"F3A braking" on Phoenix ESC - WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight

Castle Creations discussion All things Castle

"F3A braking" on Phoenix ESC

Old 10-28-2009, 09:01 PM
  #1  
Vitalka
New Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 5
Default "F3A braking" on Phoenix ESC

Hi,

I noticed that even latest firmware (2.18) still has no F3A braking function. Hacker/Jeti and Yge has it for sure. When CC is planning to add this very useful function?


"This is the addition of a proportional brake (now commonly called an F3A brake) to the controllers. Essentially it is identical to the brakes used on RC cars and works by initiating a brake at approximately 5% throttle and increasing braking power to 100% at 0% throttle position."
Vitalka is offline  
Old 10-28-2009, 10:50 PM
  #2  
texasclouds
Super Contributor
 
texasclouds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Central Texas
Posts: 1,375
Default

Originally Posted by Vitalka View Post
Hi,

I noticed that even latest firmware (2.18) still has no F3A braking function. Hacker/Jeti and Yge has it for sure. When CC is planning to add this very useful function?


how is this useful? does it help slow the plane at landing?
texasclouds is offline  
Old 10-29-2009, 12:08 AM
  #3  
Vitalka
New Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 5
Default

With most ESC (basicaly cheap) braking is only activated when moving throttle stick to 0%. F3A brake function allows to activate and adjust braking intensity at other throttle positions. It is useful for reducing model speed in downlines.
Vitalka is offline  
Old 10-29-2009, 09:50 AM
  #4  
Larry3215
Look out for that tree!!!
 
Larry3215's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Gig Harbor, Wa USA
Posts: 7,061
Default

How can the break be active at throttle positions above zero?

The esc would be telling the prop to go at the same times its applying the break? I dont see how thats going to work.

Castle esc's have fully programmable break strength and delay already and it works quite well for slowing down lines as is so I dont understand the need.
Larry3215 is offline  
Old 10-29-2009, 11:05 AM
  #5  
Vitalka
New Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 5
Default

Yes, Castle Esc has very flexible and adjustable braking settings. But braking does not work if you set idle rotating speed for a outrunner. I know it is hard to figure out how it works, but you can find proportional (F3A) brake description in most car ESC manuals, e.g.:

...
Emax car ESC instruction.
....

The ESC provides proportional brake function. The brake force is related to the position of the throttle stick. It refers to the maximum brake force when the throttle stick is pushed to the top point of the backward zone."
..
Vitalka is offline  
Old 10-29-2009, 06:01 PM
  #6  
Larry3215
Look out for that tree!!!
 
Larry3215's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Gig Harbor, Wa USA
Posts: 7,061
Default

I understand how it works on car controllers but car controllers work very differently from air controllers.

Also, I was under the impression that guys were setting their motors to idle at "off throttle" to eliminate or reduce the breaking effect or for scale operations.
Larry3215 is offline  
Old 10-29-2009, 09:53 PM
  #7  
Vitalka
New Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 5
Default

"24th F3A World Championships Technical Report

...

There is only one simple change worth mentioning surrounding the ESCís that was new. This is the addition of a proportional brake (now commonly called an F3A brake) to the controllers. Essentially it is identical to the brakes used on RC cars and works by initiating a brake at approximately 5% throttle and increasing braking power to 100% at 0% throttle position. This allows the pilot to control the downline speed with incredible precision. This is a big problem for electric motors as without the brake there is nothing to prevent wind milling on downlines. I managed to trade controllers with a friend and and have since tried out the downline break. It is a major improvement to the system and gives very good control of downline speed in all areas of the flight. It does take a bit of getting used to as it becomes important to now fly the throttle as idle as well which is something that most are not used to doing."
Vitalka is offline  
Old 10-29-2009, 10:27 PM
  #8  
Larry3215
Look out for that tree!!!
 
Larry3215's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Gig Harbor, Wa USA
Posts: 7,061
Default

Interesting. They must be doing some tricky programing so the break isnt active when the stick is moving UP or are they not starting the motor at all untill it reaches the +5% mark?

I can see how that might be usefull for the top 5% of pilots. Im no where near good enough to take advantage of that kind of controll
Larry3215 is offline  
Old 10-29-2009, 10:45 PM
  #9  
Octavius
Alien Surfer
 
Octavius's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 675
Default

On cars it's spring loaded to return to the 5% (or whatever the driver set it to). So when you're parked the throttle is at 5% which is unlike how we're used to. Other than that it sounds exactly the same.
Octavius is offline  
Old 10-30-2009, 02:51 AM
  #10  
Larry3215
Look out for that tree!!!
 
Larry3215's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Gig Harbor, Wa USA
Posts: 7,061
Default

It would be tricky to use no matter how they do it.

When I played with break settings on my 30% Yak I found that very small changes in breaking strength made all the difference between slowing your down lines and doing nothing at all. Too much break strength stopped the prop or nearly stopped the prop and that made for no slowing on the down lines.

Too little strength was just like wind milling and caused very little change in down line speed. If you got it just right it worked fairly well but it took a lot of fiddling and trial and error. I finally quit messing with it.

I cant imagine being fast enough on the sticks to play with it in real time but mostly I cant see being able to judge the effects on the fly. Downlines arent all THAT long and then your out of time
Larry3215 is offline  
Old 10-30-2009, 08:05 AM
  #11  
Vitalka
New Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 5
Default

Some modern F3A planes (e.g. Black Magic 3, Spark) has very stout and draggy fuses. Owners tells that in combination with correct prop braking they are so slow on downlines even requiring to add throttle.

Other area where prop braking is important is F3P (indoor pattern flying). A lot of pilots noticed that downline braking is more effective if motor tunned for some idle rotating. But as I sad the braking function in phoenix-10 ESC does not work in that case.
Vitalka is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
Tag
Power Systems
4
05-17-2008 07:50 PM
Sky Sharkster
Vintage and old timer models
4
05-10-2008 02:14 AM
papamac
Motors and Speed Controllers for sale & WTB
4
10-04-2005 11:37 PM
papamac
Motors and Speed Controllers for sale & WTB
0
10-04-2005 04:06 PM
papamac
Motors and Speed Controllers for sale & WTB
0
10-04-2005 04:03 PM

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Quick Reply: "F3A braking" on Phoenix ESC


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.

Page generated in 0.11285 seconds with 13 queries