Electric Ducted Fan Jets Discuss electric ducted fan jets here including setup tips, power systems, flying techniques, etc.

Esc plug地play

Old 03-13-2021, 01:30 AM
  #1  
jangodog
Member
Thread Starter
 
jangodog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Odense Denmark
Posts: 137
Default Esc plug地play

Hi i want a more powerful esc in my Eflite Viper and wanna know if i can install one like this :

https://www.motionrc.eu/products/fre...-v2-049d002002 ?

Is it just Plug地play or do i need some kind of programmer card after i壇 put it in the plane?
jangodog is offline  
Old 03-13-2021, 02:32 PM
  #2  
quorneng
Super Contributor
 
quorneng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Cheshire, UK
Posts: 2,036
Default

jangodog
Most ESC in most applications work fine on the default factory setting. All mine have even on 35 mm to 70 mm EDFs.
Has your old ESC failed?
Fitting a bigger capacity ESC does not deliver any more power to an existing set up unless you are also fitting a battery with more cells.
Then you have to worry about the whether the motor can stand the extra amps.
quorneng is offline  
Old 03-13-2021, 03:44 PM
  #3  
jangodog
Member
Thread Starter
 
jangodog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Odense Denmark
Posts: 137
Default

Okay. What if i then just switch the motor to a 2950kV instead an leave the 70amp in the Viper? Heard that the 3300 lipos would work with the motor upgrade. The esc works fine.
jangodog is offline  
Old 03-13-2021, 05:38 PM
  #4  
Wildflyer
Past President of PSSF
 
Wildflyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Lacey WA, 1 mile E of Mushroom Corner
Posts: 2,195
Default

Changing the motor to a different more powerful one may very well push the current beyond what your ESC can handle.
Some EDF's are real power hungry,I have a 70mm that requires a minimum of a 90amp ESC

Need to study what thee new motor requires and then see if your ESC can handle it.

Also if you change the ESC, you my need to adjust the programming in the new one, My motor requires timing set to high.
Wildflyer is offline  
Old 03-13-2021, 08:16 PM
  #5  
jangodog
Member
Thread Starter
 
jangodog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Odense Denmark
Posts: 137
Default

I don’t know much about these things but i could start with the bigger motor. Don’t want to spend money on unnecessary electronics. I really like the Viper though only hate that i can’t keep it at home
without taking off the wing because of lack of space. Looking for a way for easier assembly/disasembly
method Thank’s for your input.

Last edited by jangodog; 03-13-2021 at 10:31 PM.
jangodog is offline  
Old 03-13-2021, 11:17 PM
  #6  
ron_van_sommeren
homo ludens modelisticus
 
ron_van_sommeren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: near Nijmegen, Nederland
Posts: 1,345
Default

The velocity konstant Kv (in rpm/volt), gives no indication for motorsize, nor for max. motor power (in watt), nor for max.current (in amp鑽e).
Both the motor in your toothbrush and the motor in a 1:1 train motor can have the same Kv.

Last edited by ron_van_sommeren; 03-14-2021 at 12:23 AM.
ron_van_sommeren is offline  
Old 03-14-2021, 12:49 AM
  #7  
quorneng
Super Contributor
 
quorneng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Cheshire, UK
Posts: 2,036
Default

jangodog
If you love your Viper then do it and your pocket a favour by leaving it alone!
If you are after more power then trial and error is not the way to go with an EDF.
Only do a change if there is a recommendation from someone who has proved it works by flying with it in a Viper and then follow the recommended changes to the letter.
All electric flying is a compromise. The manufacturer will have selected components that work adequately and reliably. Change something and others may suffer.

quorneng is offline  
Old 03-14-2021, 10:21 AM
  #8  
jangodog
Member
Thread Starter
 
jangodog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Odense Denmark
Posts: 137
Default

I hear you. I値l leave the motor setup at stock and just getting either a new fuselage or a hole new Viper.
Thank痴.
jangodog is offline  
Old 03-14-2021, 08:27 PM
  #9  
ron_van_sommeren
homo ludens modelisticus
 
ron_van_sommeren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: near Nijmegen, Nederland
Posts: 1,345
Default

Current and power drawn are proportional to Kv cubed. Even a seemingly small change in Kv can give quite an unexpected increase, see examples below.
Whether the motor can handle that increase is a different story, depends on motor max.current and max.power rating.

Expensive example.
A 25% increase in velocity konstant kvウ would (1.25)ウ=2 fold current and power drawn, 100% extra.

Extreme example.
Doubling velocity konstant kvウ would 2ウ=8 fold current and power drawn.

Last edited by ron_van_sommeren; 03-14-2021 at 10:49 PM.
ron_van_sommeren is offline  
Old 03-14-2021, 09:08 PM
  #10  
jangodog
Member
Thread Starter
 
jangodog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Odense Denmark
Posts: 137
Default

RVS, you really got the RC skills I know very little about these things.
jangodog is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
AEAJR
General Electric Discussions
276
11-14-2021 06:11 PM
AEAJR
Beginners
166
11-02-2021 02:03 PM
CHELLIE
Hi-Performance and Sailplanes
2015
05-28-2020 10:50 PM
mclarkson
Power Systems
15
06-14-2016 09:52 PM
cver019
General Electric Discussions
7
07-04-2015 06:04 AM

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Quick Reply: Esc plug地play


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright ゥ 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.

Page generated in 0.08894 seconds with 11 queries