Wattflyer RC Network: RC Universe :: RCU Magazine :: RCU Forums :: RCU Classifieds :: RCU User Reviews :: RCU YouTube
Home Who's Online Calendar Today's Posts RealTime Post Spy Mark Forums Read
Go Back   WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight > Electric R/C Airplanes > Beginners
Register Members List Wattflyer Extras Articles Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Social Groups

Beginners New to e-power flying? Get the low down in here from experienced e-power RC pilots!

Thank you for your support (hide ads)
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-06-2008, 02:00 AM   #1
fireflyer
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 104
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (0)
Default Spectrum DX6 vs. DX6i

What is the difference between the Spectrum DX6 and Spectrum DX6i radios? Why is the Dx6 more expensive?
-Matt

Up and Flying: Hobbyone Super Cub(Love it!)
In the Hangar: Hobbyzone Firebird Freedom(not much luck)
Also, Realflight G3 Simulator
fireflyer is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2008, 02:02 AM   #2
SkunkyMagoo
Newborn Rotorhead
 
SkunkyMagoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: So Cal
Posts: 1,142
View SkunkyMagoo's Gallery11
Thanked 72 Times in 70 Posts
Send a message via AIM to SkunkyMagoo
iTrader: (2)
Friends: (21)
Default

The DX6 is DSM and the DX6i is DSM/DSM2. You can ONLY use the AR6000 with the DX6.

http://www.wattflyer.com/forums/show...highlight=dx6i

TX | JR x9303
RW's | Vibe Fitty - Blade mSR
FW's | 64mm EDF Mirage 2000 - 64mm EDF F-5E Swiss Tiger
SkunkyMagoo is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2008, 02:06 AM   #3
fr4nk1yn
^_^
 
fr4nk1yn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,386
View fr4nk1yn's Gallery24
Thanked 54 Times in 54 Posts
Send a message via MSN to fr4nk1yn
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (4)
Default

The DX6 comes with 4 servos. I guess that offsets the DX6i DSM2.

"If you stand behind me... You gonna get kicked." - Zebraman.
fr4nk1yn is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2008, 03:13 AM   #4
marchino61
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 262
Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
Club: WA Radio Soarers
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (0)
Default

The major differences, as I understand it, are:

1) DX6i supports model match so you can't accidentally select the wrong model on the TX. DX6 does not.

2) DX6i is full-range; DX6 is "Park-flyer only"

3) As already stated, DX6i is compatible with ALL DSM and DSM2 receivers. DX6 is only compatible with AR6000 (DSM parkflyer RX)

4) DX6i has larger screen and is easier to program

I think you will find the DX6 is being phased out (already many retailers no longer stock it), so the price comparison is not really relevant
marchino61 is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2008, 04:04 AM   #5
dk_aero
Member
 
dk_aero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Bakersfield, CA
Posts: 236
View dk_aero's Gallery3
Thanked 23 Times in 23 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (3)
Default

"DX6i is compatible with ALL DSM and DSM2 receivers.DX6i is compatible with ALL DSM and DSM2 receivers."

This means I can use my DX6i with AR6000 receivers? If so, what am I gonna do with my DX6 transmitter now?

"Always remember you're unique...Just like everyone else."

AMA 903496
dk_aero is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2008, 04:22 AM   #6
gfdengine204
Super Contributor
 
gfdengine204's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sandwich, IL
Posts: 9,565
View gfdengine204's Gallery6
Thanked 333 Times in 322 Posts
Club: RC Dusters, AMA 3875, Sandwich, IL
Send a message via AIM to gfdengine204
Awards Showcase

Outstanding Contributor Award 
iTrader: (3)
Friends: (53)
Default

Originally Posted by dk_aero View Post
"DX6i is compatible with ALL DSM and DSM2 receivers.DX6i is compatible with ALL DSM and DSM2 receivers."

This means I can use my DX6i with AR6000 receivers? If so, what am I gonna do with my DX6 transmitter now?
Yes, the DX6i is backwards-compatible with the AR6000.

Who says you can't keep the DX6? There's no shame in having 2 radios. In fact, if you have the DX6 for smaller planes, and use the DX6i for larger, you can separate your fleet, so if you are indoor flying, and only need the DX6, you just take that. Or other reasons you can come up with.

