ParkFlyers Talk about all backyard and parkflyer aircraft here

T28 Trojan

Old 03-29-2010, 08:11 PM
  #901  
ministeve2003
Class Clown
 
ministeve2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Montclair, California
Posts: 4,472
Default

if it is, your better off with a 4cell and a 8x8 prop,

3cell 12x6e
79oz thrust
38mph pitch speed
49amps
509watts


4cell 8x8e prop
49oz thrust
79mph pitch
45amps
625watts


on 3cell, you could also try a 9x10 prop... apc makes them... that would give you plenty of speed and decent thrust SK

Last edited by ministeve2003; 03-29-2010 at 08:40 PM.
ministeve2003 is offline  
Old 03-29-2010, 08:21 PM
  #902  
groundrushesup
Super Contributor
 
groundrushesup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Pflugerville, TX
Posts: 2,338
Default

Originally Posted by ministeve2003 View Post
I couldn't find that motor, are you sure it's not the 1100kv version?

SK
Whoops. I had my Sukhoi on the brain at the time. It is actually the Turnigy SK35-42 @ 1000Kv.
groundrushesup is offline  
Old 03-29-2010, 08:38 PM
  #903  
ministeve2003
Class Clown
 
ministeve2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Montclair, California
Posts: 4,472
Default

that kv of that motor isn't on drivecalc, but the props I suggested for the other motor should be a good starting point for a prop selection... and the 4cell setup is prob still 8x8e

SK
ministeve2003 is offline  
Old 03-31-2010, 07:16 PM
  #904  
Crash Test Dummy
Super Contributor
 
Crash Test Dummy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Sugar Grove
Posts: 2,748
Default

Here is another on board video I shot the other day.


[media]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=a_kw1N0wwWs[/media]

CTD
Crash Test Dummy is offline  
Old 04-01-2010, 12:39 AM
  #905  
thomdoe
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 766
Default

hey crash test HI
thomdoe is offline  
Old 04-01-2010, 03:23 AM
  #906  
Crash Test Dummy
Super Contributor
 
Crash Test Dummy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Sugar Grove
Posts: 2,748
Default

Hey, whats up buddy! Haven't been around much these days. Hope all is well with you and yours.

CTD
Crash Test Dummy is offline  
Old 04-02-2010, 04:55 PM
  #907  
Crash Test Dummy
Super Contributor
 
Crash Test Dummy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Sugar Grove
Posts: 2,748
Default

[media]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8Y6HF_YUjws[/media]

CTD
Crash Test Dummy is offline  
Old 04-02-2010, 05:37 PM
  #908  
cbatters
Super Contributor
 
cbatters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,050
Default

Looks like 12-15 MPH wind.
cbatters is offline  
Old 04-02-2010, 06:59 PM
  #909  
Crash Test Dummy
Super Contributor
 
Crash Test Dummy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Sugar Grove
Posts: 2,748
Default

It was a bit winder than that. My guess is 18 gusting to about 25 MPH. I had to bring her in at almost full throttle until about 1 ft. off the ground, then land at about 1/2 throttle until all 3 wheels were on Terra Firma. It ws a blast flying in the wind.

CTD
Crash Test Dummy is offline  
Old 04-08-2010, 04:50 PM
  #910  
JoeTheFlyer
The UK's Red Baron
Thread Starter
 
JoeTheFlyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 78
Default

Any idea guys as to why my 7 cell NIMH Spitfire battery won't charge? Charger says the charging is complete after about 5 minutes, when it obviously isn't. I had this problem with my Super Cub battery's (yes, both of them) as well. Here in the UK we get given the car chargers so i don't know if that makes any difference.
JoeTheFlyer is offline  
Old 04-08-2010, 07:23 PM
  #911  
ministeve2003
Class Clown
 
ministeve2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Montclair, California
Posts: 4,472
Default

Originally Posted by JoeTheFlyer View Post
Any idea guys as to why my 7 cell NIMH Spitfire battery won't charge? Charger says the charging is complete after about 5 minutes, when it obviously isn't. I had this problem with my Super Cub battery's (yes, both of them) as well. Here in the UK we get given the car chargers so i don't know if that makes any difference.
Discharge it, then charge it back up really slow... Nimh's are known for false peaking...

