Wattflyer RC Network: RC Universe :: RCU Magazine :: RCU Forums :: RCU Classifieds :: RCU User Reviews :: RCU YouTube
Home Who's Online Calendar Today's Posts RealTime Post Spy Mark Forums Read
Go Back   WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight > R/C Electric Topics - General > Aerial Photography
Register Members List Wattflyer Extras Articles Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Social Groups

Aerial Photography Discuss all aerial photography topics as they relate to rc aircraft

Thank you for your support (hide ads)
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-20-2008, 11:50 PM   #1
The Punisher
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (0)
Question Flycam one 2 recording problems??

For some reason when i record, the footage only records for a couple of minutes then the flycam one 2 shuts off??

I record on v r , also tried v e.
The battery was charged for about 4 to 5 hrs.
Fitted with flycam 2gb memory card. I have tried it fitted on both electric aircraft and glow powered aircraft.

Any suggestions why it should shut down after about 2 mins
The Punisher is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2008, 08:03 AM   #2
Ben D wing
Member
 
Ben D wing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: U.K.
Posts: 263
View Ben D wing's Gallery50
Thanked 23 Times in 23 Posts
Club: Leek and Moorlands Model Gliding Association.
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (1)
Default

Ditto, mine too! Also, if I use the cam in my hand it works in all of the modes ok. If I mount it on my Funjet and film whilst flying, it seems to record in multi frame mode. Could this because the Flycam is mounted very close to the Rx and getting pulsed interference?

The original Dead-Stick Dummy!
Ben D wing is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2008, 09:12 AM   #3
Lazy Bee
I'd rather be flying!
 
Lazy Bee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Central GA (not too far from Hodges)
Posts: 57
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (7)
Default

Punisher, I have not used mine for awhile, & sometimes my memory does strange things, but I had the same shutdown problem & seemed to figure out that the camera had to have the power on while connected to the computer in order to fully charge, or maybe even to charge at all. I think what was happening in my case was that the battery only had enough juice to run a short time.

Sorry Ben D, but I don't have any clues about your issues.
Lazy Bee is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2008, 11:48 AM   #4
Ben D wing
Member
 
Ben D wing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: U.K.
Posts: 263
View Ben D wing's Gallery50
Thanked 23 Times in 23 Posts
Club: Leek and Moorlands Model Gliding Association.
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (1)
Default

If the camera is used without mounting it to a plane (ie. flying it) it functions perfectly. As it is all solid state circuitry surely it can't be movement sensitive, although I am still wondering if it is affected by being mounted too close to the Rx.

I think I will try it on the Cularis next as it can be mounted a fair way from any electronics that may cause interference.

The original Dead-Stick Dummy!
Ben D wing is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2008, 09:19 PM   #5
Lazy Bee
I'd rather be flying!
 
Lazy Bee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Central GA (not too far from Hodges)
Posts: 57
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (7)
Default

Come to think of it, I think I've gotten the best results when mounted on a 1/5 scale Cub wing. I've used it some on a slo-stik, mounted in center near rcvr., but have had stopping issues there.

As for the charging, as I said earlier, my memory is lacking. I'm thinking now maybe what is important is that PC is on the display when charging. Sometimes that doesn't seem to be a problem (it goes to it automatically), but sometimes in the past it seemed as though I had to put it in PC mode before connecting. I'm really not sure. Maybe soemone who knows or can help will chime in.
Lazy Bee is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2009, 12:13 PM   #6
adent
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 6
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (0)
Default

I've also had this problem with fly cam one II, that it shuts down. I read
about a solution for the problem, I havn't tried it myself, but I think it should help. The camera came with a mount, on that mount is four connector-pins. Two of theese are ground and +5V. If you connect an external battery there, it seems like the camera does not shut off.

If you connect the camera to the ESC/BEC make sure it can supply the 300-400 mA needed (mine got really really warm, so not to good).

//Mikael
adent is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2009, 09:28 PM   #7
nascarwings
Member
 
nascarwings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Nova Scotia Canada
Posts: 244
View nascarwings's Gallery70
Thanked 15 Times in 15 Posts
Awards Showcase

AV Contest 
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (3)
Default

i had one..its in the old junk bin now i gave up on it...a 15 dollar cam from wallmart takes as good video...i do know one proplem is that when the li-po battery gets cold it will shut down...

nascarwings is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2009, 09:38 PM   #8
groundrushesup
Super Contributor
 
groundrushesup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Boerne, TX
Posts: 2,337
View groundrushesup's Gallery45
Thanked 361 Times in 347 Posts
Club: Hill Country Wattheads
Send a message via AIM to groundrushesup
Awards Showcase

1kW 
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (20)
Default

All around I feel like I got ripped on the FCONE2. I have similar problems with the premature shutoff - Also the most maddening thing is the out-of-sync audio even with a super-fast Sandisk X3 card with well over the recommended read/write speeds.

