Power Systems Talk about motors, ESC speed controllers, gear drives, propellers, power system simulators and all power system related topics

Can i shorten motor wires on brushless esc

Old 05-28-2008, 03:16 PM
  #1  
remotebandit
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 28
Default Can i shorten motor wires on brushless esc

Hey all , i hate wasting peoples time on forums with re-occuring questions so have traced my querie back for the last 2 hours with no answer in past posts so heres my question .

I am running 2 x 3500kv motors in ducted fan configuration and 2 x Phoenix 25 escs to run them . I want to know if its possible to shorten the esc output and motor wires as i want to install the esc in the back of the ducted fan tube and just want to neaten it up .

Thanx guys .

Adam .
remotebandit is offline  
Old 05-28-2008, 03:20 PM
  #2  
Angler-Hi
Super Contributor
 
Angler-Hi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Ft Hood, Tx
Posts: 4,137
Default

Yes you can friend. All you have to do is cut the wires to the length you want them, then solder on either the gold connectors to the motor or the female ends to those connectors to the ESC. Do you plan on shortening the wires from both the motor and the ESC, or just one or the other? Either way, it's a very simple process. Good luck to you.

Mike
Angler-Hi is offline  
Old 05-28-2008, 03:22 PM
  #3  
Biplane Murphy
2 Wings, Twice The Fun
 
Biplane Murphy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Southern California High Desert
Posts: 4,534
Default

You can, but just make certain the wires are EXACTLY the same length...And be very careful when soldering connectors etc...so you don't overheat anything...



Edit...LOL....Mike was faster on the keyboard...
Biplane Murphy is offline  
Old 05-28-2008, 03:23 PM
  #4  
Angler-Hi
Super Contributor
 
Angler-Hi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Ft Hood, Tx
Posts: 4,137
Default

Originally Posted by Biplane Murphy View Post
You can, but just make certain the wires are EXACTLY the same length...And be very careful when soldering connectors etc...so you don't overheat anything...
Good point!
Angler-Hi is offline  
Old 05-28-2008, 03:41 PM
  #5  
remotebandit
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 28
Default

Ahh yes , there you go now i remember why i had the concern about this issue and BM hit it spot regarding the same length wires .

I was actually considering cutting back most of both esc and motor wires as i have 30cm total and want to trim it down to about 8cm .

As far as connectors go , i was just planning on cutting them , soldering the bare wires together then heatshrinking them , plugs will not be neccessary ?

Thanx heaps for the info guys , i will keep you posted on my project once i get her off the ground .

Adam .
remotebandit is offline  
Old 05-28-2008, 04:05 PM
  #6  
Biplane Murphy
2 Wings, Twice The Fun
 
Biplane Murphy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Southern California High Desert
Posts: 4,534
Default

Perhaps test run the setup before cutting wires, then label both sets of wires before cutting and soldering.....just to make sure of motor operation direction....
Biplane Murphy is offline  
Old 05-28-2008, 04:15 PM
  #7  
SkunkyMagoo
Newborn Rotorhead
 
SkunkyMagoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: So Cal
Posts: 1,142
Default

Originally Posted by Biplane Murphy View Post
Perhaps test run the setup before cutting wires, then label both sets of wires before cutting and soldering.....just to make sure of motor operation direction....
Great point.

Also what about maintenance? Burned up ESC? Bent Shaft? I would just use gold connectors for easy removal and replacement parts, etc etc.
SkunkyMagoo is offline  
Old 05-28-2008, 09:21 PM
  #8  
ron_van_sommeren
homo ludens modelisticus
 
ron_van_sommeren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: near Nijmegen, Nederland
Posts: 1,109
Default

Better to have long motor wires instead of long battery wires. Long battery wires may kill your ESC. This goes for all makes.
  1. Schulze controllers and battery lead length
    http://www.schulze-elektronik-gmbh.de/tips_e.htm
  2. Castle Controllers and battery lead length
    http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showpost.php?p=1537846&postcount=28
    http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showpost.php?p=4833040&postcount=5
    http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showp...3&postcount=25
  3. Bob Boucher (Astrobob, http://www.astroflight.com) on long battery leads
    http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showp...2&postcount=32
  4. As a rule of thumb, for every 4inch/10cm extra length/distance between battery and ESC, add an extra 220uF capacity near the controller (electrolytic condensators, voltage the same as the capacitors already installed, low ESR type) (Ludwich Retzbach, German e-flight author, the 'R' in LRK).
  5. How to add extra capacitors (English and German)
    http://www.schulze-elektronik-gmbh.d...e/gfutc-de.pdf
  6. In depth discussion
    http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showt...27#post1518827
Vriendelijke groeten Ron

