FMA Direct Discuss FMA Direct products or ask your support questions.

PL6 power source screnn not showing on powerup

Old 06-04-2014, 03:16 AM
  #1  
sportflyer
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 99
Default PL6 power source screnn not showing on powerup

Just received the PL6 . On Power up , the "choose power source"
screen is not showing. Somehow this screen was disabled when I received the unit . How do I turn it on without the US cable FUIM3 and the CCS software ?

Tks
sportflyer is offline  
Old 06-05-2014, 01:45 AM
  #2  
Gregor
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 65
Default

That setting is not available from the console I'm afraid. But on the plus side, the FUIM and the CCS add a lot of value and capabilities.

Was this a new unit? I was under the impression that setting was enabled by default. But I could be wrong.
Gregor is offline  
Old 06-05-2014, 01:48 AM
  #3  
kyleservicetech
Super Contributor
 
kyleservicetech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 8,952
Default

Originally Posted by sportflyer View Post
Just received the PL6 . On Power up , the "choose power source"
screen is not showing. Somehow this screen was disabled when I received the unit . How do I turn it on without the US cable FUIM3 and the CCS software ?

Tks

I've got two of the Cellpro Powerlab 8's that do have the option of a "Power Supply" or "Battery" power source. All the battery source does is make certain you don't run your lead acid battery dead, and if its your car battery, prevent a long walk home.

So, I standardized on the "Power Supply" option, since low battery is not an issue with this setup.
http://www.wattflyer.com/forums/showthread.php?t=66066
kyleservicetech is offline  
Old 06-05-2014, 05:02 AM
  #4  
Gregor
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 65
Default

Its handy option if you switch between a DC supply and Pb battery. In addition to voltage and current cutoffs mentioned, the Pb battery profile enables regenerative discharging while its disabled in the DC supply profile.
Gregor is offline  
Old 06-05-2014, 06:44 AM
  #5  
sportflyer
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 99
Default

I purchased the PL6 from Revoelectrix's almost new refurbished sale. I was planning to use the PL6 for both home ( 26v DC power supply ) and at the field ( Pb Marine battery) , so it's useful to be able to switch power source immediately after powerup . Of course I can go to Options and change it there at the field but I might forget. Anyway I decided to purchase the FUIM3 because it seems so much easier to set things up from the computer then download the settings to PL6 . Should be here next week . I should have bought it right from the beginning.
sportflyer is offline  
Old 06-06-2014, 12:18 AM
  #6  
kyleservicetech
Super Contributor
 
kyleservicetech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 8,952
Default

Originally Posted by sportflyer View Post
I purchased the PL6 from Revoelectrix's almost new refurbished sale. I was planning to use the PL6 for both home ( 26v DC power supply ) and at the field ( Pb Marine battery) , so it's useful to be able to switch power source immediately after powerup . Of course I can go to Options and change it there at the field but I might forget. Anyway I decided to purchase the FUIM3 because it seems so much easier to set things up from the computer then download the settings to PL6 . Should be here next week . I should have bought it right from the beginning.
Agreed.
That USB adaptor makes it much easier to program the Cellpro units.

In fact I put my name and phone number into the '8 chargers LCD display with it.

Last edited by kyleservicetech; 06-06-2014 at 01:23 AM.
kyleservicetech is offline  
Old 06-06-2014, 03:58 AM
  #7  
Stevephoon
Super Contributor
 
Stevephoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: White Lake, MI
Posts: 1,138
Default

I have a PL6 and it prompts me... I found the following in the online manual.


Start faster When following the instructions above, you probably noticed that PowerLab 6 asks a lot of questions before it starts a charge, discharge, cycle or monitor. That enables you to specify exactly what operations PowerLab 6 will perform. If all you want to do is Charge a battery, and once you have a preset configured properly, two settings in the CCS Options tab will speed up the process: Activate the Enable Quick Start option. When activated, Enable Quick Start lets you bypass many of the questions needed to start a process. After activating this feature, press and hold ENTER if you don’t want to select options such as charge/discharge rate, discharge/cycle/monitor. Disable the Choose Power Source at Startup option (only if you consistently use the same power source). On startup, PowerLab 6 will always use either the DC Power Supply or Battery profile— whichever was last loaded before disabling the prompt

So it is possible to turn off that screen. (and turn it back on). But only via the CCS Software....
The complete instructions are here:
http://www.revolectrix.com/PL6_links_tab.htm
Click on the resource tab and download the User Manual.

Steve

Last edited by Stevephoon; 06-06-2014 at 04:31 AM.
Stevephoon is offline  
Old 06-06-2014, 04:31 AM
  #8  
Stevephoon
Super Contributor
 
Stevephoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: White Lake, MI
Posts: 1,138
Default

Oops.. My bad... Not in the console, only through the CCS software... I misread part of the manual.

Steve
Stevephoon is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
AEAJR
Beginners
165
06-28-2017 05:22 PM
AEAJR
General Electric Discussions
273
01-09-2017 03:23 AM
miernik
FMA Direct
9
07-07-2015 05:04 AM
danauti1
General Electric Discussions
8
06-06-2012 05:33 PM
Cole Mayfield
Batteries & Chargers
33
05-19-2011 01:18 PM

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Quick Reply: PL6 power source screnn not showing on powerup


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.

Page generated in 0.05780 seconds with 13 queries