Hi-Performance and Sailplanes RC hotliners, electric pylon racers, F5B, F5D, sailplanes and gliders

Crow settings

Old 12-15-2007, 11:25 PM
Positive Charge

Default Crow settings

I am in the process of assembling a Multiplex Cularis, and this is my first venture into gliders. I have looked at other threads and have modified the flaps to give nearly 90deg. down as suggested, but do not know how much" up "to give the ailerons when the flaps are deployed. Can anyone give me some advice please.

Alan
Old 12-16-2007, 05:12 AM
tom1968

I'm not a sailplane expert, but I'd suggest using about 1/2 their available up travel. That way you still have some travel left for maneuvering if you need to.
Old 12-16-2007, 01:07 PM
Jason T
Electron Liberator

I agree with Tom. Also, make sure you test your settings at pretty good altitude before you try them on landing.
Old 12-16-2007, 03:47 PM
CygnusX1

Welcome to gliders! I hope you enjoy them as much as I do. I have not used crow but I use Spoilerons on my Easy Glider Electric. When I deploy them, I lose about 60-70% of my aileron capability. It definitely brings the plane down quickly but roll control gets a bit tricky. I often flip off the spoilerons and power up for a second approach if the cross winds kick me around too much.
Old 12-17-2007, 11:39 AM
Marcellus
Marcellus

Originally Posted by CygnusX1 View Post
Welcome to gliders! I hope you enjoy them as much as I do. I have not used crow but I use Spoilerons on my Easy Glider Electric. When I deploy them, I lose about 60-70% of my aileron capability. It definitely brings the plane down quickly but roll control gets a bit tricky. I often flip off the spoilerons and power up for a second approach if the cross winds kick me around too much.