Wattflyer RC Network: RC Universe :: RCU Magazine :: RCU Forums :: RCU Classifieds :: RCU User Reviews :: RCU YouTube
Home Who's Online Calendar Today's Posts RealTime Post Spy Mark Forums Read
Go Back   WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight > R/C Electric Topics - General > RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros
Register Members List Wattflyer Extras Articles Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Social Groups

RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Thank you for your support (hide ads)
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-24-2011, 09:04 AM   #1
Tinlid
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Belmont nsw. Australia
Posts: 229
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (0)
Default FrSky V8 2.4GHz Module on Optic 6

Has anyone else done the same conversion i just fitted the FrSky module to my Optic 6 and i have a question the programming button the instructions refer to is it the button on the back of the module itself? " this button is also refered to as F/S Range button" or is it a button on the face of the TX as the only way i can get the LED light to flash for binding is to hold this button on the back of the module while turning the TX on is this the correct procedure. i have not tried to actualy bind to a RX yet i'm just checking things as i go.

Keep smiling and fly when you can
Tinlid is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2011, 02:04 PM   #2
Flyer495th
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 18
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (0)
Default

Check out http://www.rcmodelreviews.com/
Flyer495th is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2011, 02:41 AM   #3
Tinlid
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Belmont nsw. Australia
Posts: 229
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (0)
Default

Thanks for the reply got it worked out now.

Keep smiling and fly when you can
Tinlid is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2012, 12:46 AM   #4
AEAJR
Community Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: NY, USA
Posts: 5,405
Thanked 351 Times in 312 Posts
Club: Long Island Silent Flyers
Awards Showcase

WAA-08 Pilot  Outstanding Contributor Award 
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (8)
Default

It has been a year. How about a report? Good results? Problems?

Would you recommend the FrSky module to others?

Long Island Silent Flyers
www.lisf.org
Eastern Soaring League
www.flyesl.org
AEAJR is online now  
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2012, 01:49 AM   #5
Tinlid
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Belmont nsw. Australia
Posts: 229
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (0)
Default

Originally Posted by AEAJR View Post
It has been a year. How about a report? Good results? Problems?

Would you recommend the FrSky module to others?
I never use the system there was a add on to the RX instructions which whent somthing like ( DISABLE THE FAILSAFE ON THE TRANSMITTER SIDE ) I never understood what they where on about i asked them twice on there site but never got a straight answer that i could understand so i never use it.

Keep smiling and fly when you can
Tinlid is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2012, 09:59 PM   #6
solentlife
Super Contributor
 
solentlife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Ex UK Brit now in Latvia west coast - Ventspils
Posts: 6,418
View solentlife's Gallery47
Thanked 277 Times in 274 Posts
Club: Founder Member Ventspils RC Club. Ex Waltham Chase and Meon Valley Soaring.
Awards Showcase

Scratchbuilders Award  Scratchbuilders Award  Outstanding Contributor Award  125mph Speed Demon 
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (15)
Default

Originally Posted by Tinlid View Post
I never use the system there was a add on to the RX instructions which whent somthing like ( DISABLE THE FAILSAFE ON THE TRANSMITTER SIDE ) I never understood what they where on about i asked them twice on there site but never got a straight answer that i could understand so i never use it.
If you don't use it - I know a Charity that would gladly relieve you of the Module !! Me !

Rx's only act on what they are told by Tx's ... so failsafe etc. is always set by the Tx ...

You can basically forget about it ... plug and default is fine.

What you should have done is com on here or whatever and asked about it ... same as you did for the bind button.

222kph PKJ,EDF Concorde, Mini4,Mig3,T45,PKJ twin,ME109,Edge540,Cessna182,Skymaster Biplane,F15,F16,Badius,Ultimate,SE5,Qbee10,450 Heli,V911,J3 Cub Founder 9x forum: http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Flysky_RC_radio/
- Subscribe my Youtube: "solentlifeuk"
solentlife is online now  
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2014, 03:43 AM   #7
diverdon
Member
 
diverdon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Jupiter , Fl.
Posts: 742
Thanked 34 Times in 31 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Friends: (4)
Default which frsky module to use

Hello, I am looking into getting back into rc planes and have the hitec optic 6 ... looks like I need to upgrade to 2.4 ghz ... can someone tell me which module to get to use in this radio ??? Please... I see that fr sky puts one out ? but also see that there are a few models ...

Or is there a better - safer way to do this .
Thanks for your help .. Looking forward to crashing planes again..D.J.
diverdon is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2014, 04:32 AM   #8
kyleservicetech
Dennis V
 
kyleservicetech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 8,351
Thanked 722 Times in 704 Posts
Club: www.racinercclub.com (I'm the newsletter editor)
Awards Showcase

Outstanding Contributor Award  3kW  2kW  100mph Speed Demon 
iTrader: (1)
Friends: (20)
Default

Originally Posted by diverdon View Post
Hello, I am looking into getting back into rc planes and have the hitec optic 6 ... looks like I need to upgrade to 2.4 ghz ... can someone tell me which module to get to use in this radio ??? Please... I see that fr sky puts one out ? but also see that there are a few models ...

Or is there a better - safer way to do this .
Thanks for your help .. Looking forward to crashing planes again..D.J.
There are a LOT of good radios out there on 2.4 Ghz radios, and they can have very reasonable prices.

One good brand is the Spektrum line. Their DX6i unit is a good entry radio. Spektrum has a good quality 4 channel receiver on the market for $29. Also, there are a lot of Spekie compatible receivers available for a fraction of that.
http://www.wattflyer.com/forums/showthread.php?t=71276

Spektrum has something called "Model Match" where you program in the name of your model in your transmitter, to match your model on the ground. With several models stored in your transmitter, if your transmitter model and the model on the ground don't match, the model receiver is inoperative. And your model won't won't move. (Think of reversed ailerons!)
I won't use those compatibles in my 1 Kilowatt plus sized models, but thats only my opinion.

As always, if you're in it for the long haul, try to buy the best transmitter you can afford. I've got the Spektrum DX8, along with a DX7 as a backup. That DX8 has all the features I'll ever use.

DennyV
Retired and the days are just too short, busier than ever!
kyleservicetech is online now  
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2014, 04:33 AM   #9
pizzano
Behold The Renaissance
 
pizzano's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: So. Calif
Posts: 1,249
Thanked 84 Times in 82 Posts
Club: AMA, Marks, Pomona Valley, Prado Dam
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (3)
Default

Originally Posted by diverdon View Post
Hello, I am looking into getting back into rc planes and have the hitec optic 6 ... looks like I need to upgrade to 2.4 ghz ... can someone tell me which module to get to use in this radio ??? Please... I see that fr sky puts one out ? but also see that there are a few models ...

Or is there a better - safer way to do this .
Thanks for your help .. Looking forward to crashing planes again..D.J.
FrySky does make a converter for the TX, but a compatible RX is also required.........that will be the issue with any TX converter.

The Optic 6 is a little outdated....but still nothing wrong with using 72mhz......Hitec and Airtronics upgraded almost everything to 2.5ghz....they still carry 72mhz crystals and modules, if you're sold on Hitec.

AMA 928214
pizzano is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Reply

  WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight > R/C Electric Topics - General > RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:11 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2005 WattfFlyer.com
RCU Eflight HQ

Charities we support Select: Yorkie Rescue  ::  Crohn's & Colitis Foundation



Page generated in 0.19045 seconds with 36 queries