- Kev
AMA 873921
RC Dusters Flying Club, AMA 3875, Sandwich, IL

Question with Boldness. Hold to the Truth. Speak without fear.


gfdengine204 is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2008, 04:28 AM   #7
adhoc
Andy AMA 909699
 
adhoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Tacoma, Washington
Posts: 589
View adhoc's Gallery6
Thanked 13 Times in 13 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (2)
Default

Originally Posted by dk_aero View Post
This means I can use my DX6i with AR6000 receivers? If so, what am I gonna do with my DX6 transmitter now?
I keep mine for a backup, and someday a trainer/buddy-box for my kids...

In fact, I'm using my DX6 now while they fix my DX6i. I have three AR6000s, two AR6300s, and one AR6200. Obviously while the DX6i is gone, I'm only using the AR6000s. Backwards-compatibility is a great thing... :-)

There is a discussion on another thread about what to do if you have more than 10 models, and this is where the ModelMatch feature of the DX6i is actually a slight disadvantage; with a DX6 you can use more than 10 models, as long as you can set some of them up with the same model (servos same direction, etc.) Me, I'll probably never have more than 10 models, but there you are...

~~~~~~~~~~ let's go carve some air ~~~~~~~~~~
adhoc is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2008, 04:32 AM   #8
dk_aero
Member
 
dk_aero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Bakersfield, CA
Posts: 236
View dk_aero's Gallery3
Thanked 23 Times in 23 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (3)
Default

Thanks Adhoc... Looks like I got a backup then...

"Always remember you're unique...Just like everyone else."

AMA 903496
dk_aero is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2008, 04:41 AM   #9
adhoc
Andy AMA 909699
 
adhoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Tacoma, Washington
Posts: 589
View adhoc's Gallery6
Thanked 13 Times in 13 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (2)
Default

Originally Posted by dk_aero View Post
Thanks Adhoc... Looks like I got a backup then...
Always glad to help...

I admit that when I bought the DX6i, I told myself I'd sell my DX6 on eBay to offset the price of the new radio. But I changed my mind, for the reasons I gave, plus I feel attached to my DX6; it has been a good radio for me...

I was going to say something about how frustrated I would be if I didn't have a backup radio to fly with, but between wind and rain I've been effectively grounded for most of the past few weeks anyway...

But I just got a SuperFly kit delivered today -- new build!!

~~~~~~~~~~ let's go carve some air ~~~~~~~~~~
adhoc is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2008, 04:54 AM   #10
dk_aero
Member
 
dk_aero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Bakersfield, CA
Posts: 236
View dk_aero's Gallery3
Thanked 23 Times in 23 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (3)
Default

Sounds like you might need to start a build thread...

This is the SuperFly flying wing, right? Are you gonna use the GWS or go brushless?

(yep, straying off topic again... )

"Always remember you're unique...Just like everyone else."

AMA 903496
dk_aero is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2008, 06:16 AM   #11
adhoc
Andy AMA 909699
 
adhoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Tacoma, Washington
Posts: 589
View adhoc's Gallery6
Thanked 13 Times in 13 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (2)
Default

Originally Posted by dk_aero View Post
Sounds like you might need to start a build thread...

This is the SuperFly flying wing, right? Are you gonna use the GWS or go brushless?

(yep, straying off topic again... )
What's a "topic"?

