General Electric Discussions Talk about topics related to e-powered RC flying

adapter question

Old 10-06-2018, 02:42 AM
  #1  
dansippel
New Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Plymouth Wi. USA
Posts: 4
Default adapter question

I just bought a FMS Kingfisher PnP plane along with a Spectrum AR610 receiver. Got it assembled and was about to install the receiver and found the leads from the servos are slightly different from the sockets on the rx. Any suggestions? My first attempt at this sort of thing.
Thanks
dansippel is offline  
Old 10-06-2018, 06:12 AM
  #2  
Wildflyer
Past President of PSSF
 
Wildflyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Lacey WA, 1 mile E of Mushroom Corner
Posts: 1,986
Default

Different in what way?
Plug shape, wire color?
Wildflyer is offline  
Old 10-06-2018, 01:18 PM
  #3  
dansippel
New Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Plymouth Wi. USA
Posts: 4
Default

the receiver sockets have two rounded corners for orientation, the FMS plugs have all square corners and are slightly (.006") wider and (.010") longer so they don't fit even if I round the corners. wire colors are similar to spectrum
dansippel is offline  
Old 10-07-2018, 02:54 AM
  #4  
Wildflyer
Past President of PSSF
 
Wildflyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Lacey WA, 1 mile E of Mushroom Corner
Posts: 1,986
Default

Sorry I don't have any experience with FMS servo plugs.
Most servo plugs are at least compatible. You have to trim the little ridge on Futaba plugs to use them in a Spektrum, but at least they fit.
Wildflyer is offline  
Old 10-07-2018, 06:45 AM
  #5  
solentlife
Super Contributor
 
solentlife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Ex UK Brit now in Latvia west coast - Ventspils
Posts: 12,142
Default

Originally Posted by Wildflyer View Post
Sorry I don't have any experience with FMS servo plugs.
Most servo plugs are at least compatible. You have to trim the little ridge on Futaba plugs to use them in a Spektrum, but at least they fit.
Futaba plugs need trimming for most other Rx's as well as Spekie.

Pal of mine loves FMS models and I never heard from him any comment about plugs ... he definitely didn't use FMS RX ...

Nigel
solentlife is offline  
Old 10-15-2018, 03:19 AM
  #6  
dansippel
New Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Plymouth Wi. USA
Posts: 4
Default

Thanks for the replies, I did find out the solution, seems the plugs do fit, just very tightly and being my first time doing this, I didn't want to push too hard and break something. FMS's answer--We know they are a tight fit but they won't come out accidentally.
dansippel is offline  
Old 10-15-2018, 08:34 AM
  #7  
solentlife
Super Contributor
 
solentlife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Ex UK Brit now in Latvia west coast - Ventspils
Posts: 12,142
Default

Phew !! Nice one !!

Now to go flying and enjoy !

Nigel
solentlife is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
speedyb
Beginners
7
01-05-2015 01:12 PM
Old 'N Slow
Beginners
7
09-01-2013 04:38 AM
Bill Harris
Power Systems
9
05-05-2013 08:10 PM
G Rated F Bomb
Power Systems
1
10-15-2011 03:31 PM

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Quick Reply: adapter question


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.

Page generated in 0.05084 seconds with 13 queries