should I get a watt meter? - WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight

RCU RSS Feed RC Unviverse General Electric Discussion forum rss feed

should I get a watt meter?

Old 08-09-2006, 11:50 PM
  #1  
RSS Feed
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 301
Default should I get a watt meter?

I've been flying RC now for a pretty long time and I've seen many people talking/using watt meters. I'm wondering if I should get one? I 've looked...

More...
RSS Feed is offline  
Old 08-10-2006, 12:13 AM
  #2  
Crash Test Dummy
Super Contributor
 
Crash Test Dummy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Sugar Grove
Posts: 2,748
Default

YES!! It will be the best thing you can buy if you plan on staying in electric flight. Without it you are at the mercy of what other people say is a good set up. It can save you from smoking your batteries and motors too. Well worth the price whatever brand you get. I have a Astroflight, it had been invaluable.

CTD
Crash Test Dummy is offline  
Old 08-10-2006, 12:33 AM
  #3  
Rugar
FAA# OUTLAW!
 
Rugar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: San Bernardino, Ca. USA
Posts: 2,621
Default

Can they read the response from here? Or do we have to respond to the questions directly on RCU?
Rugar is offline  
Old 08-10-2006, 01:48 AM
  #4  
Cowboy
Airborne Cowboy
 
Cowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: The Great Northwet
Posts: 136
Default

Originally Posted by Rugar View Post
Can they read the response from here? Or do we have to respond to the questions directly on RCU?
Good one
Cowboy is offline  
Old 08-10-2006, 04:07 AM
  #5  
Cas123
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 24
Default Re Wattmeter

I think a Wattmeter is a must have for any Electric flyer. Without one you simply can't tell if you are drawing too many amps from your Battery packs, overpowering your motors, Have the right prop. You can check how much volt drop occures at max load. very important to find if you are going to have Low Voltage Cutout (LVC) problems with your ESC. etc etc.

I've had a Astro Wattmeter and they work very well. However I've just bought a Hyperion E-meter, and I have to say they appear to be (the bees knees) as we used to say. The next generation. Very convenient to use and far more versitile. Take all the guesswork from setting up a power system.

All this results in far greater reliability and longer life of your power system and Plane. Translates to more much more flying time and fun. :p

Ron...
Cas123 is offline  
Old 08-10-2006, 04:12 AM
  #6  
jonnyjetprop
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 708
Default

Yes, I check all my planes before I fly and after any changes to battery or prop.

John
jonnyjetprop is offline  
Old 08-10-2006, 04:47 AM
  #7  
Cas123
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 24
Default

Yes its suprising how many times I've seen the magic smoke escape at the flying field when fliers simply assemble a new plane and throw it in the air on a wing and a prayer, hoping it will be ok.

I offer them use of my Wattmeter when I have it handy and quite often they end up having to change to a smaller prop so they don't roast their Batteries, ESC's and/or motors.

Remember one, or two at the most, prevented burnouts or crashes and you've more than paid off the cost of the meter.

Ron...
Cas123 is offline  
Old 08-10-2006, 08:00 AM
  #8  
Geoff_Gino
Geoff Ogden
 
Geoff_Gino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 628
Default

Don't know how an Electric flyer can live without one!!
Geoff_Gino is offline  
Old 08-23-2006, 03:54 PM
  #9  
Tucson Don
Tucson Don
 
Tucson Don's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Tucson, AZ where conditions are great for model flying
Posts: 108
Default Use of Wattmeter

My Astro Flight Wattmeter has small gage wires. How will it behave
with 3 cell lipos. Should I replace the wires with larger diameter?
Tucson Don is offline  
Old 08-23-2006, 08:29 PM
  #10  
Solid Hit
Just call me ... Bill
 
Solid Hit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Upstate of SC
Posts: 1,186
Default

Which one is it? The model 100 is really for micros but will measure to about 15 volts. The 101 should be OK.
Solid Hit is offline  
Old 08-23-2006, 09:19 PM
  #11  
Grasshopper
Some Assembly Required
 
Grasshopper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 12,070
Default

I use the Astro Flight Super watt meter on my 3S 2100 15C lipos with no problems. I don't know if this is a 100, 101 or watt (pardon the pun)
Grasshopper is offline  
Old 08-23-2006, 10:20 PM
  #12  
rcers
Super Contributor
 
rcers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Trophy Club TX
Posts: 6,314
Default

Originally Posted by Rugar View Post
Can they read the response from here? Or do we have to respond to the questions directly on RCU?
Rugar - did you ever find out if they get the responses on the RSS feed?

MIke
rcers is offline  
Old 08-23-2006, 10:32 PM
  #13  
Rugar
FAA# OUTLAW!
 
