Turnigy 40 A Plush ESC - WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight

Brushless Motor Construction Discuss design and construction of custom Brushless motors

Turnigy 40 A Plush ESC

Old 09-09-2008, 12:36 AM
  #1  
Toddy86
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Perth, West Australia
Posts: 56
Default Turnigy 40 A Plush ESC

Hi All,

I recently bought a Turnigy 40A Plush ESC for my T28 Trojan. The stock ESC was 25A but it burnt out and I thought I would get a bigger capacity to stop that happening again.

My question is this, the stock motor has a blue, black and red wire to conect to the ESC but the Turnighy ESC has 3 red wires (doh!!!). They are labelled A, B & C. Does anyone know which goes with which?

Also, can I damage anything with a 'trial and error' or will the motor just go the wrong way if I get it wrong? (I am presuming the middle wire on the motor goes with the middle wire on the ESC (B) so after that its 50-50.

Thanks in advance for your help.

Cheers,

Toddy
Toddy86 is offline  
Old 09-09-2008, 01:55 AM
  #2  
tzyoung
New Member
 
tzyoung's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 13
Default

The controller does not care which three wires are connected to the motor. If it spins the wrong way just switch two of the motor wires to reverse the direction. Switching motor wires won't damage anything just make sure and unplug the battery first.

Good Luck
-Trent
tzyoung is offline  
Old 10-06-2008, 11:24 PM
  #3  
cjg
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 210
Default

I use the same esc in my t-28 for the same reason. You will like it. Did you get the programming card? It was worth the extra few bucks.
cjg is offline  
Old 10-08-2008, 11:37 PM
  #4  
furn1593
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Huntington NY
Posts: 5
Default

I have one also, satisifed with it... im interested on the dirrerent timing modes and when to use what.. any info would be helpful.
furn1593 is offline  
Old 10-08-2008, 11:42 PM
  #5  
cjg
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 210
Default

I asked the same timing question on another forum. I ended up just using the medium and seems to fly fine with no overheating.
cjg is offline  
Old 10-09-2008, 03:54 AM
  #6  
Toddy86
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Perth, West Australia
Posts: 56
Default

I did get the programming card but I have no idea what was what so I just went with the defaults, I too would be interested in any info on the options, if anyone has any, I would love to see it.

It would help if it was written in very basic terms so my noob, idiot brain can understand it.

Cheers
Toddy86 is offline  
Old 10-09-2008, 03:56 AM
  #7  
ministeve2003
Class Clown
 
ministeve2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Montclair, California
Posts: 4,472
Default

I think it goes ....
Low Timing is for High KV motors
High Timing is for Low KV motors

Some of the Bigger Motors Need the High Timing, or they will burn out the esc... or cook the motor....

SK
ministeve2003 is offline  
Old 10-09-2008, 04:04 AM
  #8  
Toddy86
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Perth, West Australia
Posts: 56
Default

What does KV stand for?
Toddy86 is offline  
Old 10-09-2008, 04:09 AM
  #9  
Twmaster
Registered User
 
Twmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Dallas, TX, USA
Posts: 6,632
Default

KV= RPM per volt. So if you have a motor with a KV of 900 and connected it to an 11.1V lipo it would theoretically spin at 9,990 RPM

Timing does not have to do with KV as much as with motor design and number of poles. There was a nice description in the docs for a Hacker ESC. Let me see if I can dig it up and post back here later.
Twmaster is offline  
Old 10-09-2008, 04:19 AM
  #10  
Twmaster
Registered User
 
Twmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Dallas, TX, USA
Posts: 6,632
Default

Found it. From a Hacker ESC manual:

2-5 degrees for 2 pole motors (Hacker and other 2 pole)
10 degrees for 4 pole motors (Aveox, Astro) (Maximum RPM on Hacker motors)
18 degrees for 6 pole motors (Phasor, Plettenberg, Mega) (Maximum RPM for Aveox and Astro)
30 degrees for multi-pole motors (most outrunners) (AXi, Kohler some Astro) (Maximum RPM for Phasor, Plettenberg, Mega)
Hope that helps.
Twmaster is offline  
Old 10-09-2008, 03:01 PM
  #11  
Dr Kiwi
Super Contributor
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,726
Default

Mike - that advice may work well for Hacker ESCs, but as far as I can tell every brand is different, and exactly the opposite recommendations may apply - see, for example, Castle Creations Phoenix - quote from Bernie:


As a rule of thumb, the default timing advance give the best trade off between power and efficiency. If your system runs hot lower the timing. I can't think of a instance where you would need or want high timing.
Dr Kiwi is offline  
Old 10-09-2008, 04:33 PM
  #12  
ministeve2003
Class Clown
 
ministeve2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Montclair, California
Posts: 4,472
Default

Here's another qoute I found

WARNING: For some large motors, you must use High timing mode. Failure to do so will result in a burnt esc.
http://www.hobbycity.com/hobbycity/s...(USA_Warehouse)

SK
ministeve2003 is offline  
Old 10-09-2008, 04:36 PM
  #13  
ministeve2003
Class Clown
 
ministeve2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Montclair, California
Posts: 4,472
Default

I have a motor that gives issues on low startup If I don't have it on High timing...