Flying wing, yep. Got the brushless and Thunderbird 18 ESC. Also threw in two BlueBird metal gear servos. All I need now is a new bag of hot glue sticks!! (My wife got ticked when I told her I had used up most of her glue sticks without askin' :o Oops!)

~~~~~~~~~~ let's go carve some air ~~~~~~~~~~
adhoc is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2008, 01:55 AM   #12
fireflyer
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 104
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (0)
Default

Thanks to everybody for answering my question. I will never have 10 models so I guess the DX6i is the ideal choice.
Thanks
-Matt

Up and Flying: Hobbyone Super Cub(Love it!)
In the Hangar: Hobbyzone Firebird Freedom(not much luck)
Also, Realflight G3 Simulator
fireflyer is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2008, 03:23 AM   #13
gfdengine204
Super Contributor
 
gfdengine204's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sandwich, IL
Posts: 9,565
View gfdengine204's Gallery6
Thanked 333 Times in 322 Posts
Club: RC Dusters, AMA 3875, Sandwich, IL
Send a message via AIM to gfdengine204
Awards Showcase

Outstanding Contributor Award 
iTrader: (3)
Friends: (53)
Default

Originally Posted by fireflyer View Post
Thanks to everybody for answering my question. I will never have 10 models so I guess the DX6i is the ideal choice.
Thanks
-Matt

Pfft, famous last words......

My wife remembers when I said I would be fine with only 4......

- Kev
AMA 873921
RC Dusters Flying Club, AMA 3875, Sandwich, IL

Question with Boldness. Hold to the Truth. Speak without fear.


gfdengine204 is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2008, 04:28 PM   #14
thepitts12
Fly DW foamies!
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: in a house in colorado
Posts: 90
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Club: BAS
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (2)
Default

can i use the AR6000 with my DX7? or does it only work with the DX6 and DX6i?
thepitts12 is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2008, 04:43 PM   #15
gfdengine204
Super Contributor
 
gfdengine204's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sandwich, IL
Posts: 9,565
View gfdengine204's Gallery6
Thanked 333 Times in 322 Posts
Club: RC Dusters, AMA 3875, Sandwich, IL
Send a message via AIM to gfdengine204
Awards Showcase

Outstanding Contributor Award 
iTrader: (3)
Friends: (53)
Default

Originally Posted by thepitts12 View Post
can i use the AR6000 with my DX7? or does it only work with the DX6 and DX6i?
Yup, I use my DX7 with an AR6000.....

- Kev
AMA 873921
RC Dusters Flying Club, AMA 3875, Sandwich, IL

Question with Boldness. Hold to the Truth. Speak without fear.


gfdengine204 is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2008, 06:52 PM   #16
thepitts12
Fly DW foamies!
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: in a house in colorado
Posts: 90
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Club: BAS
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (2)
Default

ok, thanks.
thepitts12 is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2008, 02:51 AM   #17
bowieb
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (0)
Default

Originally Posted by adhoc View Post
What's a "topic"?

Flying wing, yep. Got the brushless and Thunderbird 18 ESC. Also threw in two BlueBird metal gear servos. All I need now is a new bag of hot glue sticks!! (My wife got ticked when I told her I had used up most of her glue sticks without askin' :o Oops!)
Cool! I'm thinking of doing the exact same thing! What RX did you use? And do the BlueBird servos have the right connectors or did you need an adapter?

How does it fly?
bowieb is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2008, 12:41 PM   #18
AEAJR
Community Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: NY, USA
Posts: 5,367
Thanked 349 Times in 310 Posts
Club: Long Island Silent Flyers
Awards Showcase

WAA-08 Pilot  Outstanding Contributor Award 
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (8)
Default

If you are buying a new radio, there is no reason to buy a DX6. The 6i as more features and more options when it comes to receivers.

Long Island Silent Flyers
www.lisf.org
Eastern Soaring League
www.flyesl.org
AEAJR is online now  
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2008, 12:57 PM   #19
bowieb
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (0)
Default

Originally Posted by AEAJR View Post
If you are buying a new radio, there is no reason to buy a DX6. The 6i as more features and more options when it comes to receivers.
I am planning on getting the DX6i and the SuperFly ARF kit. I was just wondering about which Spektrum receiver would work best. Based on what I've found, the AR6100 and AR6300 look like good options, but do the BMS 380MG servos included with the ARF kit have the right connectors for them? I've done some Googling, but so far, I haven't found anything. I was hoping that someone who has done this before could give me a quick answer.
bowieb is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2008, 01:02 PM   #20
AEAJR
Community Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: NY, USA
Posts: 5,367
Thanked 349 Times in 310 Posts
Club: Long Island Silent Flyers
Awards Showcase

WAA-08 Pilot  Outstanding Contributor Award 
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (8)
