TrueRC Batteries balance plugs - WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight

Batteries & Chargers Discuss Li-P, Li-Ion, NiMh, Nicad battery technology and the chargers that juice 'em up!

TrueRC Batteries balance plugs

Old 12-31-2008, 09:18 AM
  #1  
xuzme720
c'mere Monkey
Thread Starter
 
xuzme720's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Just North of Houston.Heard of Dayton? I didn't think so...
Posts: 2,906
Default TrueRC Batteries balance plugs

I bought a couple of batts from TrueRC awhile back but never used them. I went to put them on the charger and I just realized the balance plug is a 5 pole instead of a 4 pole for both 3S packs. I am wondering if I should swap the plugs for the correct 4 pole plug or is there some sort of reasoning behind this?
For the record these batts are:
3S 2100mAh 15c and
Tx pack 3S 2500mAh 8hr discharge... no C rating.

Any comments would be welcome as I am at a loss as to why they are wired like this...
xuzme720 is offline  
Old 12-31-2008, 10:27 AM
  #2  
Twmaster
Registered User
 
Twmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Dallas, TX, USA
Posts: 6,632
Default

Gary,

Without seeing the other side of that plug I'd say it looks like Polyquest/Hyperion type tap. Adapters aren't too hard to get.

EDIT: I just checked the list I have for adapters. True RC uses the same plug as Hyperion and PolyQuest (and others)
Twmaster is offline  
Old 12-31-2008, 04:57 PM
  #3  
xuzme720
c'mere Monkey
Thread Starter
 
xuzme720's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Just North of Houston.Heard of Dayton? I didn't think so...
Posts: 2,906
Default

But, any idea why these have this plug? It's a 3 cell pack with a 4 cell plug...
If I plug them in like this, the balancer would think I have 2 dead cells, won't it?
xuzme720 is offline  
Old 12-31-2008, 05:03 PM
  #4  
gfdengine204
Super Contributor
 
gfdengine204's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sandwich, IL
Posts: 9,565
Default

Originally Posted by xuzme720 View Post
But, any idea why these have this plug? It's a 3 cell pack with a 4 cell plug...
If I plug them in like this, the balancer would think I have 2 dead cells, won't it?
Not if you use it with the proper adapter. It will work just like any others.

Just an example of how these things are not standardized.
gfdengine204 is offline  
Old 12-31-2008, 05:07 PM
  #5  
xuzme720
c'mere Monkey
Thread Starter
 
xuzme720's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Just North of Houston.Heard of Dayton? I didn't think so...
Posts: 2,906
Default

I see. [sigh] I really need to pay more attention...

off to buy more stuff, I guess!
xuzme720 is offline  
Old 12-31-2008, 05:12 PM
  #6  
gfdengine204
Super Contributor
 
gfdengine204's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sandwich, IL
Posts: 9,565
Default

Originally Posted by xuzme720 View Post
I see. [sigh] I really need to pay more attention...

off to buy more stuff, I guess!
Yeah, the first time I bought batteries with PQ taps, I didn't know it at the point of purchase. So I had to order adpaters, and pay shipping AGAIN.
gfdengine204 is offline  
Old 12-31-2008, 05:59 PM
  #7  
xuzme720
c'mere Monkey
Thread Starter
 
xuzme720's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Just North of Houston.Heard of Dayton? I didn't think so...
Posts: 2,906
Default

I think I'll just change the taps out. I really don't need another cord to keep track of! lol
xuzme720 is offline  
Old 12-31-2008, 06:07 PM
  #8  
gfdengine204
Super Contributor
 
gfdengine204's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sandwich, IL
Posts: 9,565
Default

Originally Posted by xuzme720 View Post
I think I'll just change the taps out. I really don't need another cord to keep track of! lol
Not a bad idea.
gfdengine204 is offline  
Old 01-01-2009, 01:09 AM
  #9  
rwsrc2
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2
Default

I have the polyquest batteries and changed them to the align connectors by moving the single black wire over to the other three wires and cut down the plug and shear off the alignment tab. Worked great for me.
rwsrc2 is offline  
Old 01-01-2009, 01:15 AM
  #10  
xuzme720
c'mere Monkey
Thread Starter
 
xuzme720's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Just North of Houston.Heard of Dayton? I didn't think so...
Posts: 2,906
Default

Originally Posted by rwsrc2 View Post
I have the polyquest batteries and changed them to the align connectors by moving the single black wire over to the other three wires and cut down the plug and shear off the alignment tab. Worked great for me.
I actually thought of doing that, too, but now I have some taps ordered. I'll probably just wait
xuzme720 is offline  
Old 01-01-2009, 03:31 AM
  #11  
dfemmert
dfemmert
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 18
Default

X

I have a Hyperion charger and balancer. Only my E-Tec and Hyperion packs have the polyquest connector so I made some adaptors using parts found here...
http://www.bphobbies.com/view.asp?id=B3805280

They now have the adaptor already made for 3S packs...
http://www.bphobbies.com/view.asp?id...C1516872&img=l

You should have one, you'll need it if you get these lipos;

Dualsky Xpower
Rhino
E-Flite
E-Sky
Tenergy
Outrage
HXT
Zippy
Fullymax

and several others.