SK
ministeve2003 is offline  
Old 10-09-2008, 04:46 PM
  #14  
groundrushesup
Super Contributor
 
groundrushesup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Pflugerville, TX
Posts: 2,338
Default

Originally Posted by ministeve2003 View Post
I have a motor that gives issues on low startup If I don't have it on High timing...

SK

Yeah, a couple of my CommonSense motors will do the ol' Tweak-n-chirp if the ESC is not on HT, but will run fine if you give it a little turn.
groundrushesup is offline  
Old 10-09-2008, 08:42 PM
  #15  
ministeve2003
Class Clown
 
ministeve2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Montclair, California
Posts: 4,472
Default

Originally Posted by groundrushesup View Post
Yeah, a couple of my CommonSense motors will do the ol' Tweak-n-chirp if the ESC is not on HT, but will run fine if you give it a little turn.
thanks, I couldn't figure out how to describe it...now I know... Tweak-n-chirp....LOL

SK
ministeve2003 is offline  
Old 04-22-2009, 01:49 AM
  #16  
Nakarti
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 1
Default

Originally Posted by groundrushesup View Post
Yeah, a couple of my CommonSense motors will do the ol' Tweak-n-chirp if the ESC is not on HT, but will run fine if you give it a little turn.
I think the ESC in use affects that as well: I had one that would hesitate(what I call it) on Low timing, but fried on high, and a current one, same motor, that hesitates anyway(cheap esc, high rating) but is worse, and even hotter, with medium to high timing.
FWIW it measures timing in T's that are not elsewhere defined.
...
Found a better answer (searching for "brushless advance-timing" ) from Castle:
((Can't post the link but it's the second result on Google))

Last edited by Nakarti; 04-22-2009 at 01:57 AM. Reason: I found a much better answer
Nakarti is offline  
Old 04-22-2009, 02:01 AM
  #17  
1320fastback
Member
 
1320fastback's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Northern occupied Mexico
Posts: 418
Default

Originally Posted by Toddy86 View Post
I did get the programming card but I have no idea what was what so I just went with the defaults, I too would be interested in any info on the options, if anyone has any, I would love to see it.

It would help if it was written in very basic terms so my noob, idiot brain can understand it.
Cheers
I use the prop brake on my Easystar that has the same ESC, it stops the prop from turning at zero throttle and this dramatically decreases the drag which allows for faster and longer gliding. Also useful for AP as there is no vibration.

Last edited by 1320fastback; 06-04-2009 at 11:45 PM.
1320fastback is offline  
Old 06-03-2009, 08:52 AM
  #18  
Scottrik
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 13
Default

Originally Posted by Twmaster View Post
KV= RPM per volt. So if you have a motor with a KV of 900 and connected it to an 11.1V lipo it would theoretically spin at 9,990 RPM
I believe kV is actually SUPPOSED to be "thousand rpm/volt", though the common usage has been bastardized due to marketing hype/hysteria where "bigger numbers are better".

The common usage seems to be much as you describe which is actually RPM per volt. The proper kV for your proposed 9900RPM motor on 11.1 volts would be .9 kV. Same value when multiplied out, but the decimal is moved over 3 places to give the thousands of rpm per volt. And yup, 900 definitely seems like it should be better than .9 ...I gotta get me one-a them.
Scottrik is offline  
Old 06-03-2009, 07:33 PM
  #19  
ministeve2003
Class Clown
 
ministeve2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Montclair, California
Posts: 4,472
Default

I looked at that castle link... what a load of ... first off... they're talking about a inrunner motor... and secondly.... it's full of bull....

SK
ministeve2003 is offline  
Old 06-04-2009, 07:55 PM
  #20  
witeliduche
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 1
Default

Hello people. I see you are profs. in constructions. Can someone help me and give info about FLAPS SYSTEMS (how they work) ? I mean princips, better ways of constracting flaps.
witeliduche is offline  
Old 06-04-2009, 08:51 PM
  #21  
aramid
Member
 
aramid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: CB, IA
Posts: 342
Default

I've got the same ESC, and while I haven't actually put a flight on it yet, I've been pretty impressed. The tuning card is excellent, although some of the options are indeed poorly explained. There's no way at all to tell what timing you should use for a given motor, so, like you, I have left the timing at its default medium. In ground testing this seems to be a fair choice for my Turnigy 35-30 1400kv.