Default

Spektrum receivers use standard/universal connectors for servos. If the BMS servos use standard servo connectors then you will have no problems.

Long Island Silent Flyers
www.lisf.org
Eastern Soaring League
www.flyesl.org
AEAJR is online now  
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2008, 02:34 PM   #21
Bill Linske
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Clintonville, WI
Posts: 424
Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts
Club: Shawano R/C Flying Club
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (1)
Default

I believe the last R/C Report magazine has an excellent review of the new DX6i. I'll check it out. and update this info.

11:30am

Following up, the R/C Report is November 2008, Issue 268, page 44 for an excellent review of the Spektrum DX6i radio. I find this magazine great and I usually read it cover to cover. I recommend it to anyone in R/C. Website is www.rcreport.ws and subscription rate is $19.00 per year. It gets into the "nitty gritty" of things you want to know.
Bill Linske is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2014, 04:31 PM   #22
unloco2
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Roseville, CA
Posts: 39
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (0)
Default

The DX6 is a marketing ploy designed to reduce the HK orange receiver purchases and lead you to the more expensive AR6000 and the offering is sugarcoated by providing 250 model memory. Can't afford the extra baggage..
unloco2 is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2014, 04:39 PM   #23
dahawk
Super Contributor
 
dahawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Keller, TX
Posts: 3,387
View dahawk's Gallery6
Thanked 205 Times in 201 Posts
Club: 114th RC Aero Squadron
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (19)
Default

Sure about that? My understanding is that the new DX6 is part of the latest rollout that started with the DX9 having voice commands, 250 model memory, etc. Just has 6 channels instead of 9 and the case is not quite as nice as the 9 or 18. Kind of the lower cost version to capture more pilots. It purportedly has the same basic software as the DX9 and D18.

I don't think there's anything that says you can't use an AR600 or any other DSM2 or DSMx Spektrum or Spektrum compatible RX such as orange or Lemon. Maybe I'm wrong.

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2089776

-Hawk
dahawk is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2014, 04:53 PM   #24
AEAJR
Community Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: NY, USA
Posts: 5,367
Thanked 349 Times in 310 Posts
Club: Long Island Silent Flyers
Awards Showcase

WAA-08 Pilot  Outstanding Contributor Award 
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (8)
Cool

Originally Posted by unloco2 View Post
The DX6 is a marketing ploy designed to reduce the HK orange receiver purchases and lead you to the more expensive AR6000 and the offering is sugarcoated by providing 250 model memory. Can't afford the extra baggage..
Do you realize that the thread you posted to has not been active for 6 years? The DX6 discussed in that thread is not the DX6 that Spekturum recently announced. Completely different system. They just recycled the name.

Long Island Silent Flyers
www.lisf.org
Eastern Soaring League
www.flyesl.org
AEAJR is online now  
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2014, 06:22 PM   #25
xmech2k
Ya got any Beeman's?
 
xmech2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 2,704
View xmech2k's Gallery21
Thanked 254 Times in 252 Posts
Club: CVMRCC, SEFSD
Awards Showcase

Scratchbuilders Award  1kW  Outstanding Contributor Award 
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (7)
Default

Originally Posted by unloco2 View Post
The DX6 is a marketing ploy designed to reduce the HK orange receiver purchases and lead you to the more expensive AR6000 and the offering is sugarcoated by providing 250 model memory. Can't afford the extra baggage..
Why the hate? On top of what AEAJR pointed out, what does the release of the new Dx6 have to do with Orange rx's? They can't be used with it? And I'm pretty sure there's a lot more to it that voice and more models. Have you checked it out? I'm not saying everyone should love Spektrum, everyone has their own preferences as they should, but why do they seem to be such hate magnets?
xmech2k is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Reply

  WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight > Electric R/C Airplanes > Beginners

Tags
dx6 , dx6i , spectrum

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For Sale Spectrum DX6 goneflyin Radio Equipment For Sale & WTB 5 10-20-2008 05:32 PM
For Sale NIB Spectrum DX6I Flyingcubby Radio Equipment For Sale & WTB 2 07-15-2008 11:08 PM
Upgrading Blade CP to Spectrum DX6i? Goanna Micro Sized Electric Helicopters 7 03-02-2008 03:44 AM
Spectrum DX6 or Other? HAL9000 RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros 39 11-25-2007 05:51 PM
Spectrum dx6? phaz General Electric Discussions 30 11-15-2006 04:43 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:57 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2005 WattfFlyer.com
RCU Eflight HQ

Charities we support Select: Yorkie Rescue  ::  Crohn's & Colitis Foundation



Page generated in 0.29032 seconds with 69 queries