David
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_3412.jpg
Views:	94
Size:	82.3 KB
ID:	88660   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0323.jpg
Views:	101
Size:	47.0 KB
ID:	88661  
dfemmert is offline  
Old 01-01-2009, 04:23 AM
  #12  
MYHELIGUY
Global Mod.-bladecprepair
 
MYHELIGUY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: GREAT LAKES
Posts: 45
Default

Originally Posted by rwsrc2 View Post
I have the polyquest batteries and changed them to the align connectors by moving the single black wire over to the other three wires and cut down the plug and shear off the alignment tab. Worked great for me.
Works for me. just don't touch any of the wires together,lipos are very sensitive,they will catch fire. but i had no problems switching that wire and cutting the end of plug.
MYHELIGUY is offline  
Old 01-01-2009, 04:40 AM
  #13  
Twmaster
Registered User
 
Twmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Dallas, TX, USA
Posts: 6,632
Default

Originally Posted by xuzme720 View Post
But, any idea why these have this plug? It's a 3 cell pack with a 4 cell plug...
It's about the profits man! They couldn't possibly have you using somebody else's gear now can they?


Originally Posted by dfemmert View Post
X

I have a Hyperion charger and balancer. Only my E-Tec and Hyperion packs have the polyquest connector so I made some adaptors using parts found here...
I have the EOS 1210i with two LBA10net+ balancers networked together. Magnificent charger.

What I did after I made my first set of adapters to use my E-Flite and Vampower batts with the charger was to buy one each of these adapter boards (click brand to see board) for PolyQ/Hyperion, TP and E-Flite et.al.

Also there's the breakdown of what is compatible with what on each of those pages.
Twmaster is offline  
Old 01-01-2009, 09:01 AM
  #14  
xuzme720
c'mere Monkey
Thread Starter
 
xuzme720's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Just North of Houston.Heard of Dayton? I didn't think so...
Posts: 2,906
Default

Originally Posted by MYHELIGUY View Post
Works for me. just don't touch any of the wires together,lipos are very sensitive,they will catch fire. but i had no problems switching that wire and cutting the end of plug.
Hey no worries there! I work in the main switch Houston, for AT&T, installing -48v equipment. Long story short, I don't short anything, my job depends on it!
xuzme720 is offline  
Old 01-01-2009, 09:06 AM
  #15  
xuzme720
c'mere Monkey
Thread Starter
 
xuzme720's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Just North of Houston.Heard of Dayton? I didn't think so...
Posts: 2,906
Default

Originally Posted by Twmaster View Post
It's about the profits man! They couldn't possibly have you using somebody else's gear now can they?




I have the EOS 1210i with two LBA10net+ balancers networked together. Magnificent charger.

What I did after I made my first set of adapters to use my E-Flite and Vampower batts with the charger was to buy one each of these adapter boards (click brand to see board) for PolyQ/Hyperion, TP and E-Flite et.al.

Also there's the breakdown of what is compatible with what on each of those pages.
Thanks, man! As it turns out, when I ordered my Taps, I actually ordered the adaptor for the hyperion to eflight without even realizing it.:o The taps I needed were out of stock, the adaptors were close to the same price and I just planned on pulling and swapping the contacts...
I love it when I screw up like that!
xuzme720 is offline  
Old 01-01-2009, 05:33 PM
  #16  
Twmaster
Registered User
 
Twmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Dallas, TX, USA
Posts: 6,632
Default

Pure blind luck!
Twmaster is offline  
Old 01-01-2009, 06:58 PM
  #17  
xuzme720
c'mere Monkey
Thread Starter
 
xuzme720's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Just North of Houston.Heard of Dayton? I didn't think so...
Posts: 2,906
Default

Even a stopped clock is right twice a day! It was bound to happen eventually!! lol
xuzme720 is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
hillbille
Batteries & Chargers
11
01-24-2009 02:43 PM
Lancifer
Batteries & Chargers
4
08-13-2008 02:26 AM
frvrngn
Batteries and Chargers Forsale/WTB
0
03-13-2007 11:25 PM
joeycoates
Batteries & Chargers
8
12-22-2006 04:44 AM
frvrngn
Batteries & Chargers
11
07-29-2006 05:12 AM

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Quick Reply: TrueRC Batteries balance plugs


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.

Page generated in 0.13563 seconds with 16 queries