetry receiver (a separate item not included with the VA) with the airspeed module the transmitter is oblivious to what is happening with the plane.

Originally Posted by DCDetector View Post
Seems to be the perfect move up for my level.
Yep it can be mild to wild. A fantastic airplane for sure.

Mike
rcers is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2013, 08:37 PM   #22
JetPlaneFlyer
Super Contributor
 
JetPlaneFlyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Aberdeen, Scotland
Posts: 4,372
Thanked 486 Times in 453 Posts
Awards Showcase

5kW  Outstanding Contributor Award  1kW 
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (8)
Default

Originally Posted by DCDetector View Post
Whenever I could see the plane approaching stall speed the beeps would start and get faster as it got slower.
Just your imagination or possibly a spooky coincidence?

As noted above, if you have telemetry installed (would need a different recaiver and a TM1000 telemetry module) with battery voltage sensing then it may be a low voltage warning, but that usually chimes in when you are at full power. There is an airspeed module for the TM1000 telemetry unit but it's an add on, it doesn't come with the standard telemetry, so you would know if you had it.
JetPlaneFlyer is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2013, 12:10 AM   #23
waytooslow
Crash'em if you got 'em!
 
waytooslow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: DFW
Posts: 306
Thanked 22 Times in 22 Posts
Club: 114th Grapevine
Awards Showcase

100mph Speed Demon 
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (2)
Default

maiden mine today, I guess it was extremely tail heavy. Wanted to go sky high. took tons of forward stick to bring her back down. guess I need to test the cg better and make sure the elevator is set properly on trim. Scary flight.

Too many hobbies, and not enough time!
waytooslow is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2013, 12:38 AM   #24
rcers
Community Moderator
 
rcers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Trophy Club TX
Posts: 6,162
View rcers's Gallery57
Thanked 501 Times in 491 Posts
Awards Showcase

WAA-08 Pilot 
iTrader: (4)
Friends: (9)
Default

Originally Posted by waytooslow View Post
guess I need to test the cg better and make sure the elevator is set properly on trim. Scary flight.
Remember all radio trim must be taken out - or the AS3X will kick your buns (it will return surfaces to zero values - no matter the trim). So you must mechanically adjust the trim settings out. Took me about 15 fights and adjustments to get it spot on. But you MUST do this! I flew a guys and he said it is acting really strange. It was the trim and AS3X fighting each other. It was a mess.

Heli guys are used to this task. Mark had to remind me LOL.

My battery is in the middle of the tray. Wendell flies his with the pack as far back as he can. Hard to be too tail heavy. I suspect the elevator surface was a bit out of whack.

Mike
rcers is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2013, 02:10 AM   #25
waytooslow
Crash'em if you got 'em!
 
waytooslow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: DFW
Posts: 306
Thanked 22 Times in 22 Posts
Club: 114th Grapevine
Awards Showcase

100mph Speed Demon 
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (2)
Default

Mike,

It might be elevator but its pretty flat across surfaces - the way it was heading skyward has me wondering. I set the batt at mid tray. Maybe I will get Wendell to take it up next time I see him at the field. or at least look at the control surfaces for trim

Having started on helis, I try not use use transmitter trims when at all possible. sometimes it is just easier though on non-AS3X planes.

Thanks

Too many hobbies, and not enough time!
waytooslow is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Reply

  WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight > Electric R/C Airplanes > 3D Flying

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Maiden Parkzone VisionAire WyomingOutdoors 3D Flying 6 05-23-2013 02:00 AM
parkzone servo specs on servodatabase.com? socalsteve RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros 6 03-13-2013 09:53 AM
Parkzone Visionaire Beginner 3D For Sport Flyer? phillipmorris Beginners 3 02-23-2013 12:37 PM
Parkzone 2.4ghz spektrum dsm2 tx: RONALDO_UK Beginners 7 08-16-2011 08:35 AM
For Sale Aluminum motor mount for Parkzone T28 / Corsair 3530/3536/3542 series motors terrynshed Motors and Speed Controllers for sale & WTB 2 12-16-2010 05:00 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:47 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2005 WattfFlyer.com
RCU Eflight HQ

Charities we support Select: Yorkie Rescue  ::  Crohn's & Colitis Foundation



Page generated in 0.54382 seconds with 71 queries