Mini Telemaster Build thread - WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight

ParkFlyers Talk about all backyard and parkflyer aircraft here

Mini Telemaster Build thread

Old 10-07-2005, 03:30 PM
rcers
Super Contributor

Default Mini Telemaster Build thread

Well I thought I would do my next build thread here on Wattflyer instead of the other site.

I wanted to build the Airtronics Q-Tee, my first RC airplane. It was crashed into a brick wall into a million pieces on its first flight. (I was self taught!).

Sadly it is no longer available. Plans used to be available from RCM magazine, but sadly they are now gone too. So I didn't want to send money for plans and wonder.....

Anyway, another classic plane is the Hobby Lobby Telemaster. They have a Mini version that should be perfect for my brushless system installed in my slow stick. Since my son just totalled the slow stick, I thought this would be a great build and use for that airborn equipment.

Let me know what you think!

Mike
Old 10-07-2005, 04:22 PM
buzzbomber
Matt Smith

Good idea, Mike! My Mini Telemaster has been a great plane. It's easy to build and flies well on moderate power, especially after a minor improvement or two. There shouldn't be any surprises for you as an experienced builder, but be aware that it is very easy to introduce a warp into the horizontal stabilizer and/or wing when covering with anything heavier than So-lite--not a problem, just something to pay attention to. You may also wish to enlarge the area of the rudder. My plane had issues in yaw control with the intended rudder size--I simply added a strip 1/2" wide at the bottom and 1/4" wide at the top to the rear of the rudder. It has very good tracking and performs rudder rolls now, without losing any of its good habits. Just my 2cents. I think you'll enjoy the plane and look forward to seeing what you come up with!
Old 10-07-2005, 04:25 PM
rcers
Super Contributor