ParkFlyers Talk about all backyard and parkflyer aircraft here

T28 Trojan

Old 11-10-2009, 09:23 PM
  #851  
groundrushesup
Super Contributor
 
groundrushesup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Pflugerville, TX
Posts: 2,338
Default

Originally Posted by ministeve2003 View Post
Couldn't really say how they do on 3cell, On all these SK motors, I've only done 4cell...lol

I'm sure they run fine on 3cell, however to get the same Watts, you end up drawing more amps with a bigger prop... more amps = more heat, I don't like heat...LOL

I think I run it around 600watts, 40amps, on 4cell and does pretty good...

SK

Yes, I would say 300 W/Lb is "pretty good".


11x7 with a 3S and the 1000Kv I run just over 38A, so approx 210 W/Lb.

Plenty for me.
groundrushesup is offline  
Old 11-10-2009, 11:41 PM
  #852  
ministeve2003
Class Clown
 
ministeve2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Montclair, California
Posts: 4,472
Default

if you guy's haven't seen it before, here's a link to some really good info for motors, "bungymania" has alot of different stuff and tests...

http://www.bungymania.com/bmdb.php

there's alot of stuff missing for 4cell data, but it should give you a very good idea what's acceptable for usage...

SK
ministeve2003 is offline  
Old 11-10-2009, 11:47 PM
  #853  
ministeve2003
Class Clown
 
ministeve2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Montclair, California
Posts: 4,472
Default

Originally Posted by groundrushesup View Post
Yes, I would say 300 W/Lb is "pretty good".


11x7 with a 3S and the 1000Kv I run just over 38A, so approx 210 W/Lb.

Plenty for me.

200 W/LB is usually my min... LOL

SK
ministeve2003 is offline  
Old 11-11-2009, 12:16 AM
  #854  
groundrushesup
Super Contributor
 
groundrushesup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Pflugerville, TX
Posts: 2,338
Default

Originally Posted by ministeve2003 View Post



200 W/LB is usually my min... LOL

SK
I won a 11x10 at a fly-in raffle - I think that would make it obscenely fast for sure - might try it out before I retire the MKIII model

GRU
groundrushesup is offline  
Old 11-11-2009, 05:47 AM
  #855  
ministeve2003
Class Clown
 
ministeve2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Montclair, California
Posts: 4,472
Default

Originally Posted by groundrushesup View Post
I won a 11x10 at a fly-in raffle - I think that would make it obscenely fast for sure - might try it out before I retire the MKIII model

GRU
carefull of that amp draw...lol

Ps, Why can't I find Odd sizes, like 10x11, or 9x10 or even 9x11..., I know I could use them...lol

SK
ministeve2003 is offline  
Old 11-20-2009, 12:24 AM
  #856  
PaperAirplane
Subscribed...
 
PaperAirplane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 849
Default

Does anyone know of any free plans/build guides for the T28 Trojan? If you do, please post it here:

http://www.wattflyer.com/forums/showthread.php?t=50620


It is a cool plane!
PaperAirplane is offline  
Old 12-13-2009, 03:56 PM
  #857  
JoeTheFlyer
The UK's Red Baron
Thread Starter
 
JoeTheFlyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 78
Default

back to my lego bomb bay system strapped to the underside of my trojan, lost 4 parachutists today :'(
JoeTheFlyer is offline  
Old 12-17-2009, 05:26 AM
  #858  
DaveG99
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dallas Texas
Posts: 15
Default

Im new here just wanted to say hello. I flew a super cub for a couple weeks then sold it and got my t28 last week. I have been enjoying it very much. Today I did 4 flights and started working on rolls and loops and combination's of the two. So far every flight has gone perfect. I LOVE this plane!
DaveG99 is offline  
Old 12-17-2009, 05:36 AM
  #859  
groundrushesup
Super Contributor
 
groundrushesup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Pflugerville, TX
Posts: 2,338
Default

Welcome, Dave, Always nice to meet another Texan here on WF.

Oh yeah, I forgot to mention I finally totalled my danger-dog Dos Equis Trojan last week. Cut the pattern and found a telephone pole.

I think I am off of the Parkzone birds for the time being - I have plenty of balsa to mangle now.

Anyhoo here's a pic of myself and the carcass.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0015.jpg
Views:	196
Size:	175.1 KB
ID:	115823  
groundrushesup is offline  
Old 12-17-2009, 05:51 AM
  #860  
DaveG99
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dallas Texas
Posts: 15
Default

Originally Posted by groundrushesup View Post
Welcome, Dave, Always nice to meet another Texan here on WF.

