Maxamps discussion Welcome to the Maxamps.com support forum

TX pack for new Spektrum DX7

Old 04-27-2007, 08:00 PM
  #1  
Franny
Stupid Gravity!
Thread Starter
 
Franny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Arvada, Colorado (just moved...)
Posts: 504
Default TX pack for new Spektrum DX7

Hi Jason,

Do you have a LiPoly pack for the DX7 (TX)? I think they offer an option for one as well...

Thanks,

Franny
Franny is offline  
Old 04-28-2007, 04:33 AM
  #2  
JAM MaxAmps
Member
 
JAM MaxAmps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Nine Mile Falls, WA
Posts: 216
Default

Franny what the pack size......dimensions and volts.........I run a Dualsky 3 cell Li-po in my Eclipse 7 and it works great.............I charge it about once a month. See what you can find out and I'll run it by Austin.
JAM MaxAmps is offline  
Old 05-26-2007, 06:17 PM
  #3  
aviatordave
Super Contributor
 
aviatordave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Iowa
Posts: 6,233
Default DX7 battery size

Originally Posted by JAM View Post
Franny what the pack size......dimensions and volts.........I run a Dualsky 3 cell Li-po in my Eclipse 7 and it works great.............I charge it about once a month. See what you can find out and I'll run it by Austin.
Here are some pics with dimensions. So far I have not had a battery-low problem, but the fact of having to charge it for 16 hrs kind of blows. That is where a lipo comes in

The pack says 'McNair Ni-MH AA1500mAh 9.6V'

Is McNair a popular battery? I've never seen the name before.

The pack measures 3 3/4" long by 1 1/4" square. There is about a inch of slop in the battery compartment for a longer battery if needed.

See whatch can do -
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_3764.JPG
Views:	1336
Size:	92.4 KB
ID:	32060   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_3765.JPG
Views:	1305
Size:	73.0 KB
ID:	32061   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_3767.JPG
Views:	1620
Size:	141.5 KB
ID:	32062  

Last edited by aviatordave; 05-26-2007 at 06:44 PM.
aviatordave is offline  
Old 05-27-2007, 06:59 AM
  #4  
Franny
Stupid Gravity!
Thread Starter
 
Franny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Arvada, Colorado (just moved...)
Posts: 504
Default

Thanks Dave! I've been a total slacker and we've been out on vacation. I really appreciate you getting this posted.

Franny
Franny is offline  
Old 05-28-2007, 12:59 AM
  #5  
JAM MaxAmps
Member
 
JAM MaxAmps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Nine Mile Falls, WA
Posts: 216
Default

Can you guys get me a photo of the connector also?
JAM MaxAmps is offline  
Old 05-28-2007, 01:18 AM
  #6  
aviatordave
Super Contributor
 
aviatordave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Iowa
Posts: 6,233
Default

Originally Posted by JAM View Post
Can you guys get me a photo of the connector also?

here ya go. I was afraid I would lose my model memory if I unplugged it, but it must also have a onboard battery.

kinda cheesy looking....but here it is.

dave
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	IMGP2055.JPG
Views:	1041
Size:	176.5 KB
ID:	32226   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMGP2058.JPG
Views:	1151
Size:	203.2 KB
ID:	32227  
aviatordave is offline  
Old 06-03-2007, 07:13 PM
  #7  
aviatordave
Super Contributor
 
aviatordave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Iowa
Posts: 6,233
Default

Originally Posted by JAM View Post
Can you guys get me a photo of the connector also?
Whats the verdict, Boss?
aviatordave is offline  
Old 06-03-2007, 07:49 PM
  #8  
JAM MaxAmps
Member
 
JAM MaxAmps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Nine Mile Falls, WA
Posts: 216
Default

We need a conversion here...our pack measures 95mm L X 30mm W X 28mm H and that connector looks very similar to the hitec plug that is in my Eclipse 7...... our pack comes with a Futaba plug on it.......I swaped mine out for the Hitec plug. I had a computer program calculator that was on my machine before the hard drive scrub, it did conversions but now I can remember where I got the program from.
JAM MaxAmps is offline  
Old 06-03-2007, 08:13 PM
  #9  
JAM MaxAmps
Member
 
JAM MaxAmps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Nine Mile Falls, WA
Posts: 216
Default

