Beginners New to e-power flying? Get the low down in here from experienced e-power RC pilots!

help with a beginner decision please

Old 10-20-2010, 06:34 PM
Andy_L

Default help with a beginner decision please

ok so I am going to buy a FIRST model. I have lots of experience with cars etc so the reverse controls/coming towards you, doesn't worry me. I also have FULL size flying experience (I'm guessing that this could be the a plus OR a minus) so i get the aerodynamics etc.

I'm trying to decide between a um Champ (too fragile?), a PKZ Radian, or a SuperCub LP.

Also, this will be self taught (i know i know....)

any insight would be greatly appreciated...also any others i should throw into the decision pit with these 3 listed??

Thanks

Andy
Old 10-20-2010, 06:43 PM
kenchiroalpha
Retired Master Chief USN

Hi Andy
Welcome aboard
Im pleased to meet you
Any one of the planes you mention would be fine for the begining rc pilot
Of the 3 my personal favorite would be the Super Cub
The full size flying experiance wont be of much help with learning to fly any of these
Take care
Hank
Old 10-20-2010, 07:09 PM
Andy_L

i have to admit that i am leaning towards the Champ because if the small area requirements. I have some BIG fields within a few minutes...but the Champ i could actually fly in my front yard....any reason to avoid the Champ (other than its tiny)??

yes if budget allowed i would buy all 3 but that isn't the case

Edit: cuz huked un foniks wrked fer mee
Old 10-20-2010, 07:17 PM
kenchiroalpha
Retired Master Chief USN

Originally Posted by Andy_L View Post
i have to admit that i am leaning towards the Champ because if the small area requirements. I have some BIG fields within a few minutes...but the Champ i could actually fly in my front yard....any reason to avoid the Champ (other than its tiny)??
Hi
No reason at all
In fact i have many ultra micros i fly out doors
Heres a few
http://www.rchangout.com/forums/album.php?albumid=74