Oh yeah, I forgot to mention I finally totalled my danger-dog Dos Equis Trojan last week. Cut the pattern and found a telephone pole.

I think I am off of the Parkzone birds for the time being - I have plenty of balsa to mangle now.

Anyhoo here's a pic of myself and the carcass.
looks fixable to me . I have seen some frakenstein looking planes held together by a few pounds of epoxy.
DaveG99 is offline  
Old 12-17-2009, 06:13 AM
  #861  
ministeve2003
Class Clown
 
ministeve2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Montclair, California
Posts: 4,472
Default

Originally Posted by groundrushesup View Post
Welcome, Dave, Always nice to meet another Texan here on WF.

Oh yeah, I forgot to mention I finally totalled my danger-dog Dos Equis Trojan last week. Cut the pattern and found a telephone pole.

I think I am off of the Parkzone birds for the time being - I have plenty of balsa to mangle now.

Anyhoo here's a pic of myself and the carcass.
Uggg... Not the Dos Equis one... That's been my favorite t28 color pattern I've seen....

yep, just a little glue and they're fixed again...
Here's a crash that took out the front end on mine, but a little glue, and nobody can even see where it broke...

[media]http://www.vimeo.com/3535993[/media]

SK
ministeve2003 is offline  
Old 12-17-2009, 06:22 AM
  #862  
DaveG99
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dallas Texas
Posts: 15
Default

Originally Posted by ministeve2003 View Post
Uggg... Not the Dos Equis one... That's been my favorite t28 color pattern I've seen....

yep, just a little glue and they're fixed again...
Here's a crash that took out the front end on mine, but a little glue, and nobody can even see where it broke...

[media]http://www.vimeo.com/3535993[/media]
SK
wow. that was mangled
DaveG99 is offline  
Old 12-17-2009, 06:24 AM
  #863  
groundrushesup
Super Contributor
 
groundrushesup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Pflugerville, TX
Posts: 2,338
Default

Originally Posted by ministeve2003 View Post
Uggg... Not the Dos Equis one... That's been my favorite t28 color pattern I've seen....

yep, just a little glue and they're fixed again...
Here's a crash that took out the front end on mine, but a little glue, and nobody can even see where it broke...

[media]http://www.vimeo.com/3535993[/media]
SK
Thanks man - I always got a kick out of the reaction people had to the beer theme.

Dunno, I might go over to RCslot.com and buy some refurb parts - maybe a spring project, but I think I'm taking a hiatus from the foam - I have two aerobatic ships I'm trying to master as well as my 6.5Lb, 100+ mph Great Planes Shoestring that is on the bench right now.

Only so much room in the hangar

Ever forward.
groundrushesup is offline  
Old 12-17-2009, 06:33 AM
  #864  
ministeve2003
Class Clown
 
ministeve2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Montclair, California
Posts: 4,472
Default

Originally Posted by DaveG99 View Post
wow. that was mangled
It sure looked that way, but it was a very clean break, if you actually look at it now (where I glued it) you'd have a hard time seeing where It was cracked... all I did was glue it back... nothing else was damaged, not even the cowl... I have done the lazy man's wing reinforcement since then (glue it on to the fuse) and it holds up to some crazy dives (I've seen the wing flex over the top of the fuse) but it seems to hold up...

SK
ministeve2003 is offline  
Old 12-17-2009, 05:48 PM
  #865  
JoeTheFlyer
The UK's Red Baron
Thread Starter
 
JoeTheFlyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 78
Default

Yeah my Trojan's held together with glue and white electrical tape. I have had to glue the whole wing on twice now, glue the entire nose back on, and glue the entire tale section back on. If i might say you cant notice my repairs at all , but i have noticed the plane has started to 'roar' as it flies past. The motor seems fine, and still flies fine, with a slight tendancy to spin off to right which is easily trimmed out fine, only problem then is it rolls to the left much quicker than it rolls to the right, but anyhow, it's an elite aircraft .
JoeTheFlyer is offline  
Old 12-17-2009, 06:08 PM
  #866  
DaveG99
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dallas Texas
Posts: 15
Default

Originally Posted by JoeTheFlyer View Post
Yeah my Trojan's held together with glue and white electrical tape. I have had to glue the whole wing on twice now, glue the entire nose back on, and glue the entire tale section back on. If i might say you cant notice my repairs at all , but i have noticed the plane has started to 'roar' as it flies past. The motor seems fine, and still flies fine, with a slight tendancy to spin off to right which is easily trimmed out fine, only problem then is it rolls to the left much quicker than it rolls to the right, but anyhow, it's an elite aircraft .
roaring could be from a messed up prop. My plane is almost dead silent with a slight whine to it. But then again its only one week old and never been crashed. It was a cold 48 degree day yesterday but no wind at all. Here is my plane getting ready to fly....



