Flying Probs with the Firebird Freedom - WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight

ParkFlyers Talk about all backyard and parkflyer aircraft here

Flying Probs with the Firebird Freedom

Old 06-03-2006, 01:02 AM
Ejet42

Thumbs down Flying Probs with the Firebird Freedom

Ladies and Gentlemen,
I would like to begin by stating that historically, until the Firebird Freedom, Horizon Hobby / Hobby Zone has had many strings of winner aircraft, especially for beginners. The Firebird Freedom, unfortunately, does not share its predecessors performance! I have been flying electrics for about five years now, beginning with a Firebird XL - I still begin my flying day with this plane, even though there is not a single part on the airborne unit that is original. Some are 3rd and 4th generation! Only the transmitter is original! My current hangar consists of an Electrajet, FireBat, and several "modified" E-Bay clunkers including the little B-29, modified with LiPo, ailerons and elevator (reasonable (not great) flyer, but looks really cool in the air).

Back to the Freedom: It is billed as a beginner plane - IT IS DEFINITELY NOT!!! I read "Backyard Flyer's" "glowing" commentary .... and believed. Based on the preceding, I recommended this plane to an RC beginner friend. I am afraid I have wasted $140 of his hard earned money.

I can fly the thing! I can get it in the air (hand launches are not the prettiest), but am constantly fighting wing "tip stalls". I think that "ACT" (Anti Crash Technology) is a joke! It definitely doesn't help this plane, except by reducing control surface throw. In fact, it may actually hurt. I have been more successful with it turned off!.