Wattflyer RC Network: RC Universe :: RCU Magazine :: RCU Forums :: RCU Classifieds :: RCU User Reviews :: RCU YouTube
Home Who's Online Calendar Today's Posts RealTime Post Spy Mark Forums Read
Go Back   WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight > Electric R/C Airplanes > General Electric Discussions
Register Members List Wattflyer Extras Articles Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Social Groups

General Electric Discussions Talk about topics related to e-powered RC flying

Thank you for your support (hide ads)
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-13-2014, 04:54 PM   #1
dordondronne
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (0)
Default connection problems with Durafly T28 Trojan

Hi
I'm new to this hobby and have only just joined the forum. I started with a 'Champ' flying it aroud our field, and then bought a Supercub, which I have had for about 2 years. I suppose it's not the original one, as almost all the parts have been replaced several times. I wanted to upgrade to an 'aileron' model and it was suggested that the T28 Trojan was a good 'next plane'
This week my new Durafly model arrived (couldn't get a PZ) and I realise it was a bad choice - too complicated for me.
Can anyone help please? I am using a DX6i with an AR6210X receiver.
I've plugged everything in and it works OK but when I plug the flaps into the 'AUX' channel the elevator and flaps work together.
Any ideas please? I've been on it for hours!!!! (no days)
dordondronne is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2014, 10:40 PM   #2
xmech2k
Ya got any Beeman's?
 
xmech2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 2,753
View xmech2k's Gallery21
Thanked 261 Times in 259 Posts
Club: CVMRCC, SEFSD
Awards Showcase

Scratchbuilders Award  1kW  Outstanding Contributor Award 
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (8)
Default

Welcome to Wattflyer, Dordon. The only thing I think could be possible is you have an active mix in the tx. How are you with programming the tx? You should go in and check all your mix pages for this. Or you could reset the current model to start with a blank slate.
xmech2k is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2014, 11:37 AM   #3
dordondronne
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (0)
Default

Thanks very much for your reply. Must admit that I don't know much about the technical side of programming tx's but will read the instruction book and have a go.

Best Wishes
dordondronne is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2014, 05:30 AM   #4
flydiver
Super Contributor
 
flydiver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 2,639
View flydiver's Gallery1
Thanked 385 Times in 372 Posts
Awards Showcase

Outstanding Contributor Award 
iTrader: (1)
Friends: (10)
Default

The plane is irrelevant. You might try in the TX-RX forums. You are simply trying to get some control surfaces to move in a desired way with a specific TX/RX combo.
Unfortunately just about every TX/RX brand is somewhat specific on how they work, so the plane brand is of almost no use at all.

fly
If you're going to learn to fly them, you have to learn to fix them.
flydiver is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2014, 11:08 PM   #5
dordondronne
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (0)
Default

Thanks again for the reply.
Have studied the TX instructions in great detail and have now solved the problem.
There was indeed an active mix which I have now deleted.
I didn't realise that the TX was so complicated. Getting there slowly, but at least everything works as it should.

Many thanks
dordondronne is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2014, 11:20 PM   #6
xmech2k
Ya got any Beeman's?
 
xmech2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 2,753
View xmech2k's Gallery21
Thanked 261 Times in 259 Posts
Club: CVMRCC, SEFSD
Awards Showcase

Scratchbuilders Award  1kW  Outstanding Contributor Award 
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (8)
Default

Glad you got it. And if you think the 6i is complicated, I got a new Dx18g2 recently, and it does things I can't even comprehend!
xmech2k is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2014, 12:13 AM   #7
flydiver
Super Contributor
 
flydiver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 2,639
View flydiver's Gallery1
Thanked 385 Times in 372 Posts
Awards Showcase

Outstanding Contributor Award 
iTrader: (1)
Friends: (10)
Default

Yes, they are a whole new language, mostly with manuals that initially (sometimes later also) seem to be written by sadists on bad drugs, likely old out of work DOS-manual writers.
They tell you what you can do with nary a hint on why you might actually want to do that or what good it would be. Wait until the first time you do [elevons].