Ok found the program and here's the measurements in inches 3.7 X 1.18 X 1.10...............by the looks of it it should fit..........and man do they last.
JAM MaxAmps is offline  
Old 06-04-2007, 05:13 AM
  #10  
aviatordave
Super Contributor
 
aviatordave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Iowa
Posts: 6,233
Default

do you know if the 11.1 V will be ok? the stock batt. says 9.6V, but when I power up the xmtr, the V on the LED says 11.5 V. You guys dont happen to have a DX7 to use as a test bed do ya?
aviatordave is offline  
Old 06-04-2007, 01:40 PM
  #11  
JAM MaxAmps
Member
 
JAM MaxAmps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Nine Mile Falls, WA
Posts: 216
Default

Dave My Eclispe 7 Stock pack is the same way..........and I get the 12 volt start point with my Li-Po pack and it doesn't hurt it at all.........and soon I plan on switching over to the XtremePower 2.4 add-on that supports a five mile range.....And I don't have to buy a new TX.
JAM MaxAmps is offline  
Old 07-14-2007, 04:55 AM
  #12  
NUMB-LOCK
New Member
 
NUMB-LOCK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 15
Question

Originally Posted by JAM MaxAmps View Post
We need a conversion here...our pack measures 95mm L X 30mm W X 28mm H and that connector looks very similar to the hitec plug that is in my Eclipse 7...... our pack comes with a Futaba plug on it.......I swaped mine out for the Hitec plug. I had a computer program calculator that was on my machine before the hard drive scrub, it did conversions but now I can remember where I got the program from.
Hi Jason, when you swapped out the futaba plug with the Hitec plug, did you crimp on the new one? Solder it on? If crimping, which tool?

Thanks,

Bob I.
NUMB-LOCK is offline  
Old 07-14-2007, 02:04 PM
  #13  
JAM MaxAmps
Member
 
JAM MaxAmps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Nine Mile Falls, WA
Posts: 216
Default

Hey Bob, I just cut off the Futaba plug and did the same with the old Hitec pack....the just solder and heat shrink.......done.
JAM MaxAmps is offline  
Old 02-03-2008, 05:16 PM
  #14  
LRAFB
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2
Default spektrum dx6 dx7 NiCd NiMH LiPo battery replacement

Fellas,
I'm active duty military at Little Rock AFB (hence LRAFB for a handle) and sure would appreciate your help and advice.

I have a spektrum dx6 and the battery life blooows...
It is NiCD 600mAh, can I replace it with a stock NiMH from a DX7?
The DX7 spektrum battery says " spektrum nimh aa1500mah 9.6 "
My fear is the NiCD DX6 won't charge a NiMH... (but I do have a Hobbico Accu-Cycle Pro Series Elite lipo charger...so maybe that doesn't matter..???)

Do you have a better solution? Where can I go to buy ***any*** battery that works for a long time and is an easy swap.

Don't think the Air Force "web gestapo" will allow access to "fun web sites" like this, so please also reply to [email protected]

Thanks fellas! I really appreciate it,
Derek
LRAFB is offline  
Old 02-04-2008, 01:01 AM
  #15  
aviatordave
Super Contributor
 
aviatordave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Iowa
Posts: 6,233
Default

Derek,

Try this

http://www.dimensionengineering.com/...ektrum_mod.htm

Hope that helps, it will lengthen the battery life about 35-40%. Just a little soldering...
aviatordave is offline  
Old 02-04-2008, 01:45 AM
  #16  
LRAFB
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2
Default

I just ordered one... Thank you!
Still like to find a bigger lithium polymer or NiMH for the DX6 , if they are out there...
LRAFB is offline  
Old 02-04-2008, 11:17 PM
  #17  
aviatordave
Super Contributor
 
aviatordave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Iowa
Posts: 6,233
Default

I've asked that as well. I'm not confident what will happen if I replace the 9.6V battery pack with a 11.1V pack. I'm still getting long run times on my DX7 pack so it isnt to much of an issue yet.
aviatordave is offline  
Old 02-04-2008, 11:32 PM
  #18  
JAM MaxAmps
Member
 
JAM MaxAmps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Nine Mile Falls, WA
Posts: 216
Default

I'm running a 2500 mAh 11.1 volt in My DX7 and have had no issues at all. A friend is using the same pack in his new 9303 2.4 system with no troubles also.

Jason
JAM MaxAmps is offline  
Old 07-27-2008, 10:13 PM
  #19  
Madman
Bob
 
Madman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: San Diego, CA (USA)
Posts: 185
Default Another voice in the wilderness ...