SK
ministeve2003 is offline  
Old 04-08-2010, 09:08 PM
  #912  
JoeTheFlyer
The UK's Red Baron
Thread Starter
 
JoeTheFlyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 78
Default

Originally Posted by ministeve2003 View Post
Discharge it, then charge it back up really slow... Nimh's are known for false peaking...

SK
Okay when you say charge it up slowly what would would you recommend? 0.8A, 1A?
JoeTheFlyer is offline  
Old 04-09-2010, 08:04 PM
  #913  
Crash Test Dummy
Super Contributor
 
Crash Test Dummy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Sugar Grove
Posts: 2,748
Default

It shouldn't matter if it's a car charger. As long as the charger is made to charge NIMH batteries. How many Mah's is the pack? Just choose a charge rate at about 1/2 of 1C. Then discharge the battery all the way to cut off and re-charge again at the low rate. You may have to do this 3 or 4 times.

CTD
Crash Test Dummy is offline  
Old 04-09-2010, 09:12 PM
  #914  
ministeve2003
Class Clown
 
ministeve2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Montclair, California
Posts: 4,472
Default

Originally Posted by JoeTheFlyer View Post
Okay when you say charge it up slowly what would would you recommend? 0.8A, 1A?
How low does the charger go? try .2 or .3 (yea, I know it'll take all day)

SK
ministeve2003 is offline  
Old 04-09-2010, 10:36 PM
  #915  
cbatters
Super Contributor
 
cbatters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,050
Default

Originally Posted by ministeve2003 View Post
How low does the charger go? try .2 or .3 (yea, I know it'll take all day)

SK
Should probably move this discussion this into a new thread under batteries... but you can also just reconnect a few times until it charges correctly and gets warm. If the NIMH is not warm, it is not fully charged.


Clint
cbatters is offline  
Old 04-10-2010, 12:07 PM
  #916  
JoeTheFlyer
The UK's Red Baron
Thread Starter
 
JoeTheFlyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 78
Default

Yeah Clint i'm just going to have to sit in the car for an hour and keep re-connecting it. Went as low as .2A yesterday and it still indicated full charge after about 10 minutes. I'll charge at 1.4A and keep re-connecting it; it's the only way .
JoeTheFlyer is offline  
Old 04-10-2010, 12:09 PM
  #917  
JoeTheFlyer
The UK's Red Baron
Thread Starter
 
JoeTheFlyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 78
Default

Originally Posted by Crash Test Dummy View Post
It shouldn't matter if it's a car charger. As long as the charger is made to charge NIMH batteries. How many Mah's is the pack? Just choose a charge rate at about 1/2 of 1C. Then discharge the battery all the way to cut off and re-charge again at the low rate. You may have to do this 3 or 4 times.

CTD
9 cell NIMH 1000mAh .
JoeTheFlyer is offline  
Old 04-10-2010, 02:49 PM
  #918  
JoeTheFlyer
The UK's Red Baron
Thread Starter
 
JoeTheFlyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 78
Default

Hmmm ill leave the battery on a trickle charge and peak it that way. I have two 7 cells NIMH's (8.4v) batteries as well, are they too much of a risk to use in the spitfire? (Powered normally by a 9 cell 10.8v NIMH).
JoeTheFlyer is offline  
Old 05-16-2010, 07:12 PM
  #919  
dumo01
dumo01
 
dumo01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 775
Default T28 Motor mount breakdown

Had an issue a couple months ago with the bell housing of my stock T28 motor developing some cracks, that opened up to the point that the vibration backed out a couple of the screws securing the motor to the mount. Decided to just bite the bullet and bought a new motor since I was not sure I could get a reliable repair.
When I put the new motor in the plane, I wanted to make sure the screws would not back out so I put a little thread locker (blue medium strength) on each motor mount screw. Flew the plane shortly afterward and all was well. Was going to fly it a couple weeks later, and on preflight found the motor was loose on the mount. Flew a different plane that day and when I got it home found the motor mount was badly cracked which I did not understand since it had not been crashed. Took a couple days to get a new motor mount and when I statrted to do the replacement found that the plastic of the failed mount was very brittle and pretty much falling apart as I handled it doing the work, especially right around the screw holes. Rechecked the thread locker bottle and sure enough, there in the fine print on the back of the bottle is " Not for use on Plastic"