Originally Posted by Scottrik View Post
I believe kV is actually SUPPOSED to be "thousand rpm/volt", though the common usage has been bastardized due to marketing hype/hysteria where "bigger numbers are better".
Are you sure? I don't mean to be snarky, because I don't know for certain myself, and am genuinely curious. I've heard this claim a few times before, but this interpretation seems very much in the minority. I wonder if the 'K' in 'Kv' is what throws people off, assuming it's meant to represent 'thousand' as it does in many situations. Remeber that 'K' is also often used for a mathematical constant, which I assume it's doing in this situation as well.

Originally Posted by ministeve2003 View Post
I looked at that castle link... what a load of ... first off... they're talking about a inrunner motor... and secondly.... it's full of bull....
I'm not sure it's full of bull, really. The only controversial subject on the page is the claim that brushless motors make theoretically unlimited torque, and my experience with RC cars leads me to agree with the comment. Running a brushed motor, you can change your gearing to give better top speed or better torque, but not both. With a brushless, you seem to get exactly the same torque, wheelies, and acceleration no matter how you gear; the only things that change are your top speed and your motor temperatures.

Originally Posted by witeliduche View Post
Hello people. I see you are profs. in constructions. Can someone help me and give info about FLAPS SYSTEMS (how they work) ? I mean princips, better ways of constracting flaps.
Most likely, but not in this thread. If you have a question, find the appropriate sub-forum (either Aerodynamics or Scratch and Kit Built Aircraft) and make a new discussion thread specifically for your question.
aramid is offline  
Old 06-05-2009, 02:36 AM
  #22  
ron_van_sommeren
homo ludens modelisticus
 
ron_van_sommeren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: near Nijmegen, Nederland
Posts: 1,144
Default

Originally Posted by Scottrik View Post
I believe kV is actually SUPPOSED to be "thousand rpm/volt" ...
The prefix for 'kilo' is 'k', not 'K'. 'Kv' is a physical quantity, the generator constant, expressed in the unit rpm/volt, the 'K' stands for the German 'Konstant'. So, a motor has a Kv of e.g. 1500rpm/volt, or Kv=1500rpm/volt. Motor 'has 1500Kv' is wrong even though manuacturers/people do it that way. It's the same as saying 'my neighbour lives 200length from our place'.
Note that in the non-RC world Kv is expressed in volt/rpm, which makes the term 'generator constanct' easier to understand/see: voltage produced for given rpm. (All electric motors are and work as generators, also when 'motoring').

About motor constants
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=185271

Vriendelijke groeten Ron
ron_van_sommeren is offline  
Old 06-05-2009, 02:47 AM
  #23  
ron_van_sommeren
homo ludens modelisticus
 
ron_van_sommeren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: near Nijmegen, Nederland
Posts: 1,144
Default

Originally Posted by Toddy86 View Post
... I recently bought a Turnigy 40A Plush ESC for my T28 Trojan. The stock ESC was 25A but it burnt out and I thought I would get a bigger capacity to stop that happening again...
About de-rating controllers, starting at 'for everyone else':
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showt...0#post11476940


Originally Posted by Toddy86 View Post
... Also, can I damage anything with a 'trial and error' or will the motor just go the wrong way if I get it wrong? (I am presuming the middle wire on the motor goes with the middle wire on the ESC (B) so after that its 50-50. ...
And NEVER EVER reverse battery wires to reverse motor rotation. Will cost you a controller. This goes for all types of eletronics: tv, chargers, car radio ...

All tree ESC/motor wires are equivalent, but not the same. They carry the same waveform, albeit spaced in time (120degrees).
More waveform pictures, English explanation
http://www.aerodesign.de/peter/
-> Why does the Torquemax rotate so slowly and so forcefully
and/or
-> SPEEDY-BL self made brushless controller

ron_van_sommeren is offline  
Old 07-11-2010, 06:31 AM
  #24  
crobar
Member
 
crobar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 85
Default

I am buying a Turnigy 35-42C and possibly a Plush 40A esc. I have read a lot of discussion regarding the programming of esc's and would like to know if I will need to program this esc or can I just plug it in and it will work?
crobar is offline  
Old 07-11-2010, 06:50 AM
  #25  
crobar
Member
 
crobar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 85
Default

What is the difference Between the Plush and the Sentry.
Will they both work in the same application?
crobar is offline  

Quick Reply: Turnigy 40 A Plush ESC


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.

Page generated in 0.15324 seconds with 12 queries