Beginners New to e-power flying? Get the low down in here from experienced e-power RC pilots!

Sr Telemaster E-Conversion

Old 01-11-2011, 06:11 PM
Jlbrad1

Default Sr Telemaster E-Conversion

I am interested in converting my Sr Telemaster to electric and need a little guidance. I have reviewed a few sites and threads but still a little confused.
Specs on plane:
Weight - 7lb (no motor, just RX, RX batt, servos)
Length - 65"
Wingspan 96"

I have looked at the AXI 4130/16, just not sure of the setup (ESC, battery, etc..)

I am new to electric, have a few park fliers (pre-canned motors, batteries, and ESC). I really enjoy the convenience and no mess. I love my Tele and want to get it up on some green power.

There is a combo on maxxprod.com/mpi/mpi-264.html (Combo 60A) that looks to be suitable.
Motor -HC5030-390
ESC - Castle Creations 75 Phoenix Ice 75A
Battery -? I would like medium to long flying times
Charger -?

I will be towing a sail plane at times so the motor in the combo 60A should have the extra torque i would need. I will more than likely spin a 14X10 prop.

If I go with the combo 60A, any direction on the battery (lipo) and charger setup would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Jlbrad1
Old 01-11-2011, 07:57 PM
Saddlebum
The Old Guy Returneth...

Jbrad1, nice to see your post.

I am doing exactly what you are doing, as we speak. Just about to open the box to start.

I went with a .60 size equivalent motor, 80 amp esc, probably a 14x10 also (but that will be finalized after some wattmeter testing).

My battery choice is a 5S, 5,000 mAh Turnigy Nano-Tech. My motor can handle the voltage.

I plan to start flying on one battery to measure the time in the air then (perhaps) add a second battery in parallel to double the flying time.

I am a strong believer in FMA products and use their CellPro 10S charger for all my big LiPos.

Links are included in blue, above. Keep me posted on your progress and I'll keep you posted on mine.

...The Bum
Old 01-11-2011, 09:44 PM