Note to self:
RTFM for ALL products:o
dumo01 is offline  
Old 05-18-2010, 12:15 AM
  #920  
cjg
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 210
Default

Yup, thread locker actually creates more problems when used in plastic. Try lining the thread holes in the firewall with a bit foam safe superglue, then retap clean screws. Sometimes I've had success "retapping" screws into foam/plastic with this method.
cjg is offline  
Old 05-28-2010, 07:47 PM
  #921  
WingingIt74
Member
 
WingingIt74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Waterloo, IL
Posts: 419
Default

Last weekend, I put a 3s-4000mah in the T-28. It flew quite well. I'm going to try a new prop this weekend. Oh ya, if you didn't know, I've got a Power 15 in mine.
WingingIt74 is offline  
Old 05-28-2010, 07:57 PM
  #922  
WingingIt74
Member
 
WingingIt74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Waterloo, IL
Posts: 419
Default

How fast is a stock T-28? I've never seen one to compare.
WingingIt74 is offline  
Old 05-30-2010, 01:00 AM
  #923  
groundrushesup
Super Contributor
 
groundrushesup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Pflugerville, TX
Posts: 2,338
Default

MkVI - 'Tabasco Thunder' almost complete.

Motor: Turnigy 35-48 - 900Kv
Battery: Rhino 3s 3700mAh 25C
Prop: APC 11x10 e

450 watts... good top speed... still a blast to fly - this is my 4th Trojan.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0001.jpg
Views:	162
Size:	112.9 KB
ID:	128991   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0004.jpg
Views:	154
Size:	114.3 KB
ID:	128992   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0005.jpg
Views:	147
Size:	76.4 KB
ID:	128993   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0006.jpg
Views:	156
Size:	124.3 KB
ID:	128994   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0007.jpg
Views:	152
Size:	132.8 KB
ID:	128995  

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0008.jpg
Views:	147
Size:	119.7 KB
ID:	128996  
groundrushesup is offline  
Old 05-30-2010, 02:14 PM
  #924  
whipple
Memento mori
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Erie, PA
Posts: 237
Default

Dude you always have the prettiest planes!

Since you have mucho experience with the T-34 I'm interested in your recommendations. I am ready to upgrade my T-34 for some more power and speed. I'm not interested in superfast speed, but I do want to crank it up a notch. Think of it this a way: If the stock speed is 50 mph, I want to take it to 75, not 100.

As for power I'd like to be able to have more vertical ability than stock. It doesn't have to be unlimited. I would like to be able to do both of these at around between 1/2 to 2/3 throttle so I have some reserve if I need it, so I'm not stressing the electronics and so I don't have to upgrade again when I'm ready to take the speed up again and the power to unlimited vertical.

Speaking of electronics I am using all stock being powered by Buffalo 2200mAh 30C batts. If I need to upgrade the ESC or add a BEC I can do that no problem. I would prefer to minimize the modifications with "drop in" being the best option, but I am not above doing some mods to get what I am looking for.

Lastly, I'm not looking for bargain basement quality/pricing here. I fly the snot out of the Trojan, with at least 6 batt's every day there is flying weather; which right now is 6 out of 7 days a week. So I want something that can handle this as well as the stock equipment has done.

How's that for a "I want this" list?

Whipple
whipple is offline  
Old 07-07-2010, 06:14 PM
  #925  
Nuclear
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: NY state
Posts: 34
Default What Motor/esc/prop Combo to make T28 just a bit overpowered?

Hello, I'm too Lazy to look it up

what Motor/ESC/Prop combo Can I use to make this plane
just a bit boderline Overpowered? (ie...4s Lipo etc.....)

any Links?

cheers....
Nuclear is offline  

Quick Reply: T28 Trojan


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.

Page generated in 0.17382 seconds with 19 queries