Scratch and Kit Built Aircraft Discuss and share your scratch built or kit built aircraft as well as building techniques, methods, mediums and resources.

Is my covering iron bad?

Old 05-14-2008, 03:10 AM
adhoc
(inactive)

Default Is my covering iron bad?

Just finished my Stevens Aero Stik 2.0 balsa build, which went great. But I'm totally new to covering, and my first attempts have been pretty bad; just can't get the covering to shrink up tight...

No doubt my inexperience with covering is part of the problem, but I just decided to try to check/calibrate the temperature on my iron, which is a Coverite Black Baron. The package says it is supposed to go from 150F to 410F. I used a cooking/candy thermometer, measured at various settings, gave it 5 to 10 minutes at each setting, was careful to hold the thermometer in good contact with the iron. Took the sock off. And I can't get more than 280F at the absolute clockwise setting (well past "High")!

For what it's worth, I'm using both Monokote and UltraCote (wanted to try both). So if I'm right about my iron, that would explain some things, since UltraCote doesn't even start shrinking until about 300F.

Any ideas, suggestions, things I should try? I'm half inclined to return this iron to Tower Hobbies...
Old 05-14-2008, 03:33 AM
Dorsal
If it Flies, I love it!

I learned to only use the iron for sticking the covering to the edges and shaping around corners and tips, then I use a heat gun to do the actual shrinking. After sticking the covering around the bottom and the top of the wing, shrink the bottom of the wing first, both sides, then the top, as doing the reverse may warp the wing. After that, I often use the iron again to press along the ribs and such to stick the covering down to them also.
BTW, I really prefer Monokote, but your iron does sound a little wimpy. To get a good reading, I found the only thing that really worked well was the Coverite Pocket Thermometer or a digital infrared thermometer .