DaveG99 is offline  
Old 12-19-2009, 10:22 PM
  #867  
BERNIE45
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 9
Default

i bought at-28 today and i am thinking of trying to program my dx6i to use flaparons.do i just go into the setting and switch on the flaparons??
BERNIE45 is offline  
Old 12-19-2009, 11:06 PM
  #868  
cbatters
Super Contributor
 
cbatters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,050
Default

Originally Posted by DaveG99 View Post
roaring could be from a messed up prop. My plane is almost dead silent with a slight whine to it. But then again its only one week old and never been crashed. It was a cold 48 degree day yesterday but no wind at all. Here is my plane getting ready to fly....

Take off cowl and make sure motor mount screws are tight and no cracks in the mount. "Roaring" is probably a vibration which is common when the motor gets loose.


Clint
cbatters is offline  
Old 12-20-2009, 02:28 AM
  #869  
groundrushesup
Super Contributor
 
groundrushesup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Pflugerville, TX
Posts: 2,338
Default

Originally Posted by cbatters View Post
Take off cowl and make sure motor mount screws are tight and no cracks in the mount. "Roaring" is probably a vibration which is common when the motor gets loose.


Clint

Post Test
groundrushesup is offline  
Old 12-21-2009, 04:54 AM
  #870  
dumo01
dumo01
 
dumo01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 775
Default

Originally Posted by BERNIE45 View Post
i bought at-28 today and i am thinking of trying to program my dx6i to use flaparons.do i just go into the setting and switch on the flaparons??
I use my DX6i on my T28 with an AR6200 receiver and have been using flaperons but really, have not been too impressed that they make a lot of difference. About half the time just land without them down. I do not have a flaperon setting on my DX. I have the dual aileron setting active and have the ailerons control split so that one aileron, the right I think, is controlled by the aileron channel on the receiver and the flap channel controls the other aileron(left?) I have the flaps set to 30% for landing and 0% normal, and use the flaps switch on the DX to deploy the flaperons. Maybe setting to a high percentage down would make more difference in the performance but as you go higher you may need to mix in some up elevator.

Bernie

Check out the thread on " How to set up a T28 without the Y Harness" in in the beginners forum. Good discussion on this topic

Last edited by dumo01; 12-21-2009 at 05:05 AM. Reason: more info in another thread
dumo01 is offline  
Old 12-21-2009, 08:48 PM
  #871  
BERNIE45
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 9
Default

Thanks for the info i will try that setup ..
BERNIE45 is offline  
Old 12-28-2009, 02:14 AM
  #872  
jlaffin
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Hornby Island, B.C. Canada
Posts: 65
Default

My T-28 with stock motor has been making some clunking noises around mid throttle. Today the motor cut out completely in the air shortly after take off. Has anyone had this happen before? Does this sound like a motor or ESC problem?

Thanks!
jlaffin is offline  
Old 12-28-2009, 03:53 AM
  #873  
cjg
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 210
Default

Check to make sure the shaft is firmly attached to the outrunner housing with the grub screws. Don't tighten them so much you stip the threads or crack the case. Mine was lose, the shaft would slip inside the housing under power, and it would appear to lose power after takeoff. On the bench it would "lag" or 'stutter' as it throttled up around 1/2 throttle.

If the motor stops completely, this isn't the problem.
cjg is offline  
Old 12-29-2009, 09:16 PM
  #874  
ministeve2003
Class Clown
 
ministeve2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Montclair, California
Posts: 4,472
Default

Thought You guys might find this one funny, a local guy "Victor" decided to make his into a nitro fuel'd version... LOL

[media]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=94oUtexW9UM[/media]

SK
ministeve2003 is offline  
Old 12-30-2009, 06:59 PM
  #875  
*rider
Always Fixing Something
 
*rider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Northern CA
Posts: 286
Default

I think that's a first. An abomination, but cool nonetheless
*rider is offline  

Quick Reply: T28 Trojan


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.

Page generated in 0.11324 seconds with 14 queries