PDA

View Full Version : Radios

backdraft310
02-23-2007, 11:38 AM
What is a good brand of radiio and how many channel's should i get ect. I am new to all of this and just looking for a bit of input before i spend money on something

spitace
02-23-2007, 11:58 AM
Okay backdraft, heres the basics.

Radios are catergerized by:
Computer/ Non Computer
Channels.

Their are many more things but they are the basics.

If you are getting a first radio a good choice would be a 6 channel computer radio.
The two main brands i can recomend are JR and Spectrum.

The JR MAX66 and the Spectrum DX6 are virtualy the same ecept for the frequency, the spectrum system has a thing called spectrum modulation, which means that your radio will scan the radio waves when it turns on, and select a free channel, this means it is almost impossible to get shot down.

The more information you give us about the type of model you are flying, your experiance level, etc, etc. the more we can help you.

Regards,
James

Sky Sharkster
02-23-2007, 12:27 PM
Hello Backdraft310, Welcome to Wattflyer!
Just about all the major brands of radios are good, Airtronics, Futaba, Hitec, JR, Multiplex, Spektrum. They offer similar features, have a varity of price ranges (except Spektrum, only 2 at this time) and have U.S. service locations. Here's a thread explaining most of the options;
http://www.blackflight.com/intro_rc/intro_rc_radio.asp
Beyond that, the choice is personal; Like cars, flyers usually recommend their radio above all others!
Most people start with a 4 channel radio, this will control rudder, elevator, ailerons and throttle. Generally, this will be sufficient for your first few models.