General Electric Discussions Talk about topics related to e-powered RC flying

Apprentice S 15e ESC Programming Mode

Old 07-15-2013, 07:04 PM
  #1  
dereckbc
Super Contributor
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 1,231
Default Apprentice S 15e ESC Programming Mode

Hey fellow Apprentice S owners I have ran into a problem getting the ESC in Programming Mode. Short strory is I cannot get the ESC to go into Programming Mode.

Before anyone says call Horizon Hobby Tech Support, I have already done that. HH cannot figure it out. The HH rep says to take my plane to a local Hobby Shop and have them use a different Receiver (non SAFE RX) to see if that will work. What the HH Rep suspects is the new SAFE RX in the plane will not allow it to access the ESC Programming Mode, but they do not know....

So my question to you Apprentice S owners have any of you ran into this problem. If so did you figure out a work around?

What I want to do is set the Motor Brake to ON.
dereckbc is offline  
Old 07-20-2013, 11:07 PM
  #2  
AEAJR
Community Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: NY, USA
Posts: 5,852
Default

I don't have an apprentice, but let me ask, do you have the instructions on how to enter program mode?

Do you have another receiver?
AEAJR is offline  
Old 07-20-2013, 11:31 PM
  #3  
fhhuber
Super Contributor
 
fhhuber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 4,786
Default

The issue usually has to do with 2.4 ghz. The start-up of the RX will send the "failsafe" positions to the servos and ESC. Since we bind and set the failsafe to low throttle the ESC sees that and that prevents it from going to programming mode.

REMOVE THE PROPELLER!

Re-bind with throttle set to the correct position for initiating programming mode. (leave the stick in that position)

Now you should be able to program the ESC. Make the desired changes.

Rebind again with the TX set for 0 throttle.

Test results

If all is satisfactory NOW you can put the prop back on.
fhhuber is offline  
Old 07-21-2013, 01:12 AM
  #4  
dereckbc
Super Contributor
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 1,231
Default

Originally Posted by AEAJR View Post
I don't have an apprentice, but let me ask, do you have the instructions on how to enter program mode?
Yes most certainly as it came with the plane an Eflite 30 amp ESC 1030B model. Numerous individuals including HH service reps have tried.

Originally Posted by AEAJR View Post
Do you have another receiver?
Yes in a round about way. HH Service Rep had me take the plane to a local hobby shop to try another receiver. It worked just fine and I was able to access Programming Mode. HH is sending me another receiver after reporting that.
dereckbc is offline  
Old 07-21-2013, 01:13 AM
  #5  
dereckbc
Super Contributor
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 1,231
Default

Originally Posted by fhhuber View Post
The issue usually has to do with 2.4 ghz. The start-up of the RX will send the "failsafe" positions to the servos and ESC. Since we bind and set the failsafe to low throttle the ESC sees that and that prevents it from going to programming mode.

REMOVE THE PROPELLER!

Re-bind with throttle set to the correct position for initiating programming mode. (leave the stick in that position)

Now you should be able to program the ESC. Make the desired changes.

Rebind again with the TX set for 0 throttle.

Test results

If all is satisfactory NOW you can put the prop back on.
I will give that a try. THX
dereckbc is offline  
Old 11-30-2015, 09:09 PM
  #6  
UCR1
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 1
Default

I know this is an old post but I registered here to follow up on this, cause I was having the same issues, and couldnt find any info online to help.

I recently bought an eflite apprentice (with "SAFE"), and was also having issues entering the esc programming mode. I narrowed it down to a conflict with the SAFE receiver initializing while the esc is powering on (when it should be entering programming mode). I assumed the SAFE system initialization is interrupting the "full throttle" input.

I figured out how to work around this by doing the steps below. I dont have another receiver without SAFE to use for programming the esc, which would be easier than my work around....

1) REMOVE YOUR PROP FOR SAFETY, lost digits make it hard to fly

2) You will need another battery (6v NiMH or some other way to power the receiver for programming the esc). By default, the apprentice receiver is powered off the lipo / esc, and the receiver is powered via the "throttle" plug (red wire) on the receiver. However you can, instead, power the receiver via the "bind" port, to initialize the SAFE system before the ESC is powered on, allowing you to enter the esc programming mode. You do NOT want to power it by both batteries though, you'll fry your receiver.

3) Unplug the throttle JST connector from the receiver (the wires coming from your esc to the receiver)

4) On the back of the JST connector you will see the 3 metal pins, they are held in place by a small plastic "tab" that can carefully be lifted (there is 1 tab per pin) with small flat screwdriver to release the pin. You only need to lift the middle (red wire) plastic tab to release the red wire pin. Be careful not to break the plastic tab, you only need to lift it slightly to release the pin, this way you can reinstall the red wire pin when done.

5) Once the red wire pin has been removed, tuck the red wire out of the way so it doesn't short on anything (tape it off for safety), now plug the throttle esc JST connector back into your receiver. (pay attention that its plugged in correctly)

6) Turn on your transmitter that is bound to this receiver, set the throttle to 0 / full down

7) Plugin your 6 volt receiver battery pack to the "bind" port on the receiver (pay special attention to the + and - wiring to make sure its plugged in correctly). The receiver should now power on.

8) After the SAFE system initializes (servos will move on their own etc), you are ready to power up the esc and enter programming mode

9) Set your transmitter to full throttle, then plugin your lipo battery to your esc. Your esc should initialize, and enter programming mode. (for programming instructions, see the esc documentation that came with your apprentice, or find it online from eflite)

10) Once you are done programming your esc you can unplug your lipo battery, and your 6v receiver battery. Remove your "throttle" wire from the receiver again, and simply slide the red wire back into the middle port of the JST connector and ensure it remains secure. Plug the esc JST wire back into your receiver (again making sure to plug it in correctly) and you should be back to "stock".


I searched the internet high and low trying to figure out why I couldnt program my apprentices esc, there is no information about the SAFE system interfering with getting the esc into programming mode, but it is. The above worked for me, hopefully it'll help someone else out that is searching like I was.

The reason why I wanted to reprogram my apprentice's esc was because it was low on power / thrust. The very first flight off the ground it felt fine, but after landing once - the motor cut out ~4 times on the ground when giving it part throttle - as if it was hitting low voltage cut off. I changed the battery and the bahavior remained, then suddenly stopped. Its been flying fine since, just low on power.

I've now upped my esc timing from the default of 15 degrees to 25 degrees in hopes of gaining back a bit more power, but I suspect the motor is somehow damaged (despite no hard landings). Bench running the motor at 25 degrees timing looks promising however, but I havent flown it yet - so we'll see! Its possible that my esc wasnt set to 15 degrees either (maybe the previous motor cut out issue zapped the esc programming?), but I was definitely lacking power with whatever timing my esc was set to. Now that its reprogrammed Im hoping to have a bit more thrust to fly with. it felt like I had only ~50% thrust of what I should, and sometimes I was barely getting off the ground (batteries etc all check out), climb performance is weak too.

Ive also already ordered a eflite power 25 1250kv & eflite 60 amp receiver, so if my thrust isnt restored, those will be going in soon anyway
UCR1 is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
CHELLIE
Hi-Performance and Sailplanes
2015
05-28-2020 10:50 PM
AEAJR
Beginners
165
06-28-2017 05:22 PM
dereckbc
General Electric Discussions
2
07-03-2013 02:50 PM
JZSlenker
Power Systems
0
04-20-2011 03:22 AM
DanWard
Beginners
1
04-01-2011 10:19 PM

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Quick Reply: Apprentice S 15e ESC Programming Mode


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.

Page generated in 0.10211 seconds with 9 queries