Last edited by ron_van_sommeren; 06-01-2008 at 11:36 PM.
ron_van_sommeren is offline  
Old 05-28-2008, 09:35 PM
  #9  
Bub Steve
Super Contributor
 
Bub Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Shadeville Fl,
Posts: 7,189
Default

Originally Posted by ron_van_sommeren View Post
Better to have long motor wires instead of long battery wires. Long battery wires may kill your ESC. This goes for all makes.
Vriendelijke groeten Ron
Ouch!!!!!!!!!!!No probs (yet-40+ flights) But as I know Ron as the smartist electro bub on the site so I'm start'in to worry<>Hate to lose my favorate plane ( twin HugesXII Monkey-Chopper), Should I worry??(see pix's) bub,steve
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	petty an red 200.jpg
Views:	710
Size:	142.8 KB
ID:	67399   Click image for larger version

Name:	petty an red 357.jpg
Views:	743
Size:	248.6 KB
ID:	67400   Click image for larger version

Name:	petty an red 539.jpg
Views:	663
Size:	220.7 KB
ID:	67401  
Bub Steve is offline  
Old 05-28-2008, 10:01 PM
  #10  
constantCrash
prefectionist
 
constantCrash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: MN
Posts: 1,919
Default

Okay, i just read that whole thread on RCG about motor vs battery wire length, and am 100% confused.
constantCrash is offline  
Old 05-29-2008, 01:57 AM
  #11  
Dr Kiwi
Super Contributor
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,726
Default

Originally Posted by constantCrash View Post
Okay, i just read that whole thread on RCG about motor vs battery wire length, and am 100% confused.
You shouldn't be - all the gurus agree that, especially on higher voltage, higher current systems, long battery wires are a no, no - without additional capacitors, high induced voltage spikes fry ESCs.

Long motor wires only lose you a bit of power - no danger of blowing anything up.
Dr Kiwi is offline  
Old 05-29-2008, 04:49 AM
  #12  
CHELLIE
Super Contributor
 
CHELLIE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Hesperia, So. Calif
Posts: 19,233
Default

Originally Posted by remotebandit View Post
Hey all , i hate wasting peoples time on forums with re-occuring questions so have traced my querie back for the last 2 hours with no answer in past posts so heres my question .

I am running 2 x 3500kv motors in ducted fan configuration and 2 x Phoenix 25 escs to run them . I want to know if its possible to shorten the esc output and motor wires as i want to install the esc in the back of the ducted fan tube and just want to neaten it up .

Thanx guys .

Adam .
Hi Adam be careful with the motor wires, sometimes the motor wires are the coil wires extended out, and if you dont get them all cleaned up real good, remove all the varnish , and tint them, your motor will single Phase, and not work, but just chatter, ask me how I know I would leave the motor wires alone, and just cut the ESC wires, just my 2 cents worth, Take Care, Chellie
CHELLIE is offline  
Old 05-29-2008, 06:38 PM
  #13  
ron_van_sommeren
homo ludens modelisticus
 
ron_van_sommeren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: near Nijmegen, Nederland
Posts: 1,109
Default

Originally Posted by stevecooper View Post
Ouch!!!!!!!!!!!No probs (yet-40+ flights) But as I know Ron as the smartist electro bub on the site so I'm start'in to worry<>Hate to lose my favorate plane ( twin HugesXII Monkey-Chopper), Should I worry??(see pix's) bub,steve
What's the temperature of the standard ESC input capacitors after flying? (Flying at full throttle AND after flying at partial load). They may/will not die right away of course but their life expectancy might be shorter.

Vriendelijke groeten Ron

ron_van_sommeren is offline  
Old 05-29-2008, 10:10 PM
  #14  
Bub Steve
Super Contributor
 
Bub Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Shadeville Fl,
Posts: 7,189
Default

Originally Posted by ron_van_sommeren View Post
What's the temperature of the standard ESC input capacitors after flying? (Flying at full throttle AND after flying at partial load). They may/will not die right away of course but their life expectancy might be shorter.

Vriendelijke groeten Ron
Thanks Ron, your da best, bub,steve
Bub Steve is offline  
Old 05-29-2008, 10:26 PM
  #15  
Bub Steve
Super Contributor
 
Bub Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Shadeville Fl,
Posts: 7,189
Default

Originally Posted by ron_van_sommeren View Post
What's the temperature of the standard ESC input capacitors after flying? (Flying at full throttle AND after flying at partial load). They may/will not die right away of course but their life expectancy might be shorter.

