Batteries & Chargers Discuss Li-P, Li-Ion, NiMh, Nicad battery technology and the chargers that juice 'em up!

60 Amp 12 VDC "Portable DC Supply"

Old 09-14-2011, 11:56 PM
kyleservicetech
Super Contributor

Default 60 Amp 12 VDC "Portable DC Supply"

I've been flying electric models now for some 30 years, starting off with rewound motors from work, progressing through Astroflight brush and brushless motors, to the Hacker brushless motors now in my models.

Along with this, is five 6S2P A123 packs, two 4S1P packs, and one 6S1P pack. Charging these batteries eventually wound up with the Cellpro Powerlab 8 charger, a very fine charger that can pretty much charge anything out there.

But, that giant scale model of mine uses 24 A123 cells configured as a 12S2P pack in flight, and as 6S4P pack for charging. The DC supply is a PAIR of 120 Ampere Hour deep cycle batteries connected in parallel.

That Cellpro '8 charger pulls 40 Amperes out of those deep cycle batteries, and in doing so, reduces their ampere rating to much less than 120 Ampere hours, because of the high drain of the Cellpro charger.

By count, I've now gone through FIVE of those 120 Ampere Hour deep cycle batteries in the past four years! The last day of flying got just one flight on the 12S2P pack before the two deep cycle batteries went flat.

These deep cycle batteries have been well maintained, always recharged after flights with a deep cycle battery charger, always had proper water in the cells. But in my experience they just don't hold up.

Thought about those gulf cart batteries, but needing two at $100 plus each, and not knowing if they can handle a continuous 40 ampere drain made that a questionable solution. Even looked at those giant truck batteries, but it would take a crane to move one out of my pickup truck.

So, the "portable 60 Amp 12 VDC charger" was built. Yup, it is noisy, it smells so you can't run it in your home. But as long as it has gas, it will provide those 60 Amps all day long.