fly
If you're going to learn to fly them, you have to learn to fix them.
flydiver is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2014, 02:03 AM   #8
zoltron55
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: pgh,pa
Posts: 246
Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts
Club: mon valley rc club
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (2)
Default

put ailerons on your cub. not hard or expensive
zoltron55 is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2014, 02:23 AM   #9
flydiver
Super Contributor
 
flydiver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 2,639
View flydiver's Gallery1
Thanked 385 Times in 372 Posts
Awards Showcase

Outstanding Contributor Award 
iTrader: (1)
Friends: (10)
Default

Originally Posted by zoltron55 View Post
put ailerons on your cub. not hard or expensive
Cub? Where? He's got a T-28 with ailerons and flaps.

fly
If you're going to learn to fly them, you have to learn to fix them.
flydiver is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2014, 03:35 AM   #10
xmech2k
Ya got any Beeman's?
 
xmech2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 2,753
View xmech2k's Gallery21
Thanked 261 Times in 259 Posts
Club: CVMRCC, SEFSD
Awards Showcase

Scratchbuilders Award  1kW  Outstanding Contributor Award 
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (8)
Default

Originally Posted by flydiver View Post
Cub? Where? He's got a T-28 with ailerons and flaps.
The Super Cub he's been learning on for the past year+.
xmech2k is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2014, 04:37 AM   #11
flydiver
Super Contributor
 
flydiver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 2,639
View flydiver's Gallery1
Thanked 385 Times in 372 Posts
Awards Showcase

Outstanding Contributor Award 
iTrader: (1)
Friends: (10)
Default

Ah...re-read the first post. Cub is there. But, he's got the T-28 to move on. So, it's certainly possible if he wants to go that route.

fly
If you're going to learn to fly them, you have to learn to fix them.
flydiver is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2014, 06:10 AM   #12
xmech2k
Ya got any Beeman's?
 
xmech2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 2,753
View xmech2k's Gallery21
Thanked 261 Times in 259 Posts
Club: CVMRCC, SEFSD
Awards Showcase

Scratchbuilders Award  1kW  Outstanding Contributor Award 
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (8)
Default

Don't feel bad. I'm guilty of the same thing on several occasions!
xmech2k is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2014, 11:54 AM   #13
dordondronne
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (0)
Default

Wow, seems like you guys have been up all night, chatting about airplanes, or is it because I live across the pond in SW France?
Flydiver makes the point that I totally agree with. I have found some good information on the net, with detailed instructions on what you can do with the DX6i but nowhere can I find any comments on why I would want to do it.

Am really pleased that the T28 is 'ready to go' but am not going to try without an experienced flyer with me. The 'taking off' bit is OK, it's just the landing, as the retracts look a bit fragile.
In the meantime I'm going to buy a glider with ailerons and folding propeller, so I can land on our field.
Got the bug now, only money (or lack of it) will stop me

Have a nice day
dordondronne is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2014, 02:40 PM   #14
xmech2k
Ya got any Beeman's?
 
xmech2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 2,753
View xmech2k's Gallery21
Thanked 261 Times in 259 Posts
Club: CVMRCC, SEFSD
Awards Showcase

Scratchbuilders Award  1kW  Outstanding Contributor Award 
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (8)
Default

Originally Posted by dordondronne View Post
Wow, seems like you guys have been up all night, chatting about airplanes, or is it because I live across the pond in SW France?...
Yes, I guess we were up all your night. You might want to go into your profile and add your location if you plan on 'sticking around' on this forum. It helps for things like if you're asking for recommendations for where to purchase something, flying locations, and instructors. I'd offer to help, but you'd have to send me a round trip airline ticket. Better make that 2 or I'll come back to find the divorce papers!