And the aperture is so tiny that filming in any condition other than midday sun creates contrast issues with the video.

So, I don't use it too much. I'm looking into an AIPTEK HD gun-grip type cam - weightier, but I have seen lots of excellent video shot with them.

Everybody's Somebody at The Hill Country Watthead's Thread!
Stop in and see what we're up to!

Visit Our Youtube Channel, too!
groundrushesup is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2009, 10:13 PM   #9
nascarwings
Member
 
nascarwings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Nova Scotia Canada
Posts: 244
View nascarwings's Gallery70
Thanked 15 Times in 15 Posts
Awards Showcase

AV Contest 
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (3)
Default

you put it in a nut shell..lol...the cam is a ripoff...i picked this one up at walmart in Orlando FL in Dec and am having good luck with it"s DXG 569V Silver Ultra-Slim HD Digital Camcorder it hates any bad vibrations and likes lots of light but the video is great!!

nascarwings is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2009, 01:09 AM   #10
Sabrehawk
Member
 
Sabrehawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Seattle, Wa. USA
Posts: 647
View Sabrehawk's Gallery23
Thanked 54 Times in 52 Posts
Club: Marymoor RC Club, Redmond Wa.
Awards Showcase

WAA-08 Pilot 
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (13)
Smile

These reports from ya'all and others on this is why I havent went for it yet, and have stuck with the first one they produced which has worked flawlessly since I've had it.

"Better to be looking up in the air wishing you were flying, than looking down at the ground wishing you weren't."
Sabrehawk is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2009, 01:34 AM   #11
nascarwings
Member
 
nascarwings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Nova Scotia Canada
Posts: 244
View nascarwings's Gallery70
Thanked 15 Times in 15 Posts
Awards Showcase

AV Contest 
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (3)
Default

smart man...

nascarwings is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2009, 04:37 PM   #12
redflyier1993 (youtube)
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Club: Gravesend Aeromodeling club cliffe
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (0)
Exclamation Flycam1 2

I have the same prob, Guys, im gonnat soon take it back to the shop, i have already emaild the main company, but no reply yet.
Yeah mine starts to record for a while the no warning turns off, bery annoying especially when im waisting fule trying to wet it to work on my panic bi-plane. URGGGhh
Dose anyone know any new news about this probem ??
Thanks, there are vids of my plane flying on youtube (copy and past my name into the search bar) This is befor all this crap started happening. Also i have the same audio prob as in one of the vids, you hear the motor start then like 10 sec later it starts moving on the screen. Very annoying. at the moment im using my Hd camera to film it in the sky, But it cant being in the acbeat the actual thing.
Owell
Thanks Curtis
redflyier1993 (youtube) is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2009, 05:02 PM   #13
adent
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 6
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (0)
Default

Try to feed external voltage as I mentioned earlier. And the lag between audio and video can be because the SD-card you are using is to slow (==cheap) Try a faster card.
adent is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2009, 05:04 PM   #14
redflyier1993 (youtube)
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Club: Gravesend Aeromodeling club cliffe
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (0)
Default probs with flycam one2

Thanks, mate
redflyier1993 (youtube) is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2014, 02:48 PM   #15
JeffMowery
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (0)
Default FLYCAM Planet Camera Steady Rig

I am using Flycam products from last 2 years. Haven't faced any problem with it so far. They perform pretty good and am highly satisfied with their performance and results.

I own a hand held stabilizer Flycam Planet Rig which is a combo of a stabilizer and a fig rig. Pretty efficient in giving low angle shots and all other sort of shots which made my videos free from all type of unwanted shakes.

http://www.dvcity.com/dvshop/FLYCAM-...CM-PLANET.html


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m3zOwFKdpUA
JeffMowery is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Reply

  WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight > R/C Electric Topics - General > Aerial Photography

Tags
flycam , problems , recording

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Altimeter-Altitude recording devices??? donjiskra Hi-Performance and Sailplanes 38 06-25-2013 07:44 PM
New Pinnacle USB recording Crash9 Aerial Photography 3 01-10-2008 07:59 PM
How do you know what your recording? GreenAce92 Aerial Photography 4 08-21-2007 08:44 PM
FRAPS for recording video? need help k-vette Flight Simulators 3 02-11-2006 10:57 PM
Recording Flight Sim Video? Diego642 Flight Simulators 1 12-21-2005 07:15 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:39 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2005 WattfFlyer.com
RCU Eflight HQ

Charities we support Select: Yorkie Rescue  ::  Crohn's & Colitis Foundation



Page generated in 0.40286 seconds with 49 queries