Vriendelijke groeten Ron
Ron:: by the way ,, per your info I'll be fly'in a partial thottle 90% of the time as any more and the capacitors get a might toastie!!your bub, steve
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	petty an red 539.jpg
Views:	504
Size:	220.7 KB
ID:	67511  
Bub Steve is offline  
Old 05-30-2008, 12:20 AM
  #16  
remotebandit
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 28
Default

What value Capacitor are we talking , im assuming atleast 1000uf to have something with a bit of punch yeah ?

Someone mentioned coils in the wires , i didnt think about coils in the wire but along those lines as well in that i assumed the wires internal resistance was another issue in the shortening as that .1 or so of an ohm might have been critical .

Thanx blokes , all this info is sensational and im soooo happy to be born in an age where you simply post a question on a computer and you get an answer to anything .

Adam
remotebandit is offline  
Old 06-01-2008, 11:42 PM
  #17  
ron_van_sommeren
homo ludens modelisticus
 
ron_van_sommeren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: near Nijmegen, Nederland
Posts: 1,109
Default

Originally Posted by remotebandit View Post
What value Capacitor are we talking ...
See post #8, items 4 and 5.

Originally Posted by remotebandit View Post
... im assuming atleast 1000uf to have something with a bit of punch yeah ? ...
'Punch' is not the issue here. These capacitors only have one role in life, suppressing voltage spikes on the ESC's input power lines (due to switching in the ESC and inductance in the battery wires.
I know the car people like to kid themself with 'power capacitors' but that's all bovine manure, as any first grade EE can tell you.

Vriendelijke groeten Ron
ron_van_sommeren is offline  
Old 06-02-2008, 12:45 AM
  #18  
Bub Steve
Super Contributor
 
Bub Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Shadeville Fl,
Posts: 7,189
Default

Originally Posted by CHELLIE View Post
Hi Adam be careful with the motor wires, sometimes the motor wires are the coil wires extended out, and if you dont get them all cleaned up real good, remove all the varnish , and tint them, your motor will single Phase, and not work, but just chatter, ask me how I know I would leave the motor wires alone, and just cut the ESC wires, just my 2 cents worth, Take Care, Chellie

Chellie:: thanks my Bub'ett you just got my chater'in KMS3121 & my 1209-18Tto spinn'in their butts off again ,,Yaaaaa!!I cleaned and washed um with acetone then sanded um till they shined up,Tinned um Yata-Yata,Then plugged um up and Woop'pee! we take'in the old Se5A for a spin , bub steve PS the Se5A seen a few motor changes in her time ,,,,,
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	petty an red 636.jpg
Views:	586
Size:	171.8 KB
ID:	67894   Click image for larger version

Name:	petty an red 637.jpg
Views:	389
Size:	112.9 KB
ID:	67895  
Bub Steve is offline  
Old 09-15-2011, 12:59 PM
  #19  
2006040
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: England
Posts: 20
Default

hi guys, i recently tried to replace my brushless motor in my RC Art tech cessna 182. However, the motor replacement which i got did not work properly as the metal male connecters on the end of the wires were encased in rubber which was very stretchy they kept coming out. Because of this, the connecters were not touching the wires properly coming from the motor and so the current could not pass through them. In order to fix this, i tried to cut the end of the wires off and replace them with the end of the wires which i had on the original motor. I bared the wires, soldiered them together and wrapped them in electricians tape. However now, the motor does not seem to be working at all. I am very unsure as to why this is, can anybody help me?
2006040 is offline  
Old 09-24-2011, 06:37 PM
  #20  
cheshireflyer
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Near Crewe Cheshire England
Posts: 51
Default

Hi

I tried this but forgot that each "wire" is made up from the ends of enameled wire from each winding. You have to scrape each strand of wire in each of the 3 wires otherwise as has been said the motor will single phase and run at about 20 rpm.

Been there have the shirt. One day I will get the motor out and follow my own instructions !

Pete
cheshireflyer is offline  
Old 10-14-2011, 11:03 PM
  #21  
ron_van_sommeren
homo ludens modelisticus
 
ron_van_sommeren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: near Nijmegen, Nederland
Posts: 1,109
Default

Heat wire on real Aspirin with soldering iron to remove insulation. Acrid fumes.
Bad connection may burn motor and/or controller.

Vriendelijke groeten Ron
diy motor tipsDrive Calculator
diy motor groupCumulus MFC
ron_van_sommeren is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
dbo
Brushless Motor Construction
4
07-19-2008 12:23 PM
lawn-dart
Power Systems
9
03-04-2008 05:53 PM
highflyer65
Power Systems
28
12-14-2007 01:28 AM
johnnycat500
Standard & Large E-Heli Talk
2
03-15-2007 09:14 AM
joeycoates
Power Systems
20
12-20-2006 11:06 PM

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On


Quick Reply: Can i shorten motor wires on brushless esc


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.

Page generated in 0.15765 seconds with 20 queries