Good luck with it. A wise choice to get an instructor's help.
xmech2k is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2014, 05:45 PM   #15
dahawk
Super Contributor
 
dahawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Keller, TX
Posts: 3,439
View dahawk's Gallery6
Thanked 211 Times in 207 Posts
Club: 114th RC Aero Squadron
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (19)
Default

dordon,

Bonjour ! et Bienvenue Wattflyer. Comment Ca va?

Now that you've moved up to a more advanced low winger trainer, make sure to input dual rates and expo on your 6xi. This will make your experience more manageable and enjoyable. Having someone experienced at your side or even on a "buddy-box" is a great plan. You'll need help getting her trimmed out.

A toute a'l'heure !

Salutations,

Hawk
dahawk is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2014, 05:56 PM   #16
flydiver
Super Contributor
 
flydiver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 2,639
View flydiver's Gallery1
Thanked 385 Times in 372 Posts
Awards Showcase

Outstanding Contributor Award 
iTrader: (1)
Friends: (10)
Default

Originally Posted by dordondronne View Post
it's just the landing, as the retracts look a bit fragile.
In the meantime I'm going to buy a glider with ailerons and folding propeller, so I can land on our field.
Landing gear is often the weakest point on many RC planes. For an RTF with retracts I'd be pretty cautious about the viability also.

Take a look at the Parkzone Radian. It's a standout glider.

fly
If you're going to learn to fly them, you have to learn to fix them.
flydiver is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2014, 09:04 PM   #17
xmech2k
Ya got any Beeman's?
 
xmech2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 2,753
View xmech2k's Gallery21
Thanked 261 Times in 259 Posts
Club: CVMRCC, SEFSD
Awards Showcase

Scratchbuilders Award  1kW  Outstanding Contributor Award 
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (8)
Default

Flydiver, are you ok?
xmech2k is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2014, 10:03 PM   #18
flydiver
Super Contributor
 
flydiver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 2,639
View flydiver's Gallery1
Thanked 385 Times in 372 Posts
Awards Showcase

Outstanding Contributor Award 
iTrader: (1)
Friends: (10)
Default

Originally Posted by xmech2k View Post
Flydiver, are you ok?
Well, I've got my problems but I was responding to his concerns about the LG retracts in the T-28, and also being interested in a glider.

The response was brief. Apparently not too clear?

fly
If you're going to learn to fly them, you have to learn to fix them.
flydiver is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2014, 10:32 PM   #19
zoltron55
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: pgh,pa
Posts: 246
Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts
Club: mon valley rc club
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (2)
Default

the point I was trying to make is a high wing is more for giving & he is already comfortable with it.
zoltron55 is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2014, 10:56 PM   #20
xmech2k
Ya got any Beeman's?
 
xmech2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 2,753
View xmech2k's Gallery21
Thanked 261 Times in 259 Posts
Club: CVMRCC, SEFSD
Awards Showcase

Scratchbuilders Award  1kW  Outstanding Contributor Award 
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (8)
Default

Sorry Flydiver, I guess you weren't too far off. But he'll need the Radian Pro if he wants ailerons.
xmech2k is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Reply

  WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight > Electric R/C Airplanes > General Electric Discussions

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
T28 Durafly TROJAN--Anyone know where the CG is located ? 747 General Electric Discussions 16 01-15-2014 09:16 PM
Durafly T-28 Trojan At Airport thuribles Scale E-Powered Aircraft 0 02-07-2013 01:03 AM
Trojan T28 's retract...how does it work? 747 RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros 6 10-16-2012 06:42 PM
For Sale Parts from T28 Trojan 1987tc Airplanes - Electric For Sale & WTB 2 07-23-2012 05:14 AM
T28 Durafly Trojan PNP - Rudder,Gear,flap configuration issue! 747 General Electric Discussions 16 07-21-2012 11:48 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:05 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2005 WattfFlyer.com
RCU Eflight HQ

Charities we support Select: Yorkie Rescue  ::  Crohn's & Colitis Foundation



Page generated in 0.65757 seconds with 59 queries