Found this thread when I came up with a blank screen in my DX-7 yesterday after a 30 hour attempted recharge. My Tx was purchased in April 2007, and this is the first time I've removed the battery. Like others in this thread, the label on the Batt reads:
McNAIR
Ni-MH AA1500mAh 9.6V
Also like others here, the onscreen display earlier read anywhere from 10.5 to 11.6 V, but never 9.6V. Also, after all earlier recharges, the little slide bar indicator graphic on the LED display of the DX-7 has NEVER showed FULL, even when displaying 11.6V numerically as the current voltage available.

Has anyone here found another Ni-MH replacement? Spektrum's home site only has a 600mAh NiCD (reportedly for the DX-6) ... but none listed for the DX-7. What are the ramifications of going to that lower capacity battery? Longevity (endurance)? Here's the link: http://www.spektrumrc.com/Products/D...ProdID=SPM7001

Spektrum is really slow in responding, usually, but eventually they do.

Has anyone found a faster Spektrum plugin the wall charger? I've read rumors that they have one that works a lot better than the 30+ hour dog that came with mine.
Thx for any/all replies.
Madman is offline  
Old 07-28-2008, 05:13 PM
  #20  
Hughes500Bob
Full Scale Pilot
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Southeast PA
Posts: 197
Default

Dualsky 2500 TXB-25003JR from http://2dogrc.com

The new Spektrum SPM9522 charger is 110 mah which is double the original one.
Hughes500Bob is offline  
Old 07-28-2008, 06:50 PM
  #21  
Madman
Bob
 
Madman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: San Diego, CA (USA)
Posts: 185
Thumbs up Thx for the feedback

Originally Posted by Hughes500Bob View Post
Dualsky 2500 TXB-25003JR from http://2dogrc.com

The new Spektrum SPM9522 charger is 110 mah which is double the original one.
Thanks, H500B ... I noted the caution:
WARNING! DO NOT CHARGE the BATTERY IN THE RADIO! ONLY USE LI-POLY CHARGER!
In which case, the SPM9522 charger would be moot, correct?
Madman is offline  
Old 07-28-2008, 07:01 PM
  #22  
Hughes500Bob
Full Scale Pilot
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Southeast PA
Posts: 197
Default

So Sorry .... I see you have a DX6. The analog voltage regulator in a DX6 "may" not handle a LiPo without the Dimension Engineering digital voltage regulator upgrade ..... which is not easy to do without a lot of soldering / desoldering experience. Seems some are using it with success.

That Spektrum number I gave you is a 110 mAh NiMH charger and would work with the DX7 1500 mAh NiMH STOCK battery.

You could also make up your own Tx pack using Sanyo Eneloop batteries. Be careful of the polarity to the charge plug as Spektrum uses the outside case for positive and the core for negative which is backwards from industry standard.

Last edited by Hughes500Bob; 07-28-2008 at 07:39 PM.
Hughes500Bob is offline  
Old 07-28-2008, 09:30 PM
  #23  
Madman
Bob
 
Madman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: San Diego, CA (USA)
Posts: 185
Default AOK

Originally Posted by Hughes500Bob View Post
So Sorry .... I see you have a DX6. The analog voltage regulator in a DX6 "may" not handle a LiPo without the Dimension Engineering digital voltage regulator upgrade ..... which is not easy to do without a lot of soldering / desoldering experience. Seems some are using it with success.

That Spektrum number I gave you is a 110 mAh NiMH charger and would work with the DX7 1500 mAh NiMH STOCK battery.

You could also make up your own Tx pack using Sanyo Eneloop batteries. Be careful of the polarity to the charge plug as Spektrum uses the outside case for positive and the core for negative which is backwards from industry standard.
Nope ... your recommendation was most welcome. I do in fact have a DX-7, so your batt recommendation should work. 2500mAh sure beats the standard 1500mAh load, but, since it's a LiPo, I shouldn't need to worry about the Spektrum "fast-charger", since my flight-battery charger will do the job. THX for the responses.
Madman is offline  
Old 08-07-2008, 07:05 PM
  #24  
JAM MaxAmps
Member
 
JAM MaxAmps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Nine Mile Falls, WA
Posts: 216
Default

Guys this thread was about our Li-Po TX'er packs. If your going to talk about another companies product please start a thread in that companies section and not ours.

Thank you and Best regards,

Jason
JAM MaxAmps is offline  
Old 08-07-2008, 07:13 PM
  #25  
Liquidity
Combat Vet
 
Liquidity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: GA
Posts: 2,049
Default

Jason,

I run a lipo in my DX7. I know Spektrum recommends against it, but I am curious what MaxAmps official stand on this issue is.
Liquidity is offline  

Quick Reply: TX pack for new Spektrum DX7


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.

Page generated in 0.12277 seconds with 16 queries