General Electric Discussions Talk about topics related to e-powered RC flying

Shortening motor and esc wires?

Old 03-23-2013, 08:31 PM
  #1  
Scotty909
What goes up...
Thread Starter
 
Scotty909's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Maine
Posts: 28
Default Shortening motor and esc wires?

I'm building a GWS Tiger Moth with the stock brushed motor and esc. they both have way to much wire leads and I was thinking of cutting them down to save weight. Will this be a problem? I did a search but didn't find anything.

Thanks Scotty
Scotty909 is offline  
Old 03-23-2013, 09:08 PM
  #2  
rcers
Super Contributor
 
rcers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Trophy Club TX
Posts: 6,314
Default

Motor wires are best left alone - the battery and ESC are fine to shorten.
rcers is offline  
Old 03-23-2013, 09:48 PM
  #3  
Tepid Pilot
Member
 
Tepid Pilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: South Central Texas
Posts: 132
Default

Originally Posted by rcers View Post
Motor wires are best left alone...
Even on a brushed motor? Two wires?

Please correct me if I'm wrong, but I'm pretty sure it's okay to shorten the wires on a brushed motor.

TP
Tepid Pilot is offline  
Old 03-23-2013, 10:00 PM
  #4  
JetPlaneFlyer
Super Contributor
 
JetPlaneFlyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Aberdeen, Scotland
Posts: 6,122
Default

Originally Posted by Tepid Pilot View Post
Even on a brushed motor? Two wires?

Please correct me if I'm wrong, but I'm pretty sure it's okay to shorten the wires on a brushed motor.

TP
Yes on a brushed motor it's ok.

The reason you don't want to cut the wires on a brushless is because the wires that stick out are usually extensions of the coil windings. The wire is most often multiple strands of very fine magnet wire which is coated with high temperature lacquer. This lacquer is almost impossible to strip of the hair like strands so you cant get a decent solder joint onto the wire.
Many a motor has been wrecked when people have cut the wires.
JetPlaneFlyer is offline  
Old 03-23-2013, 10:14 PM
  #5  
riverrat
circa: 1946
 
riverrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Eulonia, Ga.
Posts: 631
Default Motor wires

Guys

I shortened motor wires before I found out
you shouldn't do it. Brushed & Brushless.

Never had a problem, I made sure the wires
were cut to the same length & the bare wire
to be soldered was cleaned several times.
I heated the bare wires & dipped them in
brasing flux, plus sanding & scraping.
I havn't done it again, but both motors
still going after 5 yrs.

As for the ESC I shorten them all the way
to the PC board if needed, but this short
be quick & use lots of heat sink

Regards
Jimmy
riverrat is offline  
Old 03-23-2013, 10:51 PM
  #6  
JetPlaneFlyer
Super Contributor
 
JetPlaneFlyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Aberdeen, Scotland
Posts: 6,122
Default

Yeah, it can be done sometimes. It depends how fine the wire strands are and the type of lacquer used. Higher quality motor have high temperature multi layer lacquer that's really hard to shift. Scraping is ok but massively tedious and if the strands are fine it's all too easy to break the wire. I've yet to find any solvent that will remove it.
Also even if you do get a soldered connection to take, if you didn't do a good job of stripping every single strand then only some of the strands carry any current making the motor run hot and loose performance.

Best not to go there IMHO, just tuck the wires away.
JetPlaneFlyer is offline  
Old 03-23-2013, 10:59 PM
  #7  
riverrat
circa: 1946
 
riverrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Eulonia, Ga.
Posts: 631
Default

Originally Posted by JetPlaneFlyer View Post
Best not to go there IMHO, just tuck the wires away.
JPF

Yeah! I remember it was a job. I think I
got a real good tin job on the cut ends of the wires.
Now I have learned better, I was lucky!

Regards
Jimmy
riverrat is offline  
Old 03-23-2013, 11:09 PM
  #8  
Scotty909
What goes up...
Thread Starter
 
Scotty909's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Maine
Posts: 28
Default

I want to thank you all for the great info on this. I'm pretty sure I read not to cut brushless wires but wasn't sure about brushless. I have a Tekin 35T handwound motor on my rock crawler and just soldered those wires to the post and cut down the esc wires. It has worked fine so far. This is the only brushless motor I've set up in a plane so far and just thought i'd ask.

Thanks again, Scotty
Scotty909 is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2023 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.

Page generated in 0.09345 seconds with 10 queries