Rugar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: San Bernardino, Ca. USA
Posts: 2,621
Default

Originally Posted by rcers View Post
Rugar - did you ever find out if they get the responses on the RSS feed?

MIke
No I have not Mike, but I will make it a point to find out.
Rugar is offline  
Old 08-23-2006, 10:37 PM
  #14  
Rugar
FAA# OUTLAW!
 
Rugar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: San Bernardino, Ca. USA
Posts: 2,621
Default

Originally Posted by rcers View Post
Rugar - did you ever find out if they get the responses on the RSS feed?

MIke
Just found the answer.
http://www.wattflyer.com/forums/showthread.php?t=9700
Rugar is offline  
Old 08-23-2006, 10:47 PM
  #15  
SkunkWorks
Bank And Yank
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 29
Default

Ive got the Medusa Research power analyzer and it works great.
SkunkWorks is offline  
Old 02-20-2007, 04:30 AM
  #16  
john cook
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 14
Default

OK so where can I buy an AstroFlight Super Watt meter 101 on the internet
john cook is offline  
Old 02-20-2007, 05:54 AM
  #17  
N3CLI
Retired Pharmacist
 
N3CLI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Delray Beach Florida
Posts: 241
Default John

Originally Posted by john cook View Post
OK so where can I buy an AstroFlight Super Watt meter 101 on the internet
You can purchase directly from Astro on line. They have a web site and will ship to you.

It is invaluable !
N3CLI is offline  
Old 02-20-2007, 04:55 PM
  #18  
cyclops2
Super Contributor
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,957
Default

Fuel planes need a tachometer.
Electric planes need a wattmeter.

Very nice if you can have both to check everything, at the prop speed you want.
cyclops2 is offline  
Old 02-22-2007, 01:53 AM
  #19  
skiman762
FFFC
 
skiman762's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,008
Default

or better yet
http://www.espritmodel.com/index.asp...OD&ProdID=4690
and know for sure
skiman762 is offline  
Old 02-22-2007, 05:54 AM
  #20  
Crash Test Dummy
Super Contributor
 
Crash Test Dummy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Sugar Grove
Posts: 2,748
Default

Originally Posted by skiman762 View Post
Those look nice!! Kosh just posted a video the other day with all the data displayed on the screen of the video. Very cool, the video is here......it's post #757 enjoy.


http://www.wattflyer.com/forums/show...=11389&page=31

CTD
Crash Test Dummy is offline  
Old 02-24-2007, 02:14 AM
  #21  
jupiter1
Lost in space
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Jupiter , Florida
Posts: 88
Default

Yes , some of the best money I have spent on this hobby . Takes the quess work out of the set up process . Mine is about 4 years old , thats a long time in the world of electric RC planes . Been meaning to shop around to see how the technology has changed for watt meters .
jupiter1 is offline  
Old 03-02-2007, 09:39 PM
  #22  
JWilliams
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 456
Default

Would a $30 multimeter from radio shack suffice? I see they measure voltage up to 60 or 500 or something and can measure amps well above what any parkflyer setup will be using.
JWilliams is offline  
Old 03-02-2007, 10:01 PM
  #23  
rcers
Super Contributor
 
rcers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Trophy Club TX
Posts: 6,314
Default

Make sure it measures DC amps - not AC........

Mike
rcers is offline  
Old 03-05-2007, 08:37 AM
  #24  
john cook
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 14
Default

hi guys! I have been flying electrics using a Hyperion Litestorm 3s 11.1v 2500mah 20S battery pack. I charge with a 4s Cellpro charger from FMA. I now want to buy some extra battery packs (it takes too long to charge at the field) My motor draws 22 amps at full throttle. Should I be looking to upgrade? Is there a better pack available? Advice would be appreciated.
john cook is offline  
Old 03-07-2007, 06:10 AM
  #25  
QuietRCFly
Member
 
QuietRCFly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Bellevue, WA
Posts: 386
Default

Originally Posted by john cook View Post
hi guys! I have been flying electrics using a Hyperion Litestorm 3s 11.1v 2500mah 20S battery pack. I charge with a 4s Cellpro charger from FMA. I now want to buy some extra battery packs (it takes too long to charge at the field) My motor draws 22 amps at full throttle. Should I be looking to upgrade? Is there a better pack available? Advice would be appreciated.
It is hard to upgrade from Hyperion, but I am biases since that is what we carry in our shop. Thunder Power, Polyquest 20 and Flightpower EVO 20 packs are all very similar in quality to the Hyperions, but the Hyperions are typically priced the same or less than those brands. That pack is certainly fine for a 22 amp draw as you are always below 10C which should keep that pack happy and provide many flights. You could go smaller if you want to save weight, but of course you flight time would be reduced.
QuietRCFly is offline  

Quick Reply: should I get a watt meter?


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.

Page generated in 0.10